Customer Reviews for

Longing

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

God used this book to draw me back to a life of glory only to Him, and can do the same for so many others. I recommend this book to EVERYONE!

So first of all, I'd like to inform you all that I am a GUY that read this book. And a teenage guy at that. And to be quite honest, until recently, I would have never even thought about picking up a Bailey Flanigan book. I would not have been caught dead reading a roman...
So first of all, I'd like to inform you all that I am a GUY that read this book. And a teenage guy at that. And to be quite honest, until recently, I would have never even thought about picking up a Bailey Flanigan book. I would not have been caught dead reading a romance book in a house full of boys (except for my lovely mother, of course). But my mom had been talking excessively about these books for A WHILE, and I could not help but be interested. I borrowed the first of this series from my mom just to glance through it and immediately became hooked. The story was the best I've ever read and literally brought me to tears. It made me realize what a life in service to Christ is really meant to look like. I had not exactly had the most intense relationship with God, but He used this book as a tool to bring me back to Him. My relationship with my family has grown INCREDIBLY this past month, after reading the Bailey Flanigan books. Also, right before I read this series, I had just gone through an extremely difficult break-up with my girlfriend of nearly a year. God used this series to heal me in this time of sorrow, gave me the courage to forgive this girl(and to also ask for her forgiveness in some things), and provided me with a much greater understanding of what it takes to be in a godly relationship and marriage, when that time comes in my future. But best of all, I am developing a much deeper relationship with my Savior. I have recommitted to serving my God and living a life of glory to ONLY Him at all times, no matter the circumstance. I thank God for giving me this tool to bring me to my knees and to steer me back into a life of complete devotion to HIM always. I thank Mrs. Karen Kingsbury for writing these stories that God uses to touch thousands of people, and for painting this picture of a life made for Christ, that so many of us need. And i thank my mom for letting me borrow this book and for being such a godly positive influence in my life, along with my dad and the rest of my family. I recommend this book to anyone who is in need of a powerful relationship with a mighty Savior... that is EVERYONE!

posted by Aleks10 on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I was really disappinted with Longing and how Karen has taken this series.
For one-Brandon. Ever since he became a Christian, he's been too perfect. No struggles with girls and drinking like before. He's had almost no character building. His endless supply of money al...
I was really disappinted with Longing and how Karen has taken this series.
For one-Brandon. Ever since he became a Christian, he's been too perfect. No struggles with girls and drinking like before. He's had almost no character building. His endless supply of money allows him to fly across the country to see Bailey almost anytime he chooses, and also makes so he never has too sacrifice anything for her. He hasn't been able to prove whether he'll be true in the bad times like he is in the good.
Bailey is also too perfect. Her hardest decision is choosing between 2 guys who absolutely adore her. Her choosing rich Hollywood heart throb Brandon over Cody whom she has so much history with and has had lots of struggles to strenghten his character, seems a little shallow. It is said that a girl looks for a guy like her dad. Cody couldn't be more like Jim Flanigan if he tried. He also truly loves Bailey and not just the idea of her like Cheyenne says he is.
Cheyenne had no right telling Cody that Bailey is not the right girl for him. That was for Cody to decide after seeking God's will.
The author has practically taken Bailey's "fiction" story, and turned it into her daughter Kelsey's real life story. Karen has lost the line between the 2.
Even though I didn't like Longing too well, I will say this. Karen has written a captivating story that kept me turning pages. If Bailey marries Brandon, in my heart she marries Cody!! TEAM CODY FOR EVER!!!!

posted by 10362320 on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    God used this book to draw me back to a life of glory only to Him, and can do the same for so many others. I recommend this book to EVERYONE!

