Customer Reviews for

Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

An Opening of My Eyes

As a swim and triathlon coach for disabled kids, 'Look Me In the Eye', served as an eye opener for me. Reading John's story, of his uncontrollable, odd habits- nick-naming people he commonly was exposed to, blurting out at what could have been seen as the worst moments,...
As a swim and triathlon coach for disabled kids, 'Look Me In the Eye', served as an eye opener for me. Reading John's story, of his uncontrollable, odd habits- nick-naming people he commonly was exposed to, blurting out at what could have been seen as the worst moments, avoiding eye contact at all costs, and digging holes, only to stick his younger brother into them, enabled me to better connect to my students and maybe from my work with them, I was able to better connect to the book. Being known as a "social deviant" though oddly intelligent, wasn't per say the correct classification for John, which one could conclude after reading the book. 'Look Me In the Eye - My Life With Asperger's' proved to be hysterically funny at times, though often a sense of dark humor, but was able to pull the strings to your emotions as well. The book follows John's life from his hilairious childhood to his diagnosis (which he didn't reach until the age of forty) with Asperger's sydrome (a form of autism) into his journey of creating a family of his own and following his dreams of building guitars for the band KISS. I really enjoyed this book, the connections which I was able to make to it, and its' ability to pull on my emotions yet make me laugh a few pages later. My only complaint is that the book drew out, and was a little bit slow and hard to get through in the middle pages. This book should definitely be read by anyone (like myself) whom works with disabled children, any parent, as well as any teacher. I've never read a book quite like this, and thus have no further recommendations but my overall rating of this book is excellent! Enjoy!

posted by 566470 on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good book to read if you are the parent of a child with Aspergers

I am reading this book to become a better parent. I have just two chapters left! The book has achieved it's purpose for me -- to gain perspective and empathy for my 10 year old son who has Aspergers. I am trying to see the world as he sees it, so that I can help him ...
I am reading this book to become a better parent. I have just two chapters left! The book has achieved it's purpose for me -- to gain perspective and empathy for my 10 year old son who has Aspergers. I am trying to see the world as he sees it, so that I can help him navigate through his childhood and toward a life as a well adjusted, happy, productive adult with meaningful friendships and social connections. If my son did not have Aspergers, I would most likely not have purchased this book. For me, this book is helpful. This is the first e-book that I've purchased, and I am dismayed that there are no folios, and I cannot easily tell how long the book is and how far I have progressed. I had to scroll to the end of the book to figure out that I only have 2 chapters left!

posted by 10530431 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    An Opening of My Eyes

    As a swim and triathlon coach for disabled kids, 'Look Me In the Eye', served as an eye opener for me. Reading John's story, of his uncontrollable, odd habits- nick-naming people he commonly was exposed to, blurting out at what could have been seen as the worst moments, avoiding eye contact at all costs, and digging holes, only to stick his younger brother into them, enabled me to better connect to my students and maybe from my work with them, I was able to better connect to the book. Being known as a "social deviant" though oddly intelligent, wasn't per say the correct classification for John, which one could conclude after reading the book. 'Look Me In the Eye - My Life With Asperger's' proved to be hysterically funny at times, though often a sense of dark humor, but was able to pull the strings to your emotions as well. The book follows John's life from his hilairious childhood to his diagnosis (which he didn't reach until the age of forty) with Asperger's sydrome (a form of autism) into his journey of creating a family of his own and following his dreams of building guitars for the band KISS. I really enjoyed this book, the connections which I was able to make to it, and its' ability to pull on my emotions yet make me laugh a few pages later. My only complaint is that the book drew out, and was a little bit slow and hard to get through in the middle pages. This book should definitely be read by anyone (like myself) whom works with disabled children, any parent, as well as any teacher. I've never read a book quite like this, and thus have no further recommendations but my overall rating of this book is excellent! Enjoy!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Definitely an interesting read

