Customer Reviews for

Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written, gripping, inspiring tale

At first glance, this large autobiography may appear intimidating and, given its' content, morbid. But this read is refreshing, never boring and among the most inspiring books I have ever read. Mandela is an excellent writer and the story is one of unbending faith and...
At first glance, this large autobiography may appear intimidating and, given its' content, morbid. But this read is refreshing, never boring and among the most inspiring books I have ever read. Mandela is an excellent writer and the story is one of unbending faith and courage. The struggle is his life; wow what a journey! I agree with the Boston Globe: Mandela is one of the most important figures of our time; this book should be read by everyone.

posted by MikeMcCann on July 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

important book, not well written

Mandela's story is so important that I waded through his book, even though it was long and dull.

posted by Lorene on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written, gripping, inspiring tale

    At first glance, this large autobiography may appear intimidating and, given its' content, morbid. But this read is refreshing, never boring and among the most inspiring books I have ever read. Mandela is an excellent writer and the story is one of unbending faith and courage. The struggle is his life; wow what a journey! I agree with the Boston Globe: Mandela is one of the most important figures of our time; this book should be read by everyone.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    The struggle

    Just a reminder if you thought you struggled in your life this book will change your perception

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    very insperatinal!

    im a young sixth grader and even i throughly enjoyed this book. well done!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nelson Mandela's inspiring autobiography

    Reading this firsthand, contemporaneous account of Nelson Mandela's life is an extraordinary opportunity. Mandela, a South African freedom fighter and a political prisoner for 27 years, tells his own saga of how he helped his black countrymen throw off their apartheid chains, how the African National Congress waged and won its struggle, and how he became his nation's first black president. Learn all this and more, directly from the living legend who brought it to pass. getAbstract recommends this compelling autobiography, an inside view of South Africa's struggle and the revered Mandela's unique political life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    if you read one book the rest of your life, make it this one.

    nelson mandela writes his amazing journey leaving nothing unsaid. he reveals all of his lifes triumphs and setbacks. his story is like none i have ever read, it is filled with drama,action and a huge heart. long walk to freedom is one of the great autobiographies of our time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    It was said by psychologist Abraham Maslow, that when it comes t

    It was said by psychologist Abraham Maslow, that when it comes to human growth, only a special few ever reach the pinnacle of altruistic achievement that marks the best they could be, the point of being self-actualized.  Nelson Mandela was one of the special few, as his point of achievement reached legendary proportions: after spending twenty-seven years in prison on manufactured charges designed to stop him from his mission of freeing the South African people from an unjust and tyrannical Apartheid, he was set free (1990), only to almost immediately become the president of South Africa (1994). The story of Nelson Mandela’s life sounds almost magical, as though it was concocted in the mind of a fantasy author-yet, it was true. Mandela was a living legend in his time; and until only a few days ago, he was a living legend all of my life. A Long Walk to Freedom is now a chronicle of world history, and Mandela is part of the ‘ages’.
    In a Long Walk to Freedom (I first read it in the 1990’s), Mandela speaks of all the happenings in his life that made him the person he became, from his birth and childhood, his relationship with family members, and into his adulthood, and his eventual mission to end Apartheid and the cruelty it inflicted upon his country. Mandela spoke of what nature and nurture added to his determination, and of how his family culture added to his development as a man. Mandela recounted his education and his role as a reformer; his imprisonment and the ordeal that lasted for almost three decades, and finally, his freedom: The Long Walk to Freedom.
    There is no ‘poor me’ attitude, nor is there an air of superiority in his story, only the honest revelations and inner reflections, of what we now know for sure, was the mind of one of the world’s greatest leaders. Mandela, the son of a ‘kingmaker’ who himself became ‘king’, the president of South Africa, and an international icon.
    The writing style is polished, and full of insight and detail, making it a very enjoyable read. This book should become one of the great autobiographies of all time, along with The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin   and Malcolm X.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An inspiration and a lesson in persistence

    Long walk to freedom is an epic autobiography that chronicles the trials and tribulations of Nelson Mandela's life and fight against apartheid. The sacrifices and hardships of Mandela's ten thousand days of imprisonment is mixed with friendships and simple pleasures all leading to the happiness with release and victory. It is an inspiration to all on how persistence, belief in justice and hope can take us through the hardest of times and make us stronger.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    important book, not well written

    Mandela's story is so important that I waded through his book, even though it was long and dull.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I am only on page 150, but this is one of the best books I have read. My blood boils with people's feelings of superiority.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Interesting man.

    This is quite a man, very interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Very good

    I liked it interesting i give it a good 4 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    I really liked this book. I would recommend this book to people

    I really liked this book. I would recommend this book to people who want to become leaders. One of my favorite passages of the book was when one of his fatherly figures told him how to be a leader. he said “A leader is like a shepherd. He stays behind the flock, letting the most nimble go out ahead, whereupon the others follow, not realizing that all along there being directed from behind.” Any person who wants learn how to bring about a revolution should read this book. This book explains his ideology and why he did what he did. This is a great book for a high school student whether they want to be a leader or not. In every job you have to do a little leading. From a teacher to an office worker there is always somebody who needs your guidance and this book has some great tips. It’s funny and sad but also driven and a page turner.
    While I think you should read this book there are also some things you have to remember. You have to remember while Mandela beloved in his cause and was willing to die for it, he was a terrorist. He was the reason why some people died in South Africa. I also think you should watch the movie after reading the book because the movie was pretty good too.
    A Long Walk to Freedom isn’t like a normal biography, it tells a wonderful story about a man fighting (and not always winning) for what he believes. The book is never boring because it tells about a man who was in charge at one of the most exciting times in history of South Africa. I have read a lot of books, a lot of big books, and this one really made me think. This book makes you think about all the petty things you complain about not realizing what great freedom you have in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Fascinating

    Its been a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    I wish his family to c this

    My message is that no matter the problem keep moveing on. R.I.P Nelson Mandeli

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Should be in the academic curriculum as a must read

    South Africa and the world for that matter was fortunate to have this great and gifted man sacrifice his life to fight and conquer the heinous evil of man's heartless greed the Apartheid system. Man's greed drives him to mistreat his weaker fellow man. The thralldom of the black man is the sin of civilization. Madiba's long walk to freedom should enlighten everyone who reads it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    South African tragedy

    A good read of a South African smoldering problem and a miscarriage of justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Ayye

    What up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I'm not very good about reading non-fiction, but I found this book fascinating. I knew so little about the history of South Africa and Mandela, and I learned a great deal both about him and about the country. I regret that he did not get into a little more of the historical background of the country -- there's a lot I still don't know -- but of course it's a biography, not a history, so I think he can be forgiven for that. His determination, dedication to his people, and ability to forgive and understand those who persecuted him for so long was truly remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Real hero

    RIP you were a true hero and inspiration. Good book and movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Idk

    Amazing story because we are talking about his story in class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7