Customer Reviews for

The Long Walk

Average Rating 4
( 493 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(247)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable!

The Long Walk is the story of 100 boys who must complete an unimaginable long walk to obtain a prize; a prize that everyone desires. This book is a masterpiece. Stephen King does such a great job relating the characters with the reader. Whenever a likable character or f...
The Long Walk is the story of 100 boys who must complete an unimaginable long walk to obtain a prize; a prize that everyone desires. This book is a masterpiece. Stephen King does such a great job relating the characters with the reader. Whenever a likable character or friend to Garraty (protagonist) dies, you feel as if you have lost a good friend. King's creativness is really hit home in this book. From the very beginning, you do not want to stop reading because you want to know many answers. Throughout the book, King reveals those answers and sometimes they're a bit shocking. The end is great. This book is wonderful and any Stephen King fan will love it. The only flaw with the book is the language. You cannot read a page without curse words. This isn't too big of a deal and doesn't take away from the book. If you are looking for a thrilling and exciting read, this is the one.

posted by Sanders on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

FELT ROBBED OF MY TIME

Now this book I admit was good reading. I kept reading and reading and reading. Pretty predictible. Then it seems like the writer got tired and just did not feel like closing the story. POW!!! Just dropped you. I ended up with a cheated feeling and angry that I wa...
Now this book I admit was good reading. I kept reading and reading and reading. Pretty predictible. Then it seems like the writer got tired and just did not feel like closing the story. POW!!! Just dropped you. I ended up with a cheated feeling and angry that I wasted my time reading.

posted by 6210656 on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievable!

    The Long Walk is the story of 100 boys who must complete an unimaginable long walk to obtain a prize; a prize that everyone desires. This book is a masterpiece. Stephen King does such a great job relating the characters with the reader. Whenever a likable character or friend to Garraty (protagonist) dies, you feel as if you have lost a good friend. King's creativness is really hit home in this book. From the very beginning, you do not want to stop reading because you want to know many answers. Throughout the book, King reveals those answers and sometimes they're a bit shocking. The end is great. This book is wonderful and any Stephen King fan will love it. The only flaw with the book is the language. You cannot read a page without curse words. This isn't too big of a deal and doesn't take away from the book. If you are looking for a thrilling and exciting read, this is the one.

    39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sticks with you...

    This is the first Stephen King novel I've read, but not the last if the rest are as good as this one. I actually cried when two of the boys died--that is how deeply you get involved in this story. The characters are well developed and the story is unique. This is a must-read for any book enthusiast. It's heartbreaking, touching and sometimes painful to read, but well worth the time and discomfort. I still haven't gotten this story out of my mind. Definitely one of my favorites....

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    The longest ethical walk

    The Long walk by Stephen King, is a disturbing report of a contest, in which the losers pay with their lives. The Long Walk consists of one hundred walkers. Only the elite of those who registered, were entered into the contest. The prize being literally anything that the winner would ever desire, plus a monetary prize of millions of dollars. Throughout the story the reader watches the main character develop mentally, while he watches those around him die. Unlike most authors, King develops his characters through their experiences, as opposed to just describing them. This gives the reader a better feel of the personality of the individuals in the novel. This kind of understanding of characters makes the story much more enjoyable. The morbidity of this story evolves even the reader. A new understanding of the brutality transpiring within the military is reached through the novel. King¿s depiction of this military sponsored escapade, showed his respect for military obedience, and lack of respect for their morals. He shows them to be robots to the commands of the `beloved general.¿ Of course the soldiers were respected, until peers started dying. Most people respect the authority of the military. The military has an excess of power, and lacks the ethics to back the authority, implies King through this book. The only alternate novel by King that is as thought provoking as this is The Rage. It is another shorter novel, This novel is remarkably illuminating. Never had I imagined that my life could be changed by a book. This book convinced me that my previous beliefs were wrong. This fiction forced me to revise all of my moral beliefs, for it makes one realize all of the death and destruction going on in the world. I would instantly reccomend this book to anyone wishing for something different, and eye opening.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    To those who did not get the end.