    So first of all, I'd like to inform you all that I am a GUY that read this book. And a teenage guy at that. And to be quite honest, until recently, I would have never even thought about picking up a Bailey Flanigan book. I would not have been caught dead reading a romance book in a house full of boys (except for my lovely mother, of course). But my mom had been talking excessively about these books for A WHILE, and I could not help but be interested. I borrowed the first of this series from my mom just to glance through it and immediately became hooked. The story was the best I've ever read and literally brought me to tears. It made me realize what a life in service to Christ is really meant to look like. I had not exactly had the most intense relationship with God, but He used this book as a tool to bring me back to Him. My relationship with my family has grown INCREDIBLY this past month, after reading the Bailey Flanigan books. Also, right before I read this series, I had just gone through an extremely difficult break-up with my girlfriend of nearly a year. God used this series to heal me in this time of sorrow, gave me the courage to forgive this girl(and to also ask for her forgiveness in some things), and provided me with a much greater understanding of what it takes to be in a godly relationship and marriage, when that time comes in my future. But best of all, I am developing a much deeper relationship with my Savior. I have recommitted to serving my God and living a life of glory to ONLY Him at all times, no matter the circumstance. I thank God for giving me this tool to bring me to my knees and to steer me back into a life of complete devotion to HIM always. I thank Mrs. Karen Kingsbury for writing these stories that God uses to touch thousands of people, and for painting this picture of a life made for Christ, that so many of us need. And i thank my mom for letting me borrow this book and for being such a godly positive influence in my life, along with my dad and the rest of my family. I recommend this book to anyone who is in need of a powerful relationship with a mighty Savior... that is EVERYONE!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    longing

    This book is the third in the bailey flanigan series!! THIS IS THE BEST BOOK IN HER SERIES THUS FAR... BRAVO KAREN KINGSBURY

    If you are a fan of karen kingsbury this book will be the best you have read in this series yet..... :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Highly Recommend-great book!

    Karen Kingsbury has the great God-given gift of writing. Her books are always centered around Christian values which is so refreshing. Longing is no different. In Longing, Karen takes the reader on a journey of love, friendship, hardships, and redemption. I enjoyed reading about the budding relationships that have been forming between the main character Bailey and Brandon but where does that leave her relationship with her first-love Cody? This book leaves you suspensed and waiting for more. Longing really brings to life the everyday struggles of each character and how they strive to overcome them. Every character becomes apart of you. I cannot wait for the next book: Loving. Everyone must read this series and especially the book Longing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    Book number three in the Bailey Flanigan series leaves us wondering--in the best possible way! This is the best book in the series so far, Karen Kingsbury at her best. You'll laugh, cry and cheer all at the same time. I would recommend reading the Baxter family series if you like this one, because it gives Bailey's background and also lets you into another wonderful facet of Kingsbury's imagination. This book is great for all ages of adulthood, but for me, a mid twenties woman, it especially resonated, making me think about my life choices up until now. This series, and any other book by Karen Kingsbury, will change your life if you let it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Best ever

    This is a book it so great you cant put it down i have read every one if karens books. They make you feel close to the lord and helps you walk in his faith daily

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Outstanding

    This is the best out of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Miranda

    I smirk and shiver in delight yeah thats right i give your di.k a small squeeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Is a bad book

    Nina martinez

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    AWESOME

    I love this book and you will too!!! Just read it, you wont be sorry!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Loved this book read in 3 days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Book Rating

    A very good book that I really enjoyed. I am looking foward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Karen is such a great writer. She leads you to places you don't think she'll go. Once I started, I coudn't put the books in this series down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I can't belive!!!

    I can't belive she's married to Kyle Kupecky. I really miss him :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Awesome

    This was your best work. It was convicting and inspiring. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Great book!!!!!!!

    I am on the last book and cant wait to see who Bailey marries!!!!!!!! Team Cody!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Cncbghryfhrugjgh

    Yiturygjqgjwysg bn cngjwy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I have enjoyed this entire series. This is a great book. Can't w

    I have enjoyed this entire series. This is a great book. Can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Another Great Book from Karen Kingsbury

    Can't wait to read the last book in the series. Love Karen's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed the entire series. This one stands out as a keeper.

    Enjoyed the entire series. This one stands out as a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! Karen Kingsbury sure has out did herself with this one! A

    Wow! Karen Kingsbury sure has out did herself with this one! Alot of the questions I had were answered in this book, just left me wondering what would happen to Bailey and Brandon. I use to be Team Cody, the Team Brandon and now after reading Longing I am Team Bailey. I wish that I could be the kind of Christian that Bailey is! She makes me want to strive for the Lord!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8