BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Longing For Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    I recently had the opportunity to read Longing for Home, Sarah M

    I recently had the opportunity to read Longing for Home, Sarah M. Eden's newest book.  It was so good!  I wasn't familiar with Sarah Eden's books before this, but I am so excited to head to the library and read some of her other books.  She has written a ton!  And this one does not disappoint.  

    What I love about this book is that it doesn't just jump into the love story.  You really get to know the characters and their situations first before their feelings start to develop.  And I really like that. I especially love all the Irish history because my ancestry is Irish and it's super interesting to me to see what happened during the potato famine.  That will definitely tug at your heart a bit.  But I think it's necessary to learn more about Katie and what makes her who she is.  I also like that she allows you to see the different character's thoughts and points of view rather it just being from Katie's view the whole time.  It's mostly her, but you get a glimpse of the men as well which I found interesting.

    I am so excited there's a sequel coming out in the Spring of 2014!  I love that the story will continue.

    Review originally posted on We Like to Learn as We Go

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Exceeded expectation

    I don't care for westerns in general, and put off purchasing this book for that reason. However, I was completely won over by this story.

    Actually, I had a hard time putting it down, so interested in the characters was I, that I would mull over the story, guessing the outcome when I was not reading it. I also loved that I could not predict exactly where the plot was going; predictable plots disappoint me, so, Longing For Home was a delight in that regard.

    I've read Sarah M. Eden's other books, and expected great characters, funny dialogs, and touching moments; I was not disappointed. I'm so glad I didn't let the setting keep me from this sweet story. (The sequel is lovely too.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    U ?...l. O ?. ? ? ?mmnl. ?l ? ? V.

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    I don't even know where to start.   This book is so good.  I lov

    I don't even know where to start.   This book is so good.  I love the characters, the setting, the story line, everything!  I hope that I don't spoil anything for anyone in my review.

    First the characters....There are so many great characters in this book.  I will say just a few things about the ones I love the most.




    Katie Macauley - She is such a beautiful creature.  She is such a good person, but cannot see herself as one.  She is humble, and funny..but so obviously broken about her past.  She is plagued with the disappointment her horrible father put on her as a child.  (Needless to say her dad is not one of my favorite people!  I am glad he isn't in the book too much because regardless of circumstances a child should never feel as though they are a burden)!  She is such a loving, kind, hard working and best of all kind of snarky.  She is fabulous.  I love her quick whit.  I love her willingness to stand up to adversity and prejudice.

    Tavish O'Connor - My heart melts at just the mention of his name.  Eden does a fantastic job of making him such a lovable character.  He is funny, kind, hard working, and (in my head) extremely handsome.  He is such a gentleman.  Makes me wish more men were like him.  Why can't men be like they were in the old days...hehehe!  Of course everything is better in a book.  I love the banter between Tavish and Katie.  It is so fantastic, and so funny.  I love how he never gives up on Katie, and does all he can to make her feel welcome in their little town.

    Joseph Archer - I don't quite know what to say other than he is an amazing man.  I almost didn't like him at the beginning, but boy did he redeem himself.  He was quick to judge Katie at first because she was Irish, but soon found out how wonderful she was.  I love that he gives up the "corporate" life for farming.  He does what he loves.  He is a kind, patient, and a peace keeping man.  He does all he can in a town that is divided to be as neutral as possible.  He is a great father, and just an all around good guy.  

    Ian & Biddy O'Connor - I love this couple.  They are so funny.  So sweet.  Biddy is such a funny character, and I love the relationship she has with Ian.  I love the friendship she shows to Katie, and willingness to help her whenever she can.

    There are more, but I could go on and on and on.  Eden is such an amazing writer.  My heart aches for Katie as she struggles to make up for what she think she did when she was just a child.  I couldn't imagine being sent away and not thought of again.  In the beginning I was really rooting for Joseph and Katie, but in all honesty I cannot imagine her being with anyone but Tavish now.  He so obviously loves, and adores her. Is obvious that Joseph does as well.  I just wish he would have been strong enough to tell her how he felt in the beginning.

    The hatred that is in this book between the Irish and the "Reds" is so sad.  I do not understand prejudice.  I cannot understand how people can hate each other because of race, or ANYTHING...It's just so not the way it should be.  Even though I cannot grasp the idea of such prejudice Eden does an amazing job of writing about it.  I could "feel" the tension in this book.  It made me feel tense.  Even when it wasn't about the feud  I could feel the underline tension everyone in the town had.  I love it when a book causes me to feel such emotions.

    I cannot even tell you how fabulous Katie is when she goes to church and puts the preacher in his place.  I smiled from ear to ear.  She doesn't take anything from anyone.  I just love her.

    I am quite anxious for the second book.  I don't know if I am a little biased towards this book because I had the amazing opportunity to meet Sarah M. Eden at a book signing a while back, and she is such a genuine person.  You could tell she loved what she does, and that she is kind.  I think her passion for writing comes through in her books.  

    I loved everything about this book.  It was sweet, funny, full of such emotion.  Love, tension, humor.  Just an all around good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Loved it.

