Customer Reviews for

Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written, gripping, inspiring tale

At first glance, this large autobiography may appear intimidating and, given its' content, morbid. But this read is refreshing, never boring and among the most inspiring books I have ever read. Mandela is an excellent writer and the story is one of unbending faith and...
At first glance, this large autobiography may appear intimidating and, given its' content, morbid. But this read is refreshing, never boring and among the most inspiring books I have ever read. Mandela is an excellent writer and the story is one of unbending faith and courage. The struggle is his life; wow what a journey! I agree with the Boston Globe: Mandela is one of the most important figures of our time; this book should be read by everyone.

posted by MikeMcCann on July 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

important book, not well written

Mandela's story is so important that I waded through his book, even though it was long and dull.

posted by Lorene on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    very insperatinal!

    im a young sixth grader and even i throughly enjoyed this book. well done!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Very good

    I liked it interesting i give it a good 4 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    I really liked this book. I would recommend this book to people

    I really liked this book. I would recommend this book to people who want to become leaders. One of my favorite passages of the book was when one of his fatherly figures told him how to be a leader. he said “A leader is like a shepherd. He stays behind the flock, letting the most nimble go out ahead, whereupon the others follow, not realizing that all along there being directed from behind.” Any person who wants learn how to bring about a revolution should read this book. This book explains his ideology and why he did what he did. This is a great book for a high school student whether they want to be a leader or not. In every job you have to do a little leading. From a teacher to an office worker there is always somebody who needs your guidance and this book has some great tips. It’s funny and sad but also driven and a page turner.
    While I think you should read this book there are also some things you have to remember. You have to remember while Mandela beloved in his cause and was willing to die for it, he was a terrorist. He was the reason why some people died in South Africa. I also think you should watch the movie after reading the book because the movie was pretty good too.
    A Long Walk to Freedom isn’t like a normal biography, it tells a wonderful story about a man fighting (and not always winning) for what he believes. The book is never boring because it tells about a man who was in charge at one of the most exciting times in history of South Africa. I have read a lot of books, a lot of big books, and this one really made me think. This book makes you think about all the petty things you complain about not realizing what great freedom you have in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I'm not very good about reading non-fiction, but I found this book fascinating. I knew so little about the history of South Africa and Mandela, and I learned a great deal both about him and about the country. I regret that he did not get into a little more of the historical background of the country -- there's a lot I still don't know -- but of course it's a biography, not a history, so I think he can be forgiven for that. His determination, dedication to his people, and ability to forgive and understand those who persecuted him for so long was truly remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Tap

    Tap so mwp

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Is this book

    Good. I know u were expecting a whole full review and stuff but then do u think i type on thid nook for my health. No.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    TRULY INSPIRING

    Mandela, a man of total conviction for freedom. A role model for today's troubled leaders. This book will change your life, it certainly changed mine. This is a story of a man who freed a race and reunited a nation. Mandela, oh! Mandela. Must be read by any sane and able mortal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    A well written biography

    Nelson Mandela is the autobiography of one of the greatest leaders of South Africa. It gives a detailed account of his childhood, youth, and adulthood. It takes you through all of his political struggles with apartheid including his years in jail. The book is extremely well written and gives the detail that only someone who witnessed the events could posses. I liked the book but anyone who is considering reading it should be reminded that it is an autobiography so it does have a bias. However, most of the more biased notions of Mandela were corrected with age, as he grew older. Long Walk To Freedom provides an interesting and detailed account of the South Africans struggle with apartheid. It is recommended to anyone who enjoys autobiographies or to anyone who is looking to learn more about the history of apartheid and South Africa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2