Customer Reviews for

Look Again

Average Rating 4
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly Enjoyed

Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices th...
Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices that it looks strikingly like her son. She decides to investigate and soon finds, to her horror, that she had adopted a kidnapped child, and the kidnapper will do anything to keep it a secret, including murdering anyone who knows anything about it. The book has many unexpected turns, especially the reason the child was kidnapped in the first place. As a mother of young children, I completely identified with the torment that Ellen was facing when she realized she could lose her beloved son. I thought the book couldn't get any better as the last chapter ended, until the epilogue! Couldn't have ended any better! I would highly recommend. I have added this book to my favorites, as well as this author. The plot was very original and the writing superb.

posted by NurseKelley on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Look Again... Book Titles May Be Deceiving!

"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE Y...
"Ellen Gleeson was unlocking he front door when something in the mail caught her attention. It was a white card with photos of missing children, and one of the little boys looked oddly like her adopted son. Ellen couldn't stop looking at the white card which read HAVE YOU SEEN THIS CHILD? Could the child in the photo really be her son?" Chapter 1, Page1

Look Again by Lisa Scottoline reminds me of those movies, where you could just watch the preview, and wish you knew that was the best part of the movie. The main plot of the book is given away in the inside jacket, dealing with Ellen's worst nightmare as she discovers her adopted child may be one of the missing kids. The book starts with a BANG getting into the plot right away from the first paragraph, and soon dissolves into 243 pages of slow motion and leaving the best part of the book with less than a hundred pages.
Having said that, and being fair to the author, Look Again, it is in fact a heartpounding thriller dealing with a mother's love for her child, and the moral dilemma of what would we do if we were Ellen Gleeson. The plot of the book is original however, it has too many distractions, and the ending even though is not as predictable as I thought, it is too much of a happy ending for the story to be credible.

I found the characters of this book too vague, there is no supporting character. Even Ellen, the main character, there was no background of her. We know she is a journalist, and as a her professional background goes, we are only given a previous story of her adoption, still readers are not given a reason to like her. Her character wasn't developed enough, the only thing readers are given is her love for her child, Her love connection to her son is not impressive. Put in her own words, it feels like her bedtime story to her son " I'm a mommy who needs a baby, and he's a baby who needs a mommy, I wish that little boy could be mine". But other than than the book ends, and we still don't know who her real character is. And why? Mrs. Scottoline would you name a cat "Oreo Figaro?"

I found the book to be original, it has a few surprises and Scottoline's research is magnificent. The title was excellent. However, the chapters' format of the book is horrible. I believe one to two page chapters are distracting to readers, and if the writer does it, the book has to be a page turner. Look Again was not.

posted by BolivarJ on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thoroughly Enjoyed

    Enjoyed everything about this book. Ellen Gleeson is a journalist who, while writing a series on a sickly, abandoned infant in a hospital, falls in love with the child and adopts it. A few happy years later, she glances at a postcard of missing children and notices that it looks strikingly like her son. She decides to investigate and soon finds, to her horror, that she had adopted a kidnapped child, and the kidnapper will do anything to keep it a secret, including murdering anyone who knows anything about it. The book has many unexpected turns, especially the reason the child was kidnapped in the first place. As a mother of young children, I completely identified with the torment that Ellen was facing when she realized she could lose her beloved son. I thought the book couldn't get any better as the last chapter ended, until the epilogue! Couldn't have ended any better! I would highly recommend. I have added this book to my favorites, as well as this author. The plot was very original and the writing superb.

    66 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    Look Again....WOW!

    What a thrill a minute. I could not put this book down and read the entire story in 1 day. Lisa jumps right in to the story and keeps things moving, one exciting turn after another. I immediately went online to find out what else she had available. I am so glad I found her!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    look again

    this was a book club choice for my book club. very nice writing style, enthralling, keeps you guessing. great ending. highly recommend this book to everyone.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOTS OF DRAMA!

    Reporter, Ellen is raising her adopted son, Will, by herself. She comes across a flyer, "Have you seen this child?" Her heart almost stops as it looks an awful lot like her son. Death, murder, and questions that need answering lead to great suspense, action and lots of drama!! Loved it!!! Also loved these..EXPLOSION IN PARIS, NOT MY DAUGHTER.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A page-turner - I didn't want to put this book down!

    The author knows exactly how to end one chapter to make the reader want to read "just one more" before putting the book down. I read this book in three sittings, wanting to do it in one. It has you right from chapter one through to the last page! You almost "feel" how it's going to end, but getting to that point keeps you craving for more. It makes you wonder about the whole adoption process and if something like this could really happen.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read!

    Look Again is a very suspensful and emotional read. The words just flowed throughout the whole book. It's very hard to put down because you can't wait to see what happens next. It just illustrates the tight and emotional bond a Mother and child experience in life. Lisa Scottoline is awesome! She really knows how to lure you into a book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Absolutely Loved It!

    Would not have been able to predict that ending. Great book. This was my first book I have read by Lisa Scottoline and I totally recommend.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    I totally loved this book. It's believable from beginning to end. It had me smiling in some parts and crying in the rest. I couldn't put it down or quit talking about it when I wasn't reading. Loved all the twists and turns it took as you were reading it. Totally unpredictable till the end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    Look Again is one of the most touching novels that I've read! I enjoyed it to the fullest! It was real and oftentimes made you think: What would I do? A page turner that will leave you breathless until the end! Grade: A+

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Scottoline writes and excellent thriller

    This was very fast paced and kept me right on the edge of my seat the whole time. I felt like I was right there in the middle of it. I love stories with this thriller aspect. Very well done and exciting. If you like authors who can surprise you, you will love Lisa Scottoline...and a few more favorites that will also get your blood flowing are below.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't stop "Looking"!!!!

    This is the first book I've read by Lisa Scottoline. It won't be my last. I loved it. Maybe because I'm from Pennsylvania, my husband is in the media, we are adoptive parents...but this novel touched my soul. I couldn't put it down. I stayed up all night reading. Thank you for this treasure.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Great quthor!

    I absolutely love the writing style of Lisa Scottoline! None of this "back and forth" that a lot of the current authors use. Her novels are straight forward! Good reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Page Turner

    I couldn't put this book down! My house is a disaster and my family is starving but I feel well filled by a story that held my attention from beginning to end - especially the end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    If you like Jodi Picoult's style read this.

    This book will touch any mother's heart. I think it reminds me of Jodi Picoult's books minus the big courtroom part.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Great read!

    I loved this book. Read the whole thing in less than a day cause I could not put it down. It waw excellend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible Read!

    What a writer, I just couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Wonderful, wonderful story!

    I was so happy and shocked with the ending after shedding many tears! I just couldn't put it down in anticipation of what the ending would be.....A must read!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    highly recommend

    this book was fantastic....she had me so entralled i felt like it was a non fiction at first.....then the story got even better adding plenty of twists and turns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Moving, Good Book

    I loved this book. It was suspenseful, very moving. I cried my eyes out in a couple of parts. The ending was not what I expected. I loved it, and hated it at the same time. I hate to hear about babies/children getting hurt. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Great, Great, Great

    This is my first time reading a book from this author, and all I can say what a great book this is. Being a mother myself my heart was torn to pieces with this story. I can't wait to read more books from this author. Read this one, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20