BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Looking Glass Wars (Looking Glass Wars #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(340)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't put it down!!!

Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally differe...
Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally different, which makes it interesting. Supposedly, the story Lewis Carroll told was all wrong. Therefore it's Beddor's job to set the record strait. Wonderland isn't as wacky as we thought it was. In fact, it lots of ways, the Wonderlanders are even more sophisticated than humans. Unfortunately a civil war has broke out in Wonderland, and it seems family is killing family. I guess the reason why I liked this book so much was because it was out of the box. It told a different version of Alice in Wonderland but still told a fantastical story with interesting characters. Hope you give it a try!

posted by Meg0705 on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BORING

It had confusingwords and it is really boring.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put it down!!!

    Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally different, which makes it interesting. Supposedly, the story Lewis Carroll told was all wrong. Therefore it's Beddor's job to set the record strait. Wonderland isn't as wacky as we thought it was. In fact, it lots of ways, the Wonderlanders are even more sophisticated than humans. Unfortunately a civil war has broke out in Wonderland, and it seems family is killing family. I guess the reason why I liked this book so much was because it was out of the box. It told a different version of Alice in Wonderland but still told a fantastical story with interesting characters. Hope you give it a try!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Let your imagination run wild!

    I recently found this re-imagined version of "Alice in Wonderland" on the shelves of a local bookstore. I bought it on a whim, because I'd recently reread the Carroll version. It took me several weeks to actually pick up the book and begin it. Once I did, I couldn't put it down. I found myself in the depths of imagination. It's cleverly reconfigured the classic tale in a way I would never have thought.
    Alyss Heart is a care-free seven year old, when all she's ever known is ripped from her. Her ruthless Aunt Redd has come to reclaim her throne as ruler of Wonderland. In the process Alyss' parents are killed by Redd, and Alyss escapes with her bodyguard Hatter Madigan through the Pool of Tears into our world. Alyss and Hatter are seperated in the Pool of Tears. Hatter spends many years criss-crossing the globe in search of his lost princess. His hopes in finding her, so they can return to Wonderland and Alyss can reclaim her place as Queen of Wonderland.
    The re-imagining of Carroll's classic characters is intriguing and imaginative. The Cat, is Redd's assassin who can morph from a human bodied cat into an innocent looking kitten. The caterpillars are oracles. Hatter, the insanely mad tea party throwing character, instead is a blade wielding bodyguard for the royal family.
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, along with it's sequel "Seeing Redd" ... and can't wait for the third in the trilogy "ArchEnemy" to be released. Frank Beddor has unleashed his imagination and shared it with us. I would recommend these books to anyone who loved the original version and loves fantasy. The cover art, along with the artwork inside the books is also wickedly amazing. Enjoyed it all!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Looking Glass Wars Book #1

    If you like Alice in Wonderland this is an amazing read. It takes an alternate look at the original Alice in Wonderland. A kind of "What if?" book. If Wonderland really did exsist parallel to our world. It's creative and pulls you in. Great book for young adults and adults. It was amazingly easy to read, and so hard to put down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun take on a classic story

    Beddor's interpretation of Wonderland is an amazing world. He parallels our reality with the events in Wonderland, our industrial revolutions with their creations, our biggest wars with the civil war between the Hearts. Beddor really made 'the Red Queen' a true evil villain, and had an insightful take on the Mad Hatter. I only just completed reading the first in the trilogy, but I'm excited to get to the next two books. There is also a series following Hatter Madigan, and his adventures trying to find Alice once she disappears into Victorian England. Beyond being an enticing story, the artwork in both the Looking Glass Wars and the Hatter's stories is beautiful, and truly adds to the emotion of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    A.W.E.S.O.M.E!!!!!

    I love it!!!!!!! Such a great twist on a classic fairytale. I will read it again and again!!!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    BORING

    It had confusingwords and it is really boring.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Think you knew the tale of Alice? Think again!

