Customer Reviews for

The Long Way Home (The Homelanders Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good series!

Didn't like No. 2 as well as No. 1, but it certainly hasn't stopped me from purchasing Nos. 2 and 3! Exciting series and I am going to say it - - FOR EVERY AGE! I'm 70 years old and loved the action.

posted by carolebarrelND on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

No better than the first

Still the same black and white world with the same two dimensional characters. Do not read this series if you believe in a world that doesn't have moral absolutes, or if you want a character who has to face complex moral issues. The only person who questioned or wanted ...
Still the same black and white world with the same two dimensional characters. Do not read this series if you believe in a world that doesn't have moral absolutes, or if you want a character who has to face complex moral issues. The only person who questioned or wanted people to question the absolute truths that are taken for granted by the main character ended up being a madman and a terrorist. It was mostly just disappointing since rather than considering the complex moral issues that arise he dismisses them, and instead whittles it down to a matter of pure good and evil with nothing in between.

posted by 11830577 on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! What would you do if you woke up one morning and couldn't remember anything that happened to you in the past year? What if you realized you were wanted for murder and for being part of a terrorist group? What if that terrorist group wanted you dead? This is what has happened to Charlie. Having no idea where else to turn up clues to his mysterious lost year, he returns to the most dangerous place - his hometown where it all started. There, the girlfriend and friends he doesn't remember decide to help him uncover the truth. With the truth well-hidden and people wanting to erase his future, will Charlie be able to save himself and keep his friends safe at the same time? What really happened during the past year? One thing's for sure - life will never be the same for Charlie again. Action-packed from start to finish, this page-turner will keep you glued to your seat. The story reads fast and the plot is intense. The characters are well-developed, and reluctant and avid readers alike will have a hard time putting THE LONG WAY HOME down. I would, however, recommend reading THE LAST THING I REMEMBER, the first book in the series, before starting this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    REVIEW

    Guys this was a good read and had a great story line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    BEST BOOK OF 2012!

    This book is the best. Plenty of suspense and the end is surprising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Grea!!!!!!!

    Really good book. I was sad that the last book was a cliff hanger but now i finnally got a chance to read this one!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    My favorite book

    Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Amazing

    Just amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    questions are answered! woohoo

    at first this book was slow. but then it really picks up around chapter 9 or 10. i was happy for him to finally get some answers and solve the mystery of who killed Alex. it was like a complete twist. everything started to come together and make more sense. Im def going to read the next one. i couldn't put this book down. so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Lend me??

    Does anyone want to lend me the book. I have books i can lend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    The Long Road Home

    The Long Way Home is the second book in the Homelander series that continues to follow Charlie West. Charlie woke up one day and an entire year of his life was completely gone. He had no memory of the events of the past year; the murder of his friend, his association with the Homelanders, or falling in love with the girl of his dreams. Andrew Klavan has does a great job of pulling you in and keep you guessing until the end. I was surprised to find that I enjoyed this book as much as I did. Klavan does an amazing job of writing to a young adult as well as a 30-something. He throws in "life lessons" that we all need to be reminded of from time to time; believing in yourself, having faith, and the power of friends. There are twists and turns and surprising revelations by Charlie as he searches for the truth and for the year he lost. This is an amazing tale of having faith and believing in yourself. I am looking forward to continuing reading the rest of the books in this series. This book was provided by Thomas Nelson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Even Better Than Book One

    What you do if a terrorist has just tried to knife you in the public library bathroom? Calling the police is out of the question since they think you're a murderer, and to make matters worse, there are more killers waiting for you right outside. Welcome to Charlie's life. A life he can't even remember the last year of. The year when he fell in love, and then supposedly murdered his best friend.

    A lot of people-me included-would say the phrase "keeps you at the edge of your seat" is cliché, but that's really the best way to describe this book. It's intense: physically, mentally, and definitely emotionally. The issues Charlie goes through every day are so relevant and relatable it brings this story to a whole new level very lacking almost everywhere else in YA literature.

    And then of course there's the ending, which guarantees my reading this one over and over again. Book one was incredible. Book two is beyond incredible.

    I was supplied with this review copy from BookSneeze.com.

    www.hornspoonreviews.webs.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Long Way Home by Andrew Klavan

    THE LONG WAY HOME

    ANDREW KLAVAN

    When I first picked this book up, I was excited about reading it. Charlie West is an accused murderer and supposed terrorist. This book is about him proving his innocence. From the first page, you are hooked and don't want to put the book down. The story is told in an energizing, energetic manner. You find out how his friends help him along the way, and the different situations Charlie gets in to prove who the murderer really is.
    This story is suspenseful, romantic and entertaining. The action doesn't stop from page one. This is the second book in a series. The first book is "The Last Thing I Remember". I recommend reading the books in order. You can then relate better to the characters in the story. The back of the book tells you all this action is going to happen. You are not disappointed. From the attack at the library to the surprise visitor at the mansion, you are kept on your toes wondering what is going to happen next. The title of the book, "The Long Way Home", is appropriate. He has to go home to find out who he is. It is there he realizes who his friends are and who the murderer is. Sometimes you can't do it by yourself. It is then you find out who your true friends are. The romantic side plot adds another dimension to the mix, as well as his faith in God. I highly recommend this book. This book is listed as for young adults, but I found it very engaging. I can not wait until the next book comes out in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2