    Loved the book. Can't wait for the next one. Love her as an author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    From the first sentence, I was intrigued by the main character,

    From the first sentence, I was intrigued by the main character, Katie, and the situation she found herself in. The progression of the story felt natural, the main characters complex and interesting. I loved that I was quickly immersed in Katie's new world, discovering the West along with her and learning about Katie's past with her friends. The fact that this was not your typical western/pioneer setting I found refreshing, and I appreciated the glimpse into the history of Irish immigration in the United States--something new to me. The best aspect of the book for me--the witty conversations and playful teasing between the love interests. That chemistry, of course, is the most important part of any romance.




    If I had to come up with any cons to this book, it is that I don't feel there is a true wrap-up in the end. I didn't realize it wasn't going to be a stand-alone book, so I was slightly disappointed by the ending. I realize now that there is a sequel, which I am sure will tie up those loose ends, but I feel the resolution to this book could have been tighter and still left room for the planned sequel.




    Overall, Longing for Home is an enjoyable read with engaging characters and lively banter. It's a nice balance of romance and history, fluff and fact, wit and emotion. The author has a comfortable style that makes the art of writing appear deceivingly easy. I will certainly look for more of Sarah M. Eden's books...and I guess I'll have to make sure to read Longing for Home's sequel next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Longing For Home is a well-written and satisfying story with end

    Longing For Home is a well-written and satisfying story with endearing characters and a fascinating glimpse of Irish culture in the Old West at a time when prejudice against them prevailed throughout most of the country.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Longing For Home and consider it well worth the wait. It is a deeper, more involved story than Sarah’s other books, proving that she has taken her talent for storytelling to an even higher level. The characters are dimensional and real, with histories full of struggle, survival, love, and loss. They are so well-developed I feel as if they are MY family and friends.

    The dialogue is wonderful. I could “hear” Katie’s brogue simply because of the words and phrases she uses with very little, if any, phonetical spelling. I appreciate that more than I can say. The use of traditional Irish phrases is enchanting and adds a wonderful lilt to Katie’s voice in my mind. Tavish and Joseph are remarkable, hard-working men with very different personalities and situations yet with the same capacity for love and desire for peace in the community. I love them both and hope that I will get to read more about them in the future.

    Experiencing the story through the point-of-view of all three main characters not only gave me a better understanding of their thoughts and motivations, it also made me care about them even more and kept me guessing about how events would unfold. I truly didn’t know how things would turn out for Katie, or even how I wanted them to turn out because I was as torn about what to do as she was. I was unsure about Katie at first, but her growth throughout her experiences in Hope Springs felt natural and I was glad to see how far she had come by the end.

    Longing For Home is a must for fans of Sarah M. Eden. Readers who appreciate clean romance and quality writing will want to add this book to the top of their reading lists. Though I don’t often rate books in my reviews, I don’t hesitate to give Longing For Home an appreciative and enthusiastic five stars.

    Review originally published on LDS Women's Book Review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Sarah Eden's books! I have read EVERY ONE of th

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Sarah Eden's books!
    I have read EVERY ONE of them!
    I LOVE her strong female characters!
    I LOVE the sweet and tender romance she includes!
    I LOVE reading about the "proper way" in which one had to conduct oneself during that time.
    I LOVE how positive her books are!
    I just LOVE her writings!

    In the past she has always had the setting be during the 1800's in England
    In this book it is still 1800's, but the setting is in Wyoming, USA

    A time of struggle.
    A time of poverty.
    A time of feuding.

    Katie Maculey has traveled from Ireland to Wyoming in answer to a housekeeping job post.
    She has been working and saving since she was 8-years-old in hopes of returning to her Irish roots.
    When she arrives in the small Wyoming town of Hope Springs she finds herself in the middle of an ongoing feud between the Irish and the American frontiersmen.
    Katie finds herself in not only a love triangle between two wonderful men, but also caught between her hopes of returning home OR staying and being the HOPE of the Irish people.

    Sarah has included some "book club worthy" questions at the end of the book!

    An AMAZING story that will enthrall everyone who reads it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is in the Proper Romance genre by Shadow Mountain. Th

    This book is in the Proper Romance genre by Shadow Mountain. There are 2 other books in this set at this time, Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson and Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson. The books are unrelated in story, but they are clean romance.

    I love this book. The struggles of immigrants is an interesting topic to take on in a romance. I like having that as a conflict as well as any inter-personal issues. I like learning more about the Irish culture as well.

    There are a lot of layers to the main character and Sarah M. Eden reveals them slowly. And, the main character opens herself up to different people in the book so not all of them have the whole picture of this new woman in town. It is interesting to get to know this woman and who she is becoming in this new environment with new friends.

    The romance in this story is somewhat predictable in parts, but then Sarah M. Eden adds a twist. This book ends somewhat in the middle of a larger tale and will have another book to continue the story and the romance. I look forward to reading more about this cast of characters.

    Warnings: Violence and bullying between different cultures, nothing graphic.

    I would let my 15 year old read this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1