Customer Reviews for

Look Again

Average Rating 4
( 876 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(379)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly Enjoyed

Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices th...
Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices that it looks strikingly like her son. She decides to investigate and soon finds, to her horror, that she had adopted a kidnapped child, and the kidnapper will do anything to keep it a secret, including murdering anyone who knows anything about it. The book has many unexpected turns, especially the reason the child was kidnapped in the first place. As a mother of young children, I completely identified with the torment that Ellen was facing when she realized she could lose her beloved son. I thought the book couldn't get any better as the last chapter ended, until the epilogue! Couldn't have ended any better! I would highly recommend. I have added this book to my favorites, as well as this author. The plot was very original and the writing superb.

posted by NurseKelley on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Look Again... Book Titles May Be Deceiving!

"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE Y...
"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE YOU SEEN THIS CHILD? Could the child in the photo really be her son?" Chapter 1, Page1

Look Again by Lisa Scottoline reminds me of those movies, where you could just watch the preview, and wish you knew that was the best part of the movie. The main plot of the book is given away in the inside jacket, dealing with Ellen's worst nightmare as she discovers her adopted child may be one of the missing kids. The book starts with a BANG getting into the plot right away from the first paragraph, and soon dissolves into 243 pages of slow motion and leaving the best part of the book with less than a hundred pages.
Having said that, and being fair to the author, Look Again, it is in fact a heartpounding thriller dealing with a mother's love for her child, and the moral dilemma of what would we do if we were Ellen Gleeson. The plot of the book is original however, it has too many distractions, and the ending even though is not as predictable as I thought, it is too much of a happy ending for the story to be credible.

I found the characters of this book too vague, there is no supporting character. Even Ellen, the main character, there was no background of her. We know she is a journalist, and as a her professional background goes, we are only given a previous story of her adoption, still readers are not given a reason to like her. Her character wasn't developed enough, the only thing readers are given is her love for her child, Her love connection to her son is not impressive. Put in her own words, it feels like her bedtime story to her son " I'm a mommy who needs a baby, and he's a baby who needs a mommy, I wish that little boy could be mine". But other than than the book ends, and we still don't know who her real character is. And why? Mrs. Scottoline would you name a cat "Oreo Figaro?"

I found the book to be original, it has a few surprises and Scottoline's research is magnificent. The title was excellent. However, the chapters' format of the book is horrible. I believe one to two page chapters are distracting to readers, and if the writer does it, the book has to be a page turner. Look Again was not.

posted by BolivarJ on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thoroughly Enjoyed

    Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices that it looks strikingly like her son. She decides to investigate and soon finds, to her horror, that she had adopted a kidnapped child, and the kidnapper will do anything to keep it a secret, including murdering anyone who knows anything about it. The book has many unexpected turns, especially the reason the child was kidnapped in the first place. As a mother of young children, I completely identified with the torment that Ellen was facing when she realized she could lose her beloved son. I thought the book couldn't get any better as the last chapter ended, until the epilogue! Couldn't have ended any better! I would highly recommend. I have added this book to my favorites, as well as this author. The plot was very original and the writing superb.

    65 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Look Again... Book Titles May Be Deceiving!

    "Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE YOU SEEN THIS CHILD? Could the child in the photo really be her son?" Chapter 1, Page1

    Look Again by Lisa Scottoline reminds me of those movies, where you could just watch the preview, and wish you knew that was the best part of the movie. The main plot of the book is given away in the inside jacket, dealing with Ellen's worst nightmare as she discovers her adopted child may be one of the missing kids. The book starts with a BANG getting into the plot right away from the first paragraph, and soon dissolves into 243 pages of slow motion and leaving the best part of the book with less than a hundred pages.
    Having said that, and being fair to the author, Look Again, it is in fact a heartpounding thriller dealing with a mother's love for her child, and the moral dilemma of what would we do if we were Ellen Gleeson. The plot of the book is original however, it has too many distractions, and the ending even though is not as predictable as I thought, it is too much of a happy ending for the story to be credible.

    I found the characters of this book too vague, there is no supporting character. Even Ellen, the main character, there was no background of her. We know she is a journalist, and as a her professional background goes, we are only given a previous story of her adoption, still readers are not given a reason to like her. Her character wasn't developed enough, the only thing readers are given is her love for her child, Her love connection to her son is not impressive. Put in her own words, it feels like her bedtime story to her son " I'm a mommy who needs a baby, and he's a baby who needs a mommy, I wish that little boy could be mine". But other than than the book ends, and we still don't know who her real character is. And why? Mrs. Scottoline would you name a cat "Oreo Figaro?"

    I found the book to be original, it has a few surprises and Scottoline's research is magnificent. The title was excellent. However, the chapters' format of the book is horrible. I believe one to two page chapters are distracting to readers, and if the writer does it, the book has to be a page turner. Look Again was not.

    16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    Look Again....WOW!

