Customer Reviews for

Look Again

Average Rating 4
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly Enjoyed

Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices th...
Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices that it looks strikingly like her son. She decides to investigate and soon finds, to her horror, that she had adopted a kidnapped child, and the kidnapper will do anything to keep it a secret, including murdering anyone who knows anything about it. The book has many unexpected turns, especially the reason the child was kidnapped in the first place. As a mother of young children, I completely identified with the torment that Ellen was facing when she realized she could lose her beloved son. I thought the book couldn't get any better as the last chapter ended, until the epilogue! Couldn't have ended any better! I would highly recommend. I have added this book to my favorites, as well as this author. The plot was very original and the writing superb.

posted by NurseKelley on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Look Again... Book Titles May Be Deceiving!

"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE Y...
"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE YOU SEEN THIS CHILD? Could the child in the photo really be her son?" Chapter 1, Page1

Look Again by Lisa Scottoline reminds me of those movies, where you could just watch the preview, and wish you knew that was the best part of the movie. The main plot of the book is given away in the inside jacket, dealing with Ellen's worst nightmare as she discovers her adopted child may be one of the missing kids. The book starts with a BANG getting into the plot right away from the first paragraph, and soon dissolves into 243 pages of slow motion and leaving the best part of the book with less than a hundred pages.
Having said that, and being fair to the author, Look Again, it is in fact a heartpounding thriller dealing with a mother's love for her child, and the moral dilemma of what would we do if we were Ellen Gleeson. The plot of the book is original however, it has too many distractions, and the ending even though is not as predictable as I thought, it is too much of a happy ending for the story to be credible.

I found the characters of this book too vague, there is no supporting character. Even Ellen, the main character, there was no background of her. We know she is a journalist, and as a her professional background goes, we are only given a previous story of her adoption, still readers are not given a reason to like her. Her character wasn't developed enough, the only thing readers are given is her love for her child, Her love connection to her son is not impressive. Put in her own words, it feels like her bedtime story to her son " I'm a mommy who needs a baby, and he's a baby who needs a mommy, I wish that little boy could be mine". But other than than the book ends, and we still don't know who her real character is. And why? Mrs. Scottoline would you name a cat "Oreo Figaro?"

I found the book to be original, it has a few surprises and Scottoline's research is magnificent. The title was excellent. However, the chapters' format of the book is horrible. I believe one to two page chapters are distracting to readers, and if the writer does it, the book has to be a page turner. Look Again was not.

posted by BolivarJ on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Had my heart, but not my head

    A fast-paced book that, as a mom, struck me to the core.

    Ellen Gleeson is a reporter raising a boy she adopted while doing a story on him for the paper. One day she sees his picture on a flyer "Have you seen me" and she begins to investigate whether her adopted son is the boy who was kidnapped.

    The book moves quickly and the drama tugged at my heart strings. And it's a good thing, because aside from moving me as a mother - this book probably would have fallen completely flat. It felt to unrealistic in how the story unfolds. It felt very contrived. It felt much like formula fiction.

    I know, pretty harsh, and I hate to be harsh. But I think if I wasn't invested in the book as a mother thinking - what if that were me and I was worried about losing my child - I would have walked away from it.

    But since I am a mother and it really moved me, I couldn't put the book down. I had to know how it all worked out. I had to know what happened to everyone. My heart was so into this book. But head was not. And for that, I'm grateful she was able to capture my heart's attention!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad

    I thought that the premise for this book was FABULOUS, but I was not satisfied by the book. I knew a key part of the book fairly quickly, and I felt it was just rushed in some parts, and dragged in others. I guess I was looking for Jodi Picoult, and that isn't what I got.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    A quick read

    I read this book on vacation. The characters and plot were interesting, however, the story could have been told in about a third to a half of the pages. I found myself skimming many of the pages. I found myself liking many of the characters and wanting a good outcome and I was not disappointed. There were interesting twists in the story line. Once finished, I knew this was not a book I would want to read again. I donated it to the resort's library. It was enjoyable light reading for a Maui vacation.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Kind of disappointing

    The topic was fantastic, but the story seemed to drag on and on. The ending was so far fetched that it was just disappointing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    good book

    Good book, but moves a little slow sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Ok

    Was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Interesting

    I thought the book was good. I agree with the reviewer who commented on how distracting the short chapters are. It was a one day weekend read for me but it made you think and held your attention. Far better use of time than a Harleqin romance but not as detailed or as exciting as something like the hunger games.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Interesting story idea

    The author is a good writer, but she wrote a paragraph of details when a couple of sentences would suffice. The storyline was a hook for me, but the ending was a bit ridiculous. It was a happy ending, but in reality it never is. At least for the adoptive mom/parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    very complete

    Delivered as promised. Very complete, as it had something for all. Noticed 1story line error, other than that, was good. I am considering getting seconds from this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    All in all a good read.

    The premise for this book, "Look Again" was very intriguing. What if you saw your adopted child's picture on a "missing" ad? What would you do? This novel was a good read, and I did like it, however, I thought the character development was a bit off. Ellen could have been any mother on the face of this earth, and I found myself wanting to know more about her. It is somewhat suspenseful and I found myself anxious to find out answers to the mystery. All in all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Good read - would recommend

    Good read, just dragged a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Highly Predictable, but still a good read

    If anyone is looking for a good, quick read for planes, beach, etc, this is a good choice. You literally know how it turns out on page 1, but you are interested in the journey. I was a little disappointed in the choices the heroine makes, as they wouldn't be my choices, but I guess it made it more compelling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Look Again

    I enjoyed the story itself but I didn't think it was particularly well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original Idea...

    This storyline was a nice original idea -- what would you do if your adopted son's picture stared back at you from one of those missing kids flyers that you get in the mail? I definitely liked the storyline, but I struggled a bit with the author's writing style. This was the first book of hers that I read, but I felt that there were several moments in which she tells you what the character is actually feeling, instead of allowing you to understand what the character is feeling by describing all of the emotions and actions. I'm interested to see if all of her other books are like that, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Not her finest.

    I'm a Scottoline fan, but it's hard to stay with this book. I've done so only because I enjoyed her previous books. It's all very predictable and the detail, rather than being interesting, is painstaking. There is no humor at all--something I enjoyed in LS's previous books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Look Again is vintage Scottoline, almost

    The characters and the plot are riveting. I thought I was going to learn something new as is quite usual with Scottoline's books. However, the conclusion was VERY contrived. Absolutely everyone has a happy ending. Thai is not true in real life and should not be true in books except for Romance novels. For this reason I found the book disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow starter!

    I thought this book sounded so good, I couldn't wait to start it. I was dissapointed, the story starts right in with the plot which I like but it takes forever for it to get going. Get to the point! This book was okay but as I said the description fools you into to thinking it is a great read.

    Don't be fooled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good fast-paced summer read

    The book grabbed my attention immediately and I was intrigued by the premise of the lost child/adoption issue. It is definitely a page-turner and I've recommended it to my friends. Gets a little far-fetched near the end, but then redeems itself to a satisfying end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Look Again

    I bought this book for my young daughter-in-law who is not much of a reader. Since I didn't see her right away, I read it myself first. I had not read any Lisa Scottoline books before. It was a very easy read, interesting and entertaining, a good story, but not one to stretch one's brain. The kind of book we all need now and then...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scottoline does it again

    I thought this book had a lot of twists and turns. The characters made you feel for them. The description of what a parent feels after the loss of a child was excellent. No parent should have to suffer the loss of their child by the hands of a kidnapper. The loss of a child effects birth and adoptive parents the same. I am glad there was a happy ending for both parties involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6