Customer Reviews for

A Long Way Down

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

funny

hilarious piece of work. this is the first book i actually remember reading because how funny it is

posted by 11680576 on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was just ok.....

Ok...I waited a long time for this book, and i was somewhat dissappointed. Don't get me wrong, Nick Hornby is a great author, i love all his other books, but this one wasn't what i thought it would be.It started out great but....it kind of lingered down at the end. Mayb...
Ok...I waited a long time for this book, and i was somewhat dissappointed. Don't get me wrong, Nick Hornby is a great author, i love all his other books, but this one wasn't what i thought it would be.It started out great but....it kind of lingered down at the end. Maybe my expectations were high when i was reading it, of course it had some pretty funny but dark moments, but i would not recommend this book for newcomers to Nick Hornby.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    It was just ok.....

    Ok...I waited a long time for this book, and i was somewhat dissappointed. Don't get me wrong, Nick Hornby is a great author, i love all his other books, but this one wasn't what i thought it would be.It started out great but....it kind of lingered down at the end. Maybe my expectations were high when i was reading it, of course it had some pretty funny but dark moments, but i would not recommend this book for newcomers to Nick Hornby.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    okay read

    I thought the book would be more riveting. Hoping the movie is better...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Another Nick Hornby classic

    Its different and its good if you have ever had thoughts or been close to someone who has had thoughts about suicide.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    funny

    hilarious piece of work. this is the first book i actually remember reading because how funny it is

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    It is a long way down

    Not as good as his other works. Didn't pull me in as I hoped it would have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Wow..

    Four strangers meet up at midnight on New Year's Eve at the top of Topper's House, a 15-story apartment complex in North London. They all have their reasons, some more unlikely than others. The most interesting one is Martin, a host for morning television who was jailed and gossiped by the tabloids for sleeping with a 15-year-old. Maureen is a middle-aged mother of a disabled adult son. Jess is the daughter of a government official, depressed over a breakup with her boyfriend. Then, there's JJ. JJ is American. He delivers pizza for a living but he reads books. A Long Way Down is told simultaneously by all four characters while still moving the story along. The true-to-life dialogue makes the story more exciting. It takes this band of people an hour just to get off of Topper's House but after a short interlude to Shoreditch for the quartet to chase down Jess' beleaguered boyfriend, they make a pact to do not do anything harmful for six weeks. In a very funny twist, the press gets wind of the whole suicide thing and suddenly they're all faced with headlines like 'Martin Sharp and Junior Minister's Daughter In Suicide Pact.' Now they're faced not only with their own midnight thoughts but a shouting mob of aggressively invasive journalists and photographers. Hiding out in Starbuck's, they form a book club and vowed to only read writers that have committed suicide. They manage to get it together long enough to take a trip to the Canary Islands that ends in a disaster. They also finally get to see someone take the long way down from Topper's House.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    Four people found themselves commonly attempting to commit suici

    Four people found themselves commonly attempting to commit suicide on the same roof and then shifted to finding valuable friendship with each other instead. Stories of loss, depression and frustration of each of them and the unexpected cure from the bond of friendship were narrated. 




    Let second chances be an option. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Although it's not as good as About a Boy or High Fidelity, A Long Way Down is at least better than How To Be Good. Here Nick Hornby presents a story about people who just aren't quite ready to commit suicide, especially among each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    One of my favorite books by my favorite author. Hornby's writing style is like a witty commentary on day to day life, but in this particular work he really shines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    left a lasting impression

    A thought provoking book, and even though I read it years ago, I have it on my wishlist to read again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    Unimpressed

    I have seen Hornby's movies and have thoroughly enjoyed them so I thought I would try one of his Novels. Sadly, I was disappointed. I, at first, was entertained by the odd nature of the characters and the plot, but quickly became bored and annoyed with both. I think his attempts to be original were successful and his diction was easy to read but as the story itself progressed I began to resent the book. He may have achieved a well worded book, but the actual plot and story were unreliable and somewhat boring.

    There were positive parts to the book, Hornby's use of humor and allusions to pop culture helped move the book along and he easily portrayed selfish and flawed characters, but I was unable to find a connection, relate to or even like any of these characters. I was hoping for a meaningful ending, perhaps even an epiphany for the characters, but once again I found myself disappointed. For me, even though they may have suffered slight change the characters were stagnant. I saw little change in this novel and I think despite his efforts to create a realistic and relatable work, Hornby fell flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Loses steam

    Starts out well, but seems to lose steam about halfway through. I admit I didn't finish it, so maybe it ended with a bang. I listened to the audio, which was fun, because there were three different readers. Can't say I really recommend this one, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    The characters had so little in common it's difficult to imagine how they could be brought together for anything longer than a passing meeting. The circumstances of their attempted suicide provided a bond that ensures that they stay in touch throughout the book, however this is probably enough to put anyone off reading it - don't be, it is very funny and also poignant at times. The four main characters spark off some interesting perspectives about human nature and the human condition. Is your glass half full or half empty? Read it when first published and have just finished reading it again. Enjoyed it both times - wonder if it would be too difficult to make into a film?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Only took me 2yrs

    I bought the book & started it 2yrs ago & only made it about half way through... decided to pick it up again this summer & give it another whirl. Yes, it took me 2yrs but I finished it!!! Kind of boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    I struggled but finished

    I have to say I had to keep putting it down to quiet my head from all their noise. It took me longer than most, only because I thought it would get better. Not my kind of humor. I'm glad I didn't buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    Boring

    I too pushed myself to finish this book, hoping, praying that something would happen. But, nothing did. Also, some of the british phrases I didn't really find humor in. I do not recommend this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Genius

    I highly recomend this book. It is a brilliant read. It is the most read book on my bookshelf at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Boring!

    I'm part way through this book and struggling to finish - I keep waiting for something, anything, to happen and I'm bored to tears. The previous reviews gave me the excuse I was looking for to give up and put this book down. It's a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2006

    Unrealistic, dry, and boring

    I've had trouble figuring out why Nick Hornby is so popular. True, he can turn a clever phrase from time to time, but his plots meander and nothing really great ever happens. In 'A Long Way Down,' his characters are mundane, and he creates circumstances that are too hard to believe. All in all, it's a boring book about depressing people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    A Solid Read

    While I wouldn't say this book tops my all time favorite list, it is well written and has, at least in my opinion, an interesting story line. Some people said they found the characters annoying but I think it was kind of meant to be that way-- I didn't really like them that much but I wanted to know their fate and they were thoroughly developed and well thought out characters...While some people said the ending was unrealistic, I think this depends on how you look at the character development. I'm not going to say what happens or what doesn't happen, just in case you haven't read it, but all in all this book is well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5