    When I first learned that I had to read a nonfiction book as part of an English project, I was a little less than thrilled, as I generally do not enjoy nonfiction reading. However, I was actually a bit excited to read Look Me in the Eye, since I have an interest in the topic of psychological disorders. I thought that I would find the memoir of a man with Asperger's Syndrome to be quite interesting. As I read John Elder Robison's memoir, I realized that my prediction was correct. I was fascinated by the descriptions of his thought process, entertained by stories of his antics, and saddened by some of the recollections from his rough childhood. His memoir was truly an eye opener for me; it allowed me to get a taste of what it would be like to be inside the head of an Aspergian. Reading this memoir made me think about some of the things that the average person takes for granted, such as the abilities to hold conversations, make friends, and simply look people in the eye. People had the tendency to label Robison as a "misfit" when he was a child, because he did not posses the aforementioned abilities, though he eventually learned how to adapt to the norms of society. Nevertheless, he still felt eccentric throughout much of his life, up until the point of his diagnosis at the age of forty. Despite the fact that he had Asperger's, Robison was able to accomplish a variety of things in life that most "normal" people could only dream of doing. By the end of the book, I felt proud of him and his accomplishments and began to wonder if I've ever encountered an Aspergian. His memoir made me have a better appreciation for what I have now and a better understanding of people with disorders. I would definitely recommend Look Me in the Eye for anybody who has ever wondered what it would be like in the mind of someone with any kind of disorder. It's certainly an interesting read.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Good read!

    I liked this book! I also read the authors brothers book....'Running with Scissors'....I suggest reading both!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Good book to read if you are the parent of a child with Aspergers

    I am reading this book to become a better parent. I have just two chapters left! The book has achieved it's purpose for me -- to gain perspective and empathy for my 10 year old son who has Aspergers. I am trying to see the world as he sees it, so that I can help him navigate through his childhood and toward a life as a well adjusted, happy, productive adult with meaningful friendships and social connections. If my son did not have Aspergers, I would most likely not have purchased this book. For me, this book is helpful. This is the first e-book that I've purchased, and I am dismayed that there are no folios, and I cannot easily tell how long the book is and how far I have progressed. I had to scroll to the end of the book to figure out that I only have 2 chapters left!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    Hilarious & Heartfelt

    An intimate and detailed emotional journey, `look me in the eye¿, is a well written, compassionate, deeply moving story that will have the reader laughing out loud on one page and on the verge of tears the next. Robison reveals what life was like growing up with an abusive, alcoholic father and his mentally ill mother. As a result of his inability to communicate appropriately, blurting out non sequiturs, and several other socially unacceptable behaviors, he was labeled a deviant. He found comfort with machinery. Dismantling and repairing various machines would lead to incredible employment opportunities, developing toys for Milton Bradley and guitars for the hard hitting rock group KISS and later for Pink Floyd. His life would be forever altered when, at the age of forty he was diagnosed with asperger¿s syndrome, a mild form of autism. Look Me In The Eye is much more than a memoir or biography-- Robison lifts the curtain and shines an unflinching light on life with asperger¿s syndrome. Well written and original, this heartfelt journey is a fascinating and entertaining read that will remain with the reader long after the book is returned to the shelf. Personally, I had only the briefest understanding of asperger's syndrome - however, this book has not only defined, with pinpoint accuracy the medical jargon, but the author allowed me a front row seat, with an unfiltered view of how his mind operates, the things that caused him difficulties and how he has learned to deal with each and made a comfortable life for himself and his family. Stunning! Happy Reading!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    There are so many books on the subject of Aspergers but not many written from someone who actually has it, which is what I LOVED about this. I can read the manuals and guides, but they never discuss why my son, who's on the spectrum, does some of the things he does. I found myself relating to so much of what John Elder discusses in his book and saying, 'Wow, my son does that, too.' and realizing that so much of what my child does is because of his ASD and not because he is trying to be difficult.

    I am thankful for the author's decision (and his brother's)to share his story with us. He has led a remarkable life and I hope he continues to share his numerous gifts with the rest of us!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Great Book!

