Customer Reviews for

Look Again

Average Rating 4
( 874 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(378)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly Enjoyed

Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices th...
Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices that it looks strikingly like her son. She decides to investigate and soon finds, to her horror, that she had adopted a kidnapped child, and the kidnapper will do anything to keep it a secret, including murdering anyone who knows anything about it. The book has many unexpected turns, especially the reason the child was kidnapped in the first place. As a mother of young children, I completely identified with the torment that Ellen was facing when she realized she could lose her beloved son. I thought the book couldn't get any better as the last chapter ended, until the epilogue! Couldn't have ended any better! I would highly recommend. I have added this book to my favorites, as well as this author. The plot was very original and the writing superb.

posted by NurseKelley on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Look Again... Book Titles May Be Deceiving!

"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE Y...
"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE YOU SEEN THIS CHILD? Could the child in the photo really be her son?" Chapter 1, Page1

Look Again by Lisa Scottoline reminds me of those movies, where you could just watch the preview, and wish you knew that was the best part of the movie. The main plot of the book is given away in the inside jacket, dealing with Ellen's worst nightmare as she discovers her adopted child may be one of the missing kids. The book starts with a BANG getting into the plot right away from the first paragraph, and soon dissolves into 243 pages of slow motion and leaving the best part of the book with less than a hundred pages.
Having said that, and being fair to the author, Look Again, it is in fact a heartpounding thriller dealing with a mother's love for her child, and the moral dilemma of what would we do if we were Ellen Gleeson. The plot of the book is original however, it has too many distractions, and the ending even though is not as predictable as I thought, it is too much of a happy ending for the story to be credible.

I found the characters of this book too vague, there is no supporting character. Even Ellen, the main character, there was no background of her. We know she is a journalist, and as a her professional background goes, we are only given a previous story of her adoption, still readers are not given a reason to like her. Her character wasn't developed enough, the only thing readers are given is her love for her child, Her love connection to her son is not impressive. Put in her own words, it feels like her bedtime story to her son " I'm a mommy who needs a baby, and he's a baby who needs a mommy, I wish that little boy could be mine". But other than than the book ends, and we still don't know who her real character is. And why? Mrs. Scottoline would you name a cat "Oreo Figaro?"

I found the book to be original, it has a few surprises and Scottoline's research is magnificent. The title was excellent. However, the chapters' format of the book is horrible. I believe one to two page chapters are distracting to readers, and if the writer does it, the book has to be a page turner. Look Again was not.

posted by BolivarJ on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    This book kept me wondering

    This was my first book by this author so I did not know what to expect but I actually loved it. The story line kept me interested in finding out what would happen next. I also liked that there were several twist at the end so it was not a typicl ending that you could predict. After finishing this book, I went out and bought another book by this author. Hopefully it will be as good as this first!!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!

    I took this book out in one morning to start while eating breakfast and couldn't stop reading. I finished the book at 1:30 am the next day and it only took that long because I had to put it down in order to go out and do a few things with my children. This book is one of those that you wouldcall "unputdownable" not that such a word exists but that what it was like with all the action in it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    This did not turn out as I thought it would

    This was a nice easy 'beach read'. I recommend it for that. I actually bought it for my daughter & daughter-in-law to read. I really expected it to be a "chick flick" type of book with the child having to go back to his parents. I did not expect the twist that it did. Overall a pretty easy read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Good read.

    I read this book in 2 days -- couldn't put it down. Good story line. I would recommend it to women. Don't think men would enjoy it as much as women.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Whose child is this?

    Scottoline's central character is a single mother determined to get to the bottom of her son's true identity, while under pressure from her job. She becomes involved in a more dangerous situation than she expects as she tries to get to the bottom of why "her" legally adopted son looks like a missing child.
    The story line moves quickly as the mother moves from reporter to sleuth to reporter to the object of a diabolical plot. Worthwhile reading.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing premise delivered well

    After i had read the first 50 pages of this book, I thought I knew where it was going and what heartbreak laid ahead. Scottoline tricked me -- the book took twists and turns, and introduced new characters along the way, that keep me guessing and engaged. I was sad when it ended because it was fascinating until the last page. Offers a 'this could really happen' and 'sometimes there's no good answer' perspective that reminds me of Jodi Piccoult, without the wretching heartache that accompanies Piccoult books. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    great read

    It took a while to get to the suspence, but when it got going, it was great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Enjoyed

    Really enjoyed this book. The ended was a little strange though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was difficult to put down. A page turner to be sure! So glad I added it to my library! Good till the last page!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Very Good Story

    I really liked this novel. It took me a while to read it as I usually have a couple of books going at a time. It was such a great story with three-dimensional characters. I really thought the plot was well thought out and quite realistic considering the circumstances of events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Tearjerker, I liked this book a lot!

    Ellen wrecked my nerves initially. By the end, I had a strong appreciation for the way she handled the situation. I think Lisa Scottoline did a fantastic job creating this story and I do recommend you read it. Be patient it takes a while for the pace to pick up. The chapters fly bye, and you may think "get to the climax please" ... but when it does, you are in for some unexpected surprises. Grab a box of Kleenex. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    First of many...

    I was torn between this book and one other,while at the store.So I had my husband chose and I'm forever grateful.When I first opened the book and started reading I wasn't sure this was something that would catch my interest.That quickly changed before I reached chapter 20 (Chapters are short).There's so many little surprises you don't even expect the last one.Truly a page turner from the early pages.After this one I plan on picking up more books written by the brilliant Lisa Scottoline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    Worthh Reading

    It took me a little whille to get through as the main character was really annoying. But there were some interesting plot twists that made it worthwhile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    review

    this was my first book i purchased for my nook. it started off a little slow but gradually got better. some parts i found myself unable to put it down! overall, pretty good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    worth it

    every adopted womans fear. a true look at a loving mother and pure heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellbounding excitement

    This book was enthralling from beginning to end and left you wondering what was coming next. The characters were exciting and the plot was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I totally saw Ashely Judd and Antonio Banderas in the key roles

    I totally saw Ashely Judd and Antonio Banderas in the key roles of this novel. Not too much of a mystery, but I love the way Scottoline writes. For a light read chic-flick type of book, this one fills the bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Great Book

    I've read other books by Lisa Scottoline and this is by far the best I stayed interested the whole time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Nice, quick read

    Great read. I enjoyed the storyline and how quickly the story.moved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Page turner that kept me up at night.

    Interesting storyline, great lead character, made a wonderful book I didn't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15