BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Long Way Home (The Homelanders Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good series!

Didn't like No. 2 as well as No. 1, but it certainly hasn't stopped me from purchasing Nos. 2 and 3! Exciting series and I am going to say it - - FOR EVERY AGE! I'm 70 years old and loved the action.

posted by carolebarrelND on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

No better than the first

Still the same black and white world with the same two dimensional characters. Do not read this series if you believe in a world that doesn't have moral absolutes, or if you want a character who has to face complex moral issues. The only person who questioned or wanted ...
Still the same black and white world with the same two dimensional characters. Do not read this series if you believe in a world that doesn't have moral absolutes, or if you want a character who has to face complex moral issues. The only person who questioned or wanted people to question the absolute truths that are taken for granted by the main character ended up being a madman and a terrorist. It was mostly just disappointing since rather than considering the complex moral issues that arise he dismisses them, and instead whittles it down to a matter of pure good and evil with nothing in between.

posted by 11830577 on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Very good series!

    Didn't like No. 2 as well as No. 1, but it certainly hasn't stopped me from purchasing Nos. 2 and 3! Exciting series and I am going to say it - - FOR EVERY AGE! I'm 70 years old and loved the action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Even more awesm Even more awesomeness!!!!

    So far, the second book is better than the first one
    I know this isnt very common but it happened this time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! What would you do if you woke up one morning and couldn't remember anything that happened to you in the past year? What if you realized you were wanted for murder and for being part of a terrorist group? What if that terrorist group wanted you dead? This is what has happened to Charlie. Having no idea where else to turn up clues to his mysterious lost year, he returns to the most dangerous place - his hometown where it all started. There, the girlfriend and friends he doesn't remember decide to help him uncover the truth. With the truth well-hidden and people wanting to erase his future, will Charlie be able to save himself and keep his friends safe at the same time? What really happened during the past year? One thing's for sure - life will never be the same for Charlie again. Action-packed from start to finish, this page-turner will keep you glued to your seat. The story reads fast and the plot is intense. The characters are well-developed, and reluctant and avid readers alike will have a hard time putting THE LONG WAY HOME down. I would, however, recommend reading THE LAST THING I REMEMBER, the first book in the series, before starting this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No better than the first

    Still the same black and white world with the same two dimensional characters. Do not read this series if you believe in a world that doesn't have moral absolutes, or if you want a character who has to face complex moral issues. The only person who questioned or wanted people to question the absolute truths that are taken for granted by the main character ended up being a madman and a terrorist. It was mostly just disappointing since rather than considering the complex moral issues that arise he dismisses them, and instead whittles it down to a matter of pure good and evil with nothing in between.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    REVIEW

    Guys this was a good read and had a great story line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    BEST BOOK OF 2012!

    This book is the best. Plenty of suspense and the end is surprising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Gpod

    Good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Grea!!!!!!!

    Really good book. I was sad that the last book was a cliff hanger but now i finnally got a chance to read this one!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    My favorite book

    Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Amazing

    Just amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    questions are answered! woohoo

    at first this book was slow. but then it really picks up around chapter 9 or 10. i was happy for him to finally get some answers and solve the mystery of who killed Alex. it was like a complete twist. everything started to come together and make more sense. Im def going to read the next one. i couldn't put this book down. so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Lend me??

    Does anyone want to lend me the book. I have books i can lend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than expected

    I've had this book for some time now but what kept me from reading it was that it was the second book in the Homelanders Series. So I did what I usually do when faced with this dilemma. I read the spoilers reviews of the first book on Amazon after checking if the library had the first book. I was very happy to know that not many people were satisfied with the first book since it left a lot of questions unanswered. It seemed like the first book was kind of a build up. So I jumped into the second book and was hooked right from page 1. In the first book 'The Last thing I Remember', a high school student Charlie West went to bed as an ordinary guy and woke up to find out that the police as well as the bad guys are after him. A year has passed by and Charlie doesn't remember any of it. ********spoilers for those who haven't read the first book********** I didn't really know how much he found out about himself in the first book but it didn't matter because I didn't feel like I missed a lot. I think it was because the author covered the gaps successfully. When this book opens Charlie is surrounded by the bad guys, supposedly the terrorists who want to destroy America by recruiting Americans who are against the country. After escaping from them and then later the police, Charlie goes to his town Spring Field to find out the truth. That is where we learn about his friends, his school and his teachers and what could have gone wrong. I was on the edge of my seat for the entire book which was also a very fast read. ********end of spoilers********** What I didn't understand was the terrorists role in all this. They were always in the background and the reasons were not really enough for me to believe that they were a danger to Charlie. Charlie was too good a kid which could actually work well since this is a YA novel. Charlie could be a good role model. Also there are absolutely no bad words. Even though it's an adventure involving terrorists and a murder, it is a very clean book. At times I found the language very simple and forced. It could be because this is the first YA series that the author has written. But he is the recipient of 2 Edgar awards, so what do I know. Anyway, recommended for YA lovers and those who love adventure and mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Clean Book For Your Teen

    Charlie West is back in Andrew Klavan's The Long Way Home. The sequel to the first book, The Last Thing I Remember, follows Charlie West as he runs from not only the cops, but a group of terrorists known as The Homelanders.

    Charlie is desperate to clear his name and get answers to an entire year of lost memories. He heads back to his home town, where it all began. There he runs into some old friends as well as a girlfriend that he can't remember. Believing he's innocent, they try to help him get the answers he wants and the memories he lost.