    I bought this book because my eleven year old son has Asperger's Syndrome. I read it and then I let him read it. I wanted him to see that someone could live a "normal" life with Asperger's. We talked about the similarities that he shared with Mr. Robson. This book gave me a real insight into the mind of an Asperger's person. I highly recommend it for anyone who has an Asperger child, sibling or spouse. I've read other books about AS but you get a better understanding when you read something written by an actual AS person.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It gave me an idea of what someone with Asperger's goes through and how they think. The book never once seemed slow and was very entertaining. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about Aspergers and autism.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Eye Opening

    As a mother of an Aspergian, John's amazing recollect of childhood thought processes enlightened my understanding of my own child. Everyone must read this book!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I like this book. People who do not have such disorders cannot u

    I like this book. People who do not have such disorders cannot understand how it feels. I think Mr. Robinson did a great job describing it while making the book funny, sad and entertaining all at the same time. I admire him for his courage.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Insight book

    Great book, and as a person with this disorder/condition it was nice to finally read a book that made me understand myself and the disorder a lot better

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    UGH

    This book i have just finally stopped reading before the end. Absolutely dreadful. This book dragged on and on about what little brother could do wirhout understanding the reasoning behind it. Im sorry, i sont care who worked with Kiss and who made pyrotechnics for groups. I am very disappointed in this book. I wouldve liked to have heard more about his disease and not how many friggin guitars he exploded. I had to stop and il moving on to another book. I hate to do that but this crap was putting me to sleep.

    4 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Eye Opening

    Revealing account of what an Aspie goes through and thinks! Very helpful for anyone that has someone dear to them with Aspberger's. Would recommend highly, you may just find some of your own traits revealed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    WOW!

    Incredible book. Helped me me understand my niece. Very thought provoking. An amazing way to view the world -- the same world I live in, but from so differently.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great read

    So insightful...the characters are well-developed and intriguing. You leave this book with a deep respect for the author and his journey of self-awareness but also a desire to learn more about Asperger's. Very well written; I highly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I can relafe I Can Relate

    John Elder Robison writes one of the most enlightening memoirs the psychological community has seen in many a day. I have Asperger's myself, and when I first read this, I saw many parallels between myself and John Elder, including a substantial obstacle in interpersonal intetactions, a very pronounced inability to read and react to common social cues (e.g. eye contact, facial expressions, etc.) The key difference between the book and my own story is that I was raised with the proper diagnosis. Bearing that in mind, every school I ever attended did whatever it took to get me in contact with the world around me. I've come a long way since the day I discovered Iwas different from my peers. Nowadays, I have quite a few friends, and since we started college, we've stuck with each other through thick and thin, easy times and rough ones, and always been there for each other. Over time, I came to accept that I was different, and different is cool. John Elder, if you're reading this, I just want to thank you. Reading your memoir has really helped me get where I am today, and I've gotten to know myself way better. Plus, I like to read the funny, suspenseful, and entertaining stories interspersed throughout the book. Those made it difficult to put the book down! Keep up the good work!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I think I have some of this in me!

    The more I read of his life as an Aspergian the more often I think I find parts of him in myself. Imagine growing up with a different way of looking at life and not being able to explain yourself to others. His type of person wasn't even given a category in the DSM until he was out of school. His triumphal overcoming of the many disadvantages that he had are described, many of them not related to Asperger's. I don't want to say "his disease" because being different isn't always a disease. Early childhood can be terrible for those that don't react as the majority do nor understand what they are doing as well as why. Children learn how to react towards others from observing and copying others and maybe our society wants everyone to react the same way? How boring that would be. We all would be redundant, wouldn't we? At the same time, when someone asks you, "How are you?" they usually don't want to know but for an Aspergian, that isn't understood. So, they tell you and you politely run away and shun them. His unusual skills and intelligence helped him to survive but compassion and understanding from others finally helped him enjoy being alive. Read his life journey and marvel at his success.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Inspiring Autobiography

    Intense, funny, inspiring autobiography of a young man coming of age with Asperger's Syndrome. You can't possibly understand what goes on in the mind of someone with Asperger's Syndrome, if you are neuro-typical. The normal rules do not apply. But Robison describes the inner workings of his mind in a way that shows the incredible structure of an "Aspergian" mind. This is an excellent book for anyone trying to love and understand a loved one with Asperger's Syndrome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Loved this book!

    What an entertaining book! Though I don't know anyone with Aspergers, I do know a child who is austic. How wonderful to learn about this condition from someone who has it. Mr. Robinson's story is so interesting, he's living an amazing life. Thank you for taking us with you as you toured with KISS, to GA to your grandparents farm, on the many trips with Cubby, for introducing us to your parents and brother and for educating us about Aspergers. I'll read "Running with Scissors", next. This book is for anyone who enjoys a good, interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Great book

    I ended up buying it after reading it on here so I could pass it on to family members to read. Love it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11