Customer Reviews for

The Longing (Grayson Brothers series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Wonderful story about Kyle Grayson, the 2nd son in the family, w

    Wonderful story about Kyle Grayson, the 2nd son in the family, whose life was burdened with having to become the sawmill owner, and family bread-winner, after the death of his father. This story shows Kyle's growth, and education as to what life is really about, especially when he marries Amelia, to save her reputation, and 'do the right thing'. Another tale that keeps you rooting for Kyle, but shows his vulnerabilities, and reactions to what life has thrown at him. Can't wait to read about Boyd Grayson, the 3rd son. Very good read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    engaging Americana romance

    In 1871 Fredonia, New York, angry sawmill owner Kyle Grayson accuses his friend and mentor Tom Drake of trying to ruin his business by failing to make payments. Suddenly, the upset older man collapses and dies from a heart attack. Feeling guilty that he caused the fatal cardiac arrest, Kyle buys Tom¿s lumberyard so that the man¿s widow and daughter are taken care of, as he promised Tom just before his former guide died. However, the lumberyard is in disarray and heavily mortgaged making its value almost worthless. Kyle goes to stop the deal, but is not only too late, he is caught alone with Tom¿s daughter, schoolmarm Amelia. They are forced to marry, but she fears making love because she lost her virginity to attorney turned banker Richard Cameron years ago. As Kyle and Amelia fall in love, secrets between the newlyweds and his best friend slowly surface that threaten to end their relationship before it truly begins. THE LONGING is an engaging Americana romance that, though the story line contains too many secrets weighing down the plot, remains an exciting Americana tale that focuses on Kyle, who was jilted by his fiancée for his brother in the first book SHADES OF HONOR. Amelia is a wonderful protagonist who brings to life the place of the young single female in post Civil War society. Kyle is a workaholic with a conscience. Though his buddy¿s final actions seem out of character, fans of historical romances will appreciate this novel and long for the next stories starring a different single Grayson sibling. Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Thumbs up

    This book and all of the grayson series; they were the greatest. I loved them all, just waiting for the final chapter about Rebecca; thanx you wendy,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great book!

    I long for a love like that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Qricket@aoj

    Extremely good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    Fantastic Read - Kyle and Amelia over come the obsticles that tr

    Fantastic Read - Kyle and Amelia over come the obsticles that try to
    keep them apart, I loved the emotions they both have to overcome because
    of the heartache they both endured. Couldn't stop reading about Kyle
    and Amelia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Really good book

    Its a really great book and I enjoyed it very much, I just wished they'd have a child together before the book ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    Touching love story! I feel like I am getting a history lesson along with my love story while reading this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This series of books about the four brothers is very good. When I read the 1st one I liked it so much I read the other ones. There are 4 brothers and 4 books. I really liked this writer and will purchase more of her books in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Excellent reading!

    Believable characters and great plot lend to a wonderful experience

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Loved it!

    Another great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    another good one, really recommend it

    great book in this Series. but you can read them all by itself,
    I just prefer to read the series, in follow up.
    Enjoy the writing, Author and everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Awesome

    Great reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    As good as the first book - must read all four!

    The story of Kyle and Amelia is a must read! All the Grayson Brother books are wonderful. Can hardly wait for more from this author! Robin Cook

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great read

    So glad Kyle finally found peace and love with Amelia. Great book 2...now on to Boyd

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Very interesting read

    This was a good story. Little lengthy in some areas, as it took a while to get to the heart of the story but I loved it. It was a good read. It says 800 pages but some of the pages skipped through. It was more of a 200 page read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    Top Pick! - Romantic Times Book Club