    This action-packed book is also full of Christian and conservative themes. I didn't find it to be overly preachy, but could definitely tell it was there. If you want to give your teenager an exciting book with good morals instead of the sexuality and violence being fed to our kids this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Long Way Home by Andrew Klavan

    The Long Way Home is by Andrew Klavan who is the winner of two Edgar Awards and the author of bestsellers like True Crime, Don't say a word and Empire of Lies. He was hailed by Stephen King as " the most original novelist of crime and suspense since Cornell Woolrich." His first novel in the Homeland Series is The Last Thing I Remember.

    The Long Way Home starts with a bang! The pace and the adrenalin rush is maintained throughout the book. Not even a page feels lengthy or boring.

    We are presented with the eighteen year old guy Charlie West who is looking for answers. He is being hunted by terrorist as well as the police. The terrorist are after him for betraying them, and the police are after him for killing a guy and being a member of terrorist gang. The strange thing is, our hero, doesn't remember killing a guy or being a member of terrorist gang. Charlie West keeps getting doubt whether he is a good guy or bad guy. Once or twice he considers giving up and surrendering himself to the police but deep in heart he knows he is a good guy.

    So to find out clues and answers to the mystery, he heads home, where all the things started. What happens next is. Very entertaining and the suspense is maintained till the end. But it's not the end of the story, only bits and parts of the puzzles are solved. We'll have to wait for book 3 to know the rest of the story or atleast some more pieces of the puzzle. Book 3 is - The Truth of the Matter - which will be available on November 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    An Action-Packed Adventure for Teenage Boys

    Andrew Klavan treats teenage readers to the second in his Homelander series as protagonist, Charlie West, falsely convicted of the murder of his friend, Alex, attemps to find the real killer. Having lost all memory of the time period following the crime, his trial, imprisonment, and break from jail, Charlie returns to his home town to take up residence in a haunted mansion. His friends, Rick, Josh, and Miler, and his girlfriend, Beth, join him in the search.

    Readers of Klavan's first book in this series will find tantalizing new information and breath-taking thrills as they follow the adventures of Charlie and his friends. Those who are unfamiliar with the Homelander series can begin the story with this book. even if they haven't read the first one. Islamic terrorists and one of Charlie's high school teachers enliven the plot. The ending will leave readers anticipating the next book in the series, which will come out later in 2010.

    Fans of action-packed adventure will appreciate this book.

    Review by Carole Ledbetter, February 15, 2010

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    The Long Road Home

    The Long Way Home is the second book in the Homelander series that continues to follow Charlie West. Charlie woke up one day and an entire year of his life was completely gone. He had no memory of the events of the past year; the murder of his friend, his association with the Homelanders, or falling in love with the girl of his dreams. Andrew Klavan has does a great job of pulling you in and keep you guessing until the end. I was surprised to find that I enjoyed this book as much as I did. Klavan does an amazing job of writing to a young adult as well as a 30-something. He throws in "life lessons" that we all need to be reminded of from time to time; believing in yourself, having faith, and the power of friends. There are twists and turns and surprising revelations by Charlie as he searches for the truth and for the year he lost. This is an amazing tale of having faith and believing in yourself. I am looking forward to continuing reading the rest of the books in this series. This book was provided by Thomas Nelson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Even Better Than Book One

    What you do if a terrorist has just tried to knife you in the public library bathroom? Calling the police is out of the question since they think you're a murderer, and to make matters worse, there are more killers waiting for you right outside. Welcome to Charlie's life. A life he can't even remember the last year of. The year when he fell in love, and then supposedly murdered his best friend.

    A lot of people-me included-would say the phrase "keeps you at the edge of your seat" is cliché, but that's really the best way to describe this book. It's intense: physically, mentally, and definitely emotionally. The issues Charlie goes through every day are so relevant and relatable it brings this story to a whole new level very lacking almost everywhere else in YA literature.

    And then of course there's the ending, which guarantees my reading this one over and over again. Book one was incredible. Book two is beyond incredible.

    I was supplied with this review copy from BookSneeze.com.

    www.hornspoonreviews.webs.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Action packed story!!!

    My take on this book sounded amazing from just reading the quick synopsis, I unfortunately have not had the chance to read book one of this series, something that after reading this book definitely makes me want to check it out.

    This book is action packed, it is about Charlie West who has been accused of being a terrorist and murderer, and his quest on trying to prove his innocence. Through his journey of trying to clear his name, and solving clues to find the actual murderer, I got completely lost in this book. Which lately hasn't been happening. I love Andrew's writing style and how he makes you relate with Charlie throughout this whole book. It keeps you going and not wanting to put the book down, I would most certainly recommend this book to any adult or teen who is looking for a nice action packed emotional book, on one persons journey to clear their name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Long Way Home by Andrew Klavan

    THE LONG WAY HOME

    ANDREW KLAVAN

    When I first picked this book up, I was excited about reading it. Charlie West is an accused murderer and supposed terrorist. This book is about him proving his innocence. From the first page, you are hooked and don't want to put the book down. The story is told in an energizing, energetic manner. You find out how his friends help him along the way, and the different situations Charlie gets in to prove who the murderer really is.
    This story is suspenseful, romantic and entertaining. The action doesn't stop from page one. This is the second book in a series. The first book is "The Last Thing I Remember". I recommend reading the books in order. You can then relate better to the characters in the story. The back of the book tells you all this action is going to happen. You are not disappointed. From the attack at the library to the surprise visitor at the mansion, you are kept on your toes wondering what is going to happen next. The title of the book, "The Long Way Home", is appropriate. He has to go home to find out who he is. It is there he realizes who his friends are and who the murderer is. Sometimes you can't do it by yourself. It is then you find out who your true friends are. The romantic side plot adds another dimension to the mix, as well as his faith in God. I highly recommend this book. This book is listed as for young adults, but I found it very engaging. I can not wait until the next book comes out in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4