BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Long Walk to Water

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Aweso,e book

This book was amazing with a little vilonce in it. Most events in the book did happen. This book is told by two people from diffrent times ( years ) and in the end meet up. This was a GREAT book!!!!! READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 5609672 on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I think this book is helpful, because it describe about how Afri

I think this book is helpful, because it describe about how Africa life are shows about the Africa life is very hard. This book can remind people have the compassion, and then the people will help people on Africa. This book is talk about the true story, Nya need walk a...
I think this book is helpful, because it describe about how Africa life are shows about the Africa life is very hard. This book can remind people have the compassion, and then the people will help people on Africa. This book is talk about the true story, Nya need walk all day to get the water from the pound. Salva leave his home to the refugee camp because of war and he have chance to go to the U.S. to get new life. When he find his father still alive, he had make the decision to all Africa people have better life and his biggest problem is water. So he decide build the pond on different village. I think people should go to help people on Africa.
I had learned some from this book, Salva had given me a spirit that is don’t give up, work step by step. This book can also motivate people at the U.S. are from Africa. They will work harder and try harder to try to go back their country help people over there.
In the book, the most impression part to me is the ending, because the two stories become the one. I think people should go to read this book, because should not just stand their own world. They should see different world on different place, and this shows different life styles between America and South Sudan. 
Compare other book I had read, such as: The Alchemist, The Great Gatsby and so on. It is good story, but this book let me feel little boring and the story is so straight, don’t like story as The Alchemist had different feeling change at different part.
I would like to recommend this book to other people who may just only care about themselves; even I don’t like it very much. But it is good story, so I will give 3 starts to this book.

posted by Thu on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Aweso,e book

    This book was amazing with a little vilonce in it. Most events in the book did happen. This book is told by two people from diffrent times ( years ) and in the end meet up. This was a GREAT book!!!!! READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Gripping and engaging story.

    Powerful novel. A real page turner. Quick read. Loved the parallel stories. Park may, indeed, be recognized for this important work. A great addition to your library collection.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Oooooooooooooooooh

    I absolutly loved it. Along walk to water is a personal favorite of mine and i hope to read more booksby Linda Sue Park.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Really Tells the story

    The author did a great job with putting it all together and tell the story. It is a very emotional book. Great non fiction read.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    A long walk to water

    This book is less than 100 pages yes but is very interesting and i recomend this book

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Easy read

    A quick read that gives young teens an idea of what it was like in Sudan, and what happened to bring so many to the U.S. Unbiased!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    highly recommend

    Good story, a little graphic at parts, but really good

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    I looooooovvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeedddddddddd it sooooooo much.

    This book was so good. I read it at school and then i bought just to read it again. I love Salva's story it's so sad but then it gets better. Nya's story is also very good and when she would be going to school it made me smile sue lin parks you wrote a fantastic book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Make sure you carry a box a tissues around

    This book is so sad. You will cry your heart out when you read it. There is trial everywhere. I hate to be a spoiler but alot of characters die. Picture yourself trying to be protected by the many wars going on. That is just how Slava felt. If you think this is all. Your wrong. So please read this book. Don't forget to carry you box of tissues.

    -Abbie Francis

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Wow

    Wow. My teacher read it infront of our class we finished the book in two days with only 1 and a half hours it was amazing, for those of you that read it is it a five stars? I thought it was it was just amazing what Salva did and how he survived and what he went threw with his uncle it was sad and it had a twist. I hope everybody will injoy this book!!!!!!!!
    Courtney.W

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    A Long Walk To Water

    This book is so good cause i read it in school so yall need to read it!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Lol

    I was the one who commented below this comment the aithor came to our school today this book is soo inspiring i feel like i know salva now too bad he couldnt come but he is in sudan workimg on his project water for sudan inc. Salva is so awesome

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    My son and I loved this book. He read it aloud to me and I helpe

    My son and I loved this book. He read it aloud to me and I helped him with some of the more challenging concepts.  My son is 9 and while the reading level was about right for him, the content is mature.  I probably wouldn't have picked this book for him, but it was assigned.  Nevertheless, we loved it and I will never forget the look of surprise and delight on his face as he read the last line. An idea that worked for us...  keep your phone or computer handy to look  things up--such as a map of Africa--as you go along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    A Long Walk to Water A long walk to water was awesome book for m

    A Long Walk to Water
    A long walk to water was awesome book for me because it taught me many things about life, how we have to appreciate what we have, give all of us to become a successful person en the future so that others will not subjugate us, but at the same time is was sad for me because Salva had to suffer a lot walking in search of his family, but despite all, he overcame the struggle and came to USA. In fact this book made me realize that in the world there are a lot of people that have had serious problems in the past life and we do not know the circumstances, sometimes people judge each other without thinking that those have had to beat problems to become a leader. We have to appreciate what we have, feel happy why what we have, make do with what we have, because there are many people that in their countries they have been fighting and they don’t have enough food to survive, that is why we can see so many people that have died because of the lack of food, water, a place where to live or severe diseases, but the most important is that they do not have an education because of the economy, but don’t complain about it while we do, even thought we have everything, the thing is that we don’t know appreciate it.Yes I did, I felt affected because Salva’s life was very sad , have lost his family, spend days without eating anything, knowing nothing about his family and walking every day, and he didn’t know where he was going. In my case thanks God I my entire family alive so far, I have a job , education house, health , food and other commodities but ourselves block our ways sometimes or think that everything is impossible to do. In fact if we want to get something or become something we have to do. Because everything is hard, but never impossible.
    It has motivated me to give the best that I can, help others when someone else need, respect our parents. Make them to feel proud of us by having and education and become a successful person in the future.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    GREAT!

    What a good book for youth as well as adults. It is a teaching story about being helped by someone and then growing up to help someone else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Great story

    Love how there are two story lines. How these two tribes are at war but in the most recent story, they work together to create things for the kids of south sudan. Like i said this was a great true story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Amazing Book!

    I seriously loved this book. So touching and powerful. Loved the tension. So amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    A long walk to water

    We are reading this for a read out loud. It is amazing! Anyone that wants AMAZING book should read A Long Walk To Water!
    :) <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    My teacher recomi My teacher recomended this book

    My teacher said i shoud read it.......... should i?????? Tell me what u think please!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Great Book

    I read this book in 1 night. Salva gets placed in my town!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6