    The psychological roller-coaster not withsranding nor the character development and twisted plot. I think most of the responses on here are absurd. This book is fantastic. No action? It's a book. If there is not enough action for you, you either- have no imagination or, need to stick to your xbox and, leave the reading to someone else.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Excellent book

    The Long Walk is an excellent book. It has got a very simple story line, but very descriptive. I don't recommend it to the youngen's because it has got descriptive violence and sexual content, but i do recommend it to many adults. It is definitely a suspensful book, and don't read it if you plan to put it down

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Ger Great book

    Couldn't put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    Great

    The Long Walk is an incredibly good book. Once I started reading I couldn't stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my favorite Stephen King book. I've read it four times n

    This is my favorite Stephen King book. I've read it four times now and there is no other book I've read more than twice. It's set in a futuristic world. 100 boys are in a contest where there is one winner, the boy who can walk the furthest. Each boy is given a warning each time he goes below 4 MPH. After three warnings, he's out of the contest in a very ferocious manner. It's not just about the contest, though. The book is extremely existential. You get to see what different boys go through when facing almost certain death. Some will die at peace. Some will die scared or angry. Some will die out of their mind. I recently found out this was the first book King wrote (not published, but wrote). It's has a sort of raw quality to it that a lot  of his books don't have. That's not to say he's not great afterward, because he obviously is. This one just seems to come more from the heart.. I'll probably read it several more times before I die.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    '' The Long Walk" is a action packed and thrilling novel wr

    '' The Long Walk" is a action packed and thrilling novel written by Stephen King. The book is about a marathon that is in the future and is completely unnormal then ordinary marathons. The marathon is a race to the death, were everyone needs to walk in order to survive, anyone who doesn't walk gets shot and killed and it will all get narrowed down to one winner who will have the gift of a wish. I really liked this book because it was action packed and yet thrilling. Every page was filled with dialogue and action. The main character of this book is Ray Garraty. Ray and everyone else competing in the walk were incredibly Stupid to compete in the walk. They were basically walking into there own grave. If i was Ray i would rather sit at home and deal with my life. But the prize is pretty good. A wish of anything you wanted. This book is good for people who like thrillers and action books. But be careful , it contains alot of curse word so it isn't recomended for young children. The lesson in this story i think is that you can achieve anything as long as you try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    JP

    First stephen King book I ever read. This book made me a King fan, and I have never turned back. Worth every penny awesome book. This book should be more expensive It's pure gold

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Awesome!

    This is typical King. The title hides nothing it is about a long walk. I got so into this book that i could almost feel what the Characters were feeling. I loved it! Definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    The best in a while

    Stephen King's The Long Walk was very well written. Behind ever page was another suprise. When I started reading it I couldn't put it down. I think this book had a very interesting ending leaving it up to the imagination of the reader to decide what happens. I rate this book with five stars because it was very well written with great suspense with yet a touch of horror. The characters were great. The whole plot was outstanding and I thought the book was one of the best in his Bauchman series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    The Long Walk: An Accurate Depiction

    Thank God for the personality Richard Bachman, pseudonym for Stephen King. The Long Walk caught my attention from the very beginning and kept it until the very end. King hit the nail right on the head. The uniformity and routine nature of this book may usually be cited as it's downfall, but this fact is so evident that it was obviously deliberate and the full intention of the author. If you want to learn a little something about the way we are as a society, mostly conformists, and how we fail to distinguish ourselves from others, then this book is for you. Do you talk the long walk? Take this short read and find out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    I've read this book 4 times.

    This book just seems to latch on to you. I would recomend this book to every one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    a good book

    It was a very suspenseful and also dramatic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    This was an outstanding book!

    I just loved this book, it was one of the best books he ever wrote.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    WOW

    This book really makes u think. Makes u wonder if u would b able to stop walking or keep going. Worth reading more than once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Great story

    This book flowed so smoothly as if you were walking along with all the kids. Read this in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Amazing!

    One of my favorite stephan king books. This is one of the first one of his books that i read and i loved it. It had a faboulas plot line and made sure you were entertained eveyline. Dont wait to read this book or you will regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Love love love

    Amazing book. Stephen King is an amazing writer. This book is very twisted in some parts. If youre not into reads like that then this is not your book. But besides that you grow fond of all the characters and youll never be able to put it down. I plan on reading it again soon. Its one of all time favorites and is my new favorite Stephen King book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13