Customer Reviews for

Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written, gripping, inspiring tale

At first glance, this large autobiography may appear intimidating and, given its' content, morbid. But this read is refreshing, never boring and among the most inspiring books I have ever read. Mandela is an excellent writer and the story is one of unbending faith and...
At first glance, this large autobiography may appear intimidating and, given its' content, morbid. But this read is refreshing, never boring and among the most inspiring books I have ever read. Mandela is an excellent writer and the story is one of unbending faith and courage. The struggle is his life; wow what a journey! I agree with the Boston Globe: Mandela is one of the most important figures of our time; this book should be read by everyone.

posted by MikeMcCann on July 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

important book, not well written

Mandela's story is so important that I waded through his book, even though it was long and dull.

posted by Lorene on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Rest In Peace Nelson Mandela

    Nelson mandela was a great and historic person who will be remembered forever and his legacy will always be cared on by people who truly care about what he changed for the better

    I really never knew him but there are things that we take for granted such as his generousity and compashion to help people other than him self we will miss you Nelson Mandella you will always be rememberd as a true figure of freedom and love rest in peace we will miss you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    LOVE

    This man is one a the greats man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    R.I.P Nelson Mandela!

    We love you! &hearts &hearts &hearts <p> Love, Serene

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    We will miss you

    Sniff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Writings of a great person!

    After finishing this book, I had to take time to collect my thoughts. I realized that I had just completed the story of an historic person. His journey was long, tortuous, and at great cost to himself. I feel so blessed to have lived during his time. Thank you Mandiba!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    RIP

    REST IN PEACE!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    So touching had to have box of kleenex....

    So must read book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    THE FIRST PAGE OF "THE SWORD"

    There was an errie glow coming from the campfire we sat around, there were only four of us stephen(me) max samantha and last but not least lindsey, we wre all pretty good friends. H see usually we wouldn't be the ones to be going to a mignight campfire. But to night was a special night , tonight would be californas only meteor shower of the year and we werent about to miss that. "What time is it" lindsey asked? "Eleven fifty" samantha answered glancing at her phone. "So ten minutes" max said, the meteor shower was schedueled for 12 pm "what do you guys want to do for the next ten minutes" i asked "s'mores" max suggested. "I've had enough smores for one day" lindsey answered. H ten minutes later sure enough there was a campfire, thats not even the wierdest part. One of the meteors flew straigt for are tent. It's just a lucky thing samantha saw it coming for us." Watch out"! She yelled. We all got out safetly, but the tent wasn't that lucky the tene got demolished we walked carefully toward the landing. And sticking out of the rock were two swords......

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    C

    U r kris! U r!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Kris tap

    Mmmmmmm cookies

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Yes u r kris almost all of us know that

    Sent from swagg game

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Tap - Kris

    Thisis kris what r u talking about and swagggaame is homo

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Tap

    Im sick-my momma

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    To all

    Go to the bopk bout this guy that chris scott wrote.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Compelling!

    It had my interest from the first page. Loved reading it. If you have been to South Africa and visited many of these places - it's even better. It helps explain the significance of the tribes in Africa. If you haven't been Jo'Burg and the Apartheid Museum & Robbin Island - put them on your list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Definitely everybody HAS to read this book.

    Wow, what can I say this man is incredible. What a life he has led. It certainly has not been boring. He is something else and such an inspiration. To have survived all those years in Jail and to come out of it still smiling is incredible. I am in awe of Nelson Mandela and this book has to be read by everybody even if it is just once in your lifetime. We do not realise how very lucky we are to be living in these times and in the U.S.A. were freedom is often taken for granted. I can not believe how discriminatory people were in his day and how awful a human being can be treated. I applaud Nelson Mandela for standing up for his rights and for others too. He is certainly a man we will never forget and will always be a part of history. An amazing read and a very long one too. You will not be disappointed. Sometimes it got very intense but I couldn't put the book down. Just incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    This is one of my favorite books. It took a long time to read, b

    This is one of my favorite books. It took a long time to read, but was worth it. It is written like you are sitting around a fire with Nelson Mandela as he tells you his life story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Extraordinary Man, extraordinary life

    This man represents the very best of humanity. Such high spirits, integrity, determination, intelligence, goodness, and an extraordinary capacity to see the big picture. His capacity for forgiveness and seeing the good in everybody is truly impressive. God must be very proud of this son. This book is truly a page turner; it keeps the reader continuously thirsting to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant...

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Nelson Mandela, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize and elected President of South Africa, tells his life story with the help of Richard Stengel. Mandela is truly a hero of our times as he stood for the dignity of all men at a time when apartheid in South Africa controlled that country. And after twenty seven years in prison, Mandela was triumphant although his imprisonment affected his personal life, ending his long time marriage to Winnie Mandela. Mandela tells of his early years as the son of a Thembu chief, raised in tribal culture but he also tells of how the world around him gradually made him into an "enemy" of the apartheid South African government. Sentenced to life imprisonment at the Rivonia trials of 1964, he was released in 1990 to the acclaims of his fellow countrymen. His oath of office as President of South Africa included the mention that South Africa was a rainbow country, listing all the different peoples living there. "Long Walk to Freedom" is a story for everyone everywhere and offers hope where there is little or none.

    Hachette Audio has done a brilliant job of putting Nelson Mandela's words into a spoken recording. "Long Walk to Freedom" is told in the first person throughout and the reader does a magnificent job of recording Mandela's words, pronouncing everything clearly and correctly. The prologue and the explanation at the end of "Long Walk to Freedom" only add to the greatness of this text. Nelson Mandela is a man for all seasons and this autobiography is for everyone. The visually impaired and those who have little time in their lives for anything other than daily walks will truly value these CD's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well Worth It!

    It took me sometime to get through Mr. Mandela's book. I found there to be so much information about one man's life throughout one of the greatest struggles in recent history. Mr. Mandela seemingly has never forgotten anything he has done and he praises his friends just as much as he critiques himself. Like all autobiographies, I struggle to believe everything that is written, however this does not take away from the read. Mr. Mandela dedicated his entire life to "the struggle," and guides the reader through it. I plan on supplementing his book with others written about him to see how they compare. Overall a GREAT GREAT GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5