    What a thrill a minute. I could not put this book down and read the entire story in 1 day. Lisa jumps right in to the story and keeps things moving, one exciting turn after another. I immediately went online to find out what else she had available. I am so glad I found her!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    look again

    this was a book club choice for my book club. very nice writing style, enthralling, keeps you guessing. great ending. highly recommend this book to everyone.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    This book kept me wondering

    This was my first book by this author so I did not know what to expect but I actually loved it. The story line kept me interested in finding out what would happen next. I also liked that there were several twist at the end so it was not a typicl ending that you could predict. After finishing this book, I went out and bought another book by this author. Hopefully it will be as good as this first!!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOTS OF DRAMA!

    Reporter, Ellen is raising her adopted son, Will, by herself. She comes across a flyer, "Have you seen this child?" Her heart almost stops as it looks an awful lot like her son. Death, murder, and questions that need answering lead to great suspense, action and lots of drama!! Loved it!!! Also loved these..EXPLOSION IN PARIS, NOT MY DAUGHTER.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!

    I took this book out in one morning to start while eating breakfast and couldn't stop reading. I finished the book at 1:30 am the next day and it only took that long because I had to put it down in order to go out and do a few things with my children. This book is one of those that you wouldcall "unputdownable" not that such a word exists but that what it was like with all the action in it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A page-turner - I didn't want to put this book down!

    The author knows exactly how to end one chapter to make the reader want to read "just one more" before putting the book down. I read this book in three sittings, wanting to do it in one. It has you right from chapter one through to the last page! You almost "feel" how it's going to end, but getting to that point keeps you craving for more. It makes you wonder about the whole adoption process and if something like this could really happen.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Gets Progressively Worse

    This book starts out pretty good. I liked the overall story line and the debate within the book. I think it would have been a whole lot better if there wasn't the entire middle of the book. The beginning and ending (the first 100 and last 100 pages) are kind of interesting, however, the middle is all filler. By the last 100 pages or so, I was just fed up with how dramatic the book was getting. I skimmed the entire ending of the book. If you like to read very dramatic and confusing books, this is for you. If not, don't waste your time.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Boring

    I was so excited to read this book but I'm not even 100 pages in and I have given up. I just can't seem to get into this book.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read!

    Look Again is a very suspensful and emotional read. The words just flowed throughout the whole book. It's very hard to put down because you can't wait to see what happens next. It just illustrates the tight and emotional bond a Mother and child experience in life. Lisa Scottoline is awesome! She really knows how to lure you into a book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    This did not turn out as I thought it would

    This was a nice easy 'beach read'. I recommend it for that. I actually bought it for my daughter & daughter-in-law to read. I really expected it to be a "chick flick" type of book with the child having to go back to his parents. I did not expect the twist that it did. Overall a pretty easy read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Absolutely Loved It!

    Would not have been able to predict that ending. Great book. This was my first book I have read by Lisa Scottoline and I totally recommend.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Had my heart, but not my head

    A fast-paced book that, as a mom, struck me to the core.

    Ellen Gleeson is a reporter raising a boy she adopted while doing a story on him for the paper. One day she sees his picture on a flyer "Have you seen me" and she begins to investigate whether her adopted son is the boy who was kidnapped.

    The book moves quickly and the drama tugged at my heart strings. And it's a good thing, because aside from moving me as a mother - this book probably would have fallen completely flat. It felt to unrealistic in how the story unfolds. It felt very contrived. It felt much like formula fiction.

    I know, pretty harsh, and I hate to be harsh. But I think if I wasn't invested in the book as a mother thinking - what if that were me and I was worried about losing my child - I would have walked away from it.

    But since I am a mother and it really moved me, I couldn't put the book down. I had to know how it all worked out. I had to know what happened to everyone. My heart was so into this book. But head was not. And for that, I'm grateful she was able to capture my heart's attention!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    I totally loved this book. It's believable from beginning to end. It had me smiling in some parts and crying in the rest. I couldn't put it down or quit talking about it when I wasn't reading. Loved all the twists and turns it took as you were reading it. Totally unpredictable till the end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    Look Again is one of the most touching novels that I've read! I enjoyed it to the fullest! It was real and oftentimes made you think: What would I do? A page turner that will leave you breathless until the end! Grade: A+

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Good read.

    I read this book in 2 days -- couldn't put it down. Good story line. I would recommend it to women. Don't think men would enjoy it as much as women.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Whose child is this?

    Scottoline's central character is a single mother determined to get to the bottom of her son's true identity, while under pressure from her job. She becomes involved in a more dangerous situation than she expects as she tries to get to the bottom of why "her" legally adopted son looks like a missing child.
    The story line moves quickly as the mother moves from reporter to sleuth to reporter to the object of a diabolical plot. Worthwhile reading.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing premise delivered well

    After i had read the first 50 pages of this book, I thought I knew where it was going and what heartbreak laid ahead. Scottoline tricked me -- the book took twists and turns, and introduced new characters along the way, that keep me guessing and engaged. I was sad when it ended because it was fascinating until the last page. Offers a 'this could really happen' and 'sometimes there's no good answer' perspective that reminds me of Jodi Piccoult, without the wretching heartache that accompanies Piccoult books. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Scottoline writes and excellent thriller

    This was very fast paced and kept me right on the edge of my seat the whole time. I felt like I was right there in the middle of it. I love stories with this thriller aspect. Very well done and exciting. If you like authors who can surprise you, you will love Lisa Scottoline...and a few more favorites that will also get your blood flowing are below.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44