BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Longest Trip Home

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    Great Read

    This was the first Grogan book I read. I received it as a reader copy and couldn't put it down. I wish I could come up with something not quite as cliche, something that would inspire you to read this book. Here's what I have and its the truth. I laughed out loud. I cried (in a car with near strangers). In the end, I felt it was a triumph. I would have liked to have known this kid when I was growing up.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Read It!

    This book slams it home! I just finished reading it last night and all I can say is "WOW." If you liked Marley & Me, you're gonna like this just as well, if not more. The words and the way that John Grogan writes will have you glued to every single page, and you will be right there with him -- in his parents' living room, at the hospital, at the church, in the garden -- feeling it all as if you were right there with him. It will make you laugh and it will make you cry. He is an amazing, gifted writer and he has a wonderful story to tell. It's probably one of the best and most moving memoirs I have ever read. It's a book that will keep you thinking about him and his wonderful family (and a lot of other things) long after you have read the last page. I sure hope he writes more like this. I would come back for sure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    A beautifully written book that will make you feel like one of the family!

    I loved Marley and Me because I am a dog person and have had many of the experiences John Grogan wrote about. Having grown up without the influence of religion, I was skeptical that I would find much to relate to or enjoy in The Longest Trip Home. <BR/>Turns out The Longest Trip Home is a beautifully written book about the relationships between parents and their children. It¿s about love, disappointment, and accepting people for who they are. None of these are action packed themes and this book's plot is far from fast paced, but Grogan draws you in and makes you feel like a member of his family until you care deeply what happens in the end. His writing style is so smooth and easy to read that you reach the end before you know it. You can expect to shed some tears, but you can expect to laugh a little too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    Very heartwarming and relateable.

    John Grogan is a very good writer who is easy to read and follow. I am a big fan of Marley and Me and now The Longest Trip Home. I believe that his story is similar to many other's story of growing up with religion being the priority in the household. Quick, easy and wonderful read for a vacation or weekend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    So enjoyed this one

    A simple story of a catholic family growing up in michigan~ some parody on the catholic church....humorous with a great father -son relationship story. Same author as Marley as Me, great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    good read

    love memoirs and this is a good one. Set in Michigan. the nook price seems a bit high though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    great read

    this is a great read that brings you back to childhood memories, john grogan is an amazing aurthor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Great story, John has a way with words

    Loved this book! I enjoyed his view on growing up and his honesty that made me laugh through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Amazing book!

    I loved this book to death! I read it in two days! John Grogan is a wonderful writer. Read this book! You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I could so identify with the author

    Not only was the autobiography interesting, I really identified with the author's struggle with his parent's strict, unquestioning beliefs; and his own struggle to come to terms with his beliefs, and learn how to deal with his parents, and become honest with himself and them, and then to not cause them more grief and harm than necessary. It touched me deeply, I've been on a similar journey for over 40 years, and could relate deeply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Too Long Grogan

    First let me say the audio was of very poor quality. Had to turn up to highest volume and still strain to hear.
    The book is basically three parts. Part one: Grogan as teenager who lies constantly to his parents, who misbehaves and who gets by by looking innocent. Part two: Grogan as adult who constantly lies to his parents and lets them control his life even though he is a married adult. Part three: His dad's death.
    Part one was well written and enjoyable. Part two was alright and enjoyable in parts. Part three was way too long, was all about his dad dying and very boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    The Longest Trip Home

    I think I was halfway through before I was excited for the next chance to pick this book up again. I identified with much of the book - my time period - and I also went to Catholic school for 8 years. I also identify with the struggle to come into our own and be true to ourselves which amazingly does take a long time when you have parents so passionate in their values. I think what parents instill in their children, eventually does come to fruition in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Disappointed in this book! Can't finish it.

    I was totally disappointed in the amount of time he spends talking about his sexual self-satisfaction. And most of his childhood antics he writes about should be an embarrassment to him as an adult---but instead he seems proud of them. I have to say--I can't even finish the book---can't even get beyond the first few chapters. On to another and hopefully better read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    Could be my favorite Grogan writing

    My dad is at early stages of Dementia and I'm struggling with how to handle this from a man who has been so strong and endured so much in his life, that most of us will, fortunately, never endure. So when I picked the book up it was prior to my parents visit for Thanksgiving and I was trying to find a new sense of balance with them both. Mom's just become pretty self-absorbed now that dad can't cater to her as he once did.

    The book, really did help me look at my relationship with them differently and made for a more pleasant visit, but I didn't expect the book to provide side-splitting reminiscing of growing up Catholic, in a very traditional Catholic home.

    As a result, I bought 5 copies as gifts this Christmas and can't wait for friends and family to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an interesting memoir

    Before Marley (see Marley & Me), John Grogan grew up in a deeply religious Catholic home near Detroit in the 1960s and '70s. His parents loved him and tried to get him to live a good Catholic ethical lifestyle. However, John was an imp who like many boys used his telescope to stare at the woman next door. He drank holy wine, smoked cigarettes and tried to score with girls while also eluding the necker-checker watcher, his kind but strict mom. To imbue him with their fervor, his parents took John on family miracle trips to visit shrines and camp under the stars so he would learn first hand the miracle of God. However unlike his parents or his brother Michael who turned towards priesthood and was as a devoted believer as their parents, John was devoted to the altar of female breasts; at best an agnostic as pure faith seemed illogical and tedious. When he met Jenny, he fell in love and began the real transition to adulthood, but remained practically faithless. That is until his father's illness led him to re-look his values including Catholicism.

    This is an interesting memoir that reads like many young middle class Americans (religious denomination not matter) growing up in the 1960s as drugs, wine and sex were in and the religions of parents were out. Still amusing and filled with angst, John Grogan's The Longest Journey Home was not quite finished at this point, but he was definitely getting his act together. Boomer fans and their still alive parents who want to reminiscence about the internal family revolutions will enjoy joining Mr. Grogan as he travels a path many others took; younger fans might ask so what.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Not worth reading

    I have heard it said that everyone has one good book in them. Unfortunately Mr Grogan wrote it prior to The Longest trip Home. In this book, Mr Grogan shows an utter disrespect for his parents and those who loved him and raised him. He attempts in the conclusion to justify his actions and to pacify the reader with the idea that he is sorry for some of his actions. He speaks of the trust his parents put in him, and he rewarded that trust with this book, an insult to all that they stood for. I found myself saddened as I read that someone would put these actions and this much parental disrespect into writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Literary Trip Worth Taking

    John Grogan does a fabulous job effortlessly taking readers through his childhood, teen years, and adult journeys. He offers the perfect balance of humor and enlightening self-examination. You will laugh and cry, and won't be bored for a single moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I really loved Marley & Me, so I wanted to read another book by John Grogan and it did not dissapoint! His writing style always makes you feel like you know everyone in the story. It is a great book I would recommend to anyone who likes a heartfelt book about family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Just a great read!!

    I have read this book and have given it to at least four (4) of my friends and relatives; not to mention I've spoken of it many many times. I would recommend any of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    "Longest Trip Home" captivated me from the opening chapter all the way through. Grogan's account of his life took me down my own memory lane. I bought a copy for my brother and have recommended it to several friends. Anyone who is dealing with aging parents or who grew up in a Catholic family will relate to the situations, decisions and self-discovery. Touching journey with plenty of laughs along the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4