Customer Reviews for

The Long Walk

Average Rating 4
( 491 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable!

The Long Walk is the story of 100 boys who must complete an unimaginable long walk to obtain a prize; a prize that everyone desires. This book is a masterpiece. Stephen King does such a great job relating the characters with the reader. Whenever a likable character or f...
The Long Walk is the story of 100 boys who must complete an unimaginable long walk to obtain a prize; a prize that everyone desires. This book is a masterpiece. Stephen King does such a great job relating the characters with the reader. Whenever a likable character or friend to Garraty (protagonist) dies, you feel as if you have lost a good friend. King's creativness is really hit home in this book. From the very beginning, you do not want to stop reading because you want to know many answers. Throughout the book, King reveals those answers and sometimes they're a bit shocking. The end is great. This book is wonderful and any Stephen King fan will love it. The only flaw with the book is the language. You cannot read a page without curse words. This isn't too big of a deal and doesn't take away from the book. If you are looking for a thrilling and exciting read, this is the one.

posted by Sanders on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

FELT ROBBED OF MY TIME

Now this book I admit was good reading. I kept reading and reading and reading. Pretty predictible. Then it seems like the writer got tired and just did not feel like closing the story. POW!!! Just dropped you. I ended up with a cheated feeling and angry that I wa...
Now this book I admit was good reading. I kept reading and reading and reading. Pretty predictible. Then it seems like the writer got tired and just did not feel like closing the story. POW!!! Just dropped you. I ended up with a cheated feeling and angry that I wasted my time reading.

posted by 6210656 on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Do not waste your time.

    I know Stephen King is out there with his story lines but this was a horrible book. I read it and was waiting for the plot line to become clear and it didnt. I read the last chapter twice to see if I missed something but NOPE....I re-read the last page over and over, and kept pushing the next page button on my NOOK, to see if there was some more, but NOPE....it was one of the worst SK. books I have ever read. This will also be my last SK, book I ever buy or read. All done, all set with nonsense. There was no plot to this book what so ever. Thanks, Linda T PS. wish there was a space for -minus stars....

    9 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Horribe

    Should round up sll copieds and make the terrorists in gitmo read this. Holy crap! His worst book everr

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Terrible

    A waste of time and money on this one. King was really reaching to write something.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Not good

    I usually don't write reviews, but this was so bad that I felt compelled to give it one star. I didn't really care about any of the characters or what happened to them with the exception of maybe Garraty and a slight curiosity about Stebbins. I guess that makes perfect sense given that everything that happened was pretty predictable. It's almost as if King had another project to start so he put little effort into this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    A waste of time

    A long long read, kept hoping it would get better It nevet did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Worst king ever

    Im so disappointed at ths horrible crap that has my favorite authors name on it. Boring. Pointless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Lauren

    I debated getting this book due to quite a few bad reviews. I shoukd have listened, there is no plot. I have read many Stephen King books and have loved them all. I am very disappoonted. Save your money. I couldnt even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Disapointing

    Now i know why he published under a different name the first time. Just like the headline...Disapointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Very disappointing ending

    The book started off interesting, but halfway through, it became very repetitive. There's only so much walking boys can talk about and do. The realization that everyone would eventually be "eliminated" came soon in the story. I read to the end thinking a great ending would come, but it just stopped abruptly. Pretty much a waste of time, I thought.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Review - the Long Walk - not really recommended

    Well done, in the way only Stephen King can - in creating a world, however different from our own. But in the end, this is a sad story, I think, and I didn't particularly enjoy it. But I read it all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Sick

    Waaaaay oover the top nothing entertaining about shooting kids in the head king should take the walk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Ugh

    Dont read this hunger games is 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000)1% better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Don't read it

    I love Stephen King. But this is definitely a twisted story line and not worth the read at all. You know how it will end and the "sick" details are horrible to read.Wish I had not bought the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Save time and get Got To Be Kiddin Me!

    Where to start...lol. This book had a great horror factor but it just goes on and on and on making it hard to pick back up. The plot even started to get a little boring as good as it is. I was very disappointed at the end when it ended very sudden with nothing that gave a reason to keep reading... it didn't make sense!!! Overall, not a good book. Would recommend something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Don't know cannot read it

    Nook died, cannot read any of my purchases and the warranty is useless...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Not worth it

    I am an avid Stephen King fan, mostly of his older books. I found this book to be really kinda dumb,the plot was weak and very predictable. Every chapter, the same thing over and over again. I felt myself skipping pages just to finish it, and the ending was a bummer. It's not one of his best works. But it appears I'm the only one on here that didn't like it. I wish he would write another book like The Stand, my personal favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    warnings.

    a shallow little stream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Don't waste time or money on this one

    It wasn't a bad concept..Just a bit drawn out and the ending....Well, it was HORRIBLE!! Hated it!! Did the character live? Die? Win? Lose??
    I have absolutely no idea..Sorry I wasted my money and time on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    STEPHEN KING'S WORST EVER

    I tried so hard to kep reading this book.Finally I got through it and god was it boring.I cant believe Stephen King had something to do with a book so uninteresting as this one is.I recommend it to nobody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    da big scary long walk

    i think it is an ok book i kind of like it. It is very perverted though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2