    Readers who enjoy deeply emotional reads will find THE LONGING impossible to put down. The dark and brooding nature of the hero and the horrible pain Amelia carries are very real, but it is the surprising plot twist that makes this a fresh and innovative read. It delineates Lindstrom as one of romance's finest Americana writers. Reviewed by Kathe Robin for Romantic Times Bookclub ...................................................................... .................................................... THE LONGING is a beautifully written relationship story that is a joy to read. Wendy Lindstrom does an outstanding job of delving into the hearts and minds of her characters and making them people that we can care about. This is a wonderful book. Reviewed by Betty Cox for ReaderToReader.com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Three reviews for THE LONGING

    Reviews for The Longing: Ms. Lindstrom's fantastic characters are a treat, as is her rare ability to immediately develop conflict while at the same time introducing characters with enough depth and dimension to instantly captivate the reader in their dilemma. Her plots are expertly rendered, forging a relationship that compels urgent, can't-put-down page turning. Reviewed by Denise M. Clark for Road To Romance ***** REVIEW #2 -- With a fresh, new title, the second book in the "Shades" trilogy is another powerful romance. Wendy Lindstrom is a fantastic author, and one that readers will not want to miss. She has a knack for creating dynamic characters, vivid settings, and tender passion. Though THE LONGING is the second in the series, it succeeds as a stand-alone, however I wouldn't have wanted to miss Radford and Evelyn's story. Readers finds themselves reunited with them as well as learning more about the next brother, Boyd. Boyd is quite a character, particularly when it comes to describing how to attract a woman, I can't wait to see Boyd face off with his own significant other! Reviewed by Tracy Farnsworth for The Romance Readers Connection***** REVIEW #3 -- Lindstrom does an excellent job...Fans of tortured and brooding characters will love this book. The catharsis, when it comes, is quite satisfying...left me wanting to read the next book in the series, about the youngest Grayson brother, Boyd. Wendy Lindstrom gives me hope that the Americana romance is in good hands, and I hope all readers who like this period will give her a try. She is an author to watch. Reviewed by All About Romance

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2002

    This author's talent shines through on every page.

    Amelia Drake was a twenty-one year old schoolmarm. It seemed as though every single man in her life had manipulated her or let her down. As a teen (17) she had given herself to a man she loved and thought they would marry. Instead she had been seduced, abandoned, and doomed to life as a spinster. When her father, Tom Drake, died, Amelia and her mother found out they were broke. They decided to sell their sawmill to a business rival, Kyle Grayson. When Kyle put Amelia in a compromising situation, they had to marry. Kyle married Amelia mainly out of guilt. Not only because the school board had caught him in her home, but also because he believed he had killed her father! Kyle had thought Tom betrayed him and confronted Tom. Tom was so distressed he went into cardiac arrest and died in Kyle's arms. Both Amelia and Kyle had secrets they felt unable to reveal to the other. In addition, secrets from outside sources make the new marriage rocky and trust hard to come by. It was all about to come to a head! **** I just gave a sample of what Amelia and Kyle were up against! Author Wendy Lindstrom gave this couple so many problems, suspicions, and betrayals that I could see NO WAY for them to have a happy ending! This author's talent shines through on every page! Recommended reading. ****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Disappointing.............................................. Il l

    Disappointing..............................................
    Il liked the first book in this series so was looking forward to this.  I can't get past the first few chapters. The couple is so unlikable.   When he comes to tell her her father is dead and someone is coming with a carraige to take her home to her mother she physically attacks him .  When he tells her his horse is too exhausted to make the trip back does she wait for the carriage.  No.  She tries to jump on it anyway and nearly get herself and him hurt.  She works for a school board that makes the gestapo look liberal.  Her reaction at the bank with an old lover makes her look like a moron.  She hates him --she still is attracted.  She is confused. The hero isn't much better. He seemed to be a depressing drag in the first book but I figured he had to be so it made sense for the fiancee to dump him for his brother.  But he still is a drip.  Just can't get behind this couple.  Oh and what's with the cover?  She looks like she is ready to throw up and he is having a bad hair day .  Can't believe it got such good reviews.  But to be fair I only got about half way through it.  It maybe have made a dramatic turn at some point.   I'm just finding the characters too annoying to continue..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3