    When reading this book it gets you hooked from the very first line and your never going to want to put it down until you've reached the end! This book has suspense, action, adventure, romance, anything genre that basically comes to mind! You will seriously be captivated by it till you reach the thrilling climax! Would recommend to THE WHOLE WORLD! This book is an A++, A 100 out of 10, its by far the best book I have ever read ((and believe me i've read many many MANY books)). Welcome to the REAL wonderland! Meet the REAL Alyss! =D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    HORRIBLE

    This book is the most boring i have ever read !!!!! When i started reading this book there was soooooooo much hype and i was shocked at how slow and boring it was not a good read at all p.s. if you have any comments or agree with me reply to Shanaynay

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    to awkwardly written.

    to awkwardly written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A tad cheesy, somewhat predictable but a whole lot of fun!

    I'm always down for updated takes on classic fairy tales, especially when they involve serious action and violence. The Looking Glass Wars is chalk full of potential, fusing the Alice in Wonderland we know with the historical Alice Liddell. Beddar takes the Wonderlandian characters with which we're familiar and tells their real story, because, apparently, Carroll got it all wrong. But so did Beddar. While I think the bare bones of the story were really clever, overall, the story was a bit childish for my liking. I sort of expected the silliness, because c'mon, it's Wonderland, but not to that degree. The book is highly imaginative so Beddar could've afforded to go a bit more futuristic with his tale. A steam-punk take on Alice would've been really appropriate here. The Looking Glass Wars is a tad too long, cheesy and somewhat predictable but it's undoubtedly fun. The violence and lessons learned here is reminiscent of Harry Potter, only lacking that special something. Beddar does a lot of telling and not enough showing. It's not that this was a bad book, per say, it just wasn't my cup of tea and I'd recommend it to a much younger crowd.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is basically the greatest thing that ever happened. I fell in love with the characters, the plot was smashingly imaginative, and it was very well-written. I don't really think I can explain to you how wonderful this book is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is amazing. My husband sent it to me while in basic and i would always read a chapter before bed. Since he does not live with me at my station of duty I decided to get it for the nook.

    Nook issue - starting on page 161 and forward parts of pages are missing.

    Thankfully for the first book its just a refresher but im sure would be annoying for any coming upon it for the first time. Hopefully they get this fixed soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Its okay.

    I likedvthis book at the beginning but then it got really boring and predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Great take on the stories of Alice and her wonderland

    I loved this story - If you love Alice in Wonderland, you will love this book and the others in he series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Good lead in but rushed at the end

    Overall a good read and an imaginative retelling of the story. The author does a good job of hooking you in and painting a lovely picture of wonderland for you. However, the last half of the book feels incredibly rushed. Between complete character personality makeovers, bouncing around the landscape with no sense of travel time, and viewed from the points of several characters, you find yourself saying "Yeah right..." -- I truly believe that an extra hundred pages dedicated to the whirlwind of the second half of the book would have done justice to evoke the WHOLE story the author intended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was an "eh" read for me. Everyone here seems to t

    This was an "eh" read for me. Everyone here seems to think it was amazing though... The concepts and twists of wonderland and its charcters in this story were great and very interesting. But reading the book, I felt everything about it was rushed. I don't know, something in this book just didn't keep me satisfied. So I ended up returning. A bit disappointed...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Amazing!

    I am a die-hard Alice in Wonderland fan. Anything and everything Alice, but when I purchased the 3 books in this series I was a skeptic because of the author. I am very judgemental and extremely hard to please most of the time but these books were the best I have ever read! These are instant classics! They brought out so much emotion! Heck if there were 6 stars these books would have gotten them from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Still Not Sure How I Feel About This Book...

    The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor is an interesting take on the Alice in Wonderland story. This interpretation contends that Alyss Heart, Princess of Wonderland, is the Alice of the Lewis Caroll story. When her evil Aunt Redd attacks and kills her parents, Alyss flees to the outside world. Separated from her escort and bodyguard, Hatter Madigan, Alyss finds herself an orphan in London who is eventually adopted by The Liddells. Her adoptive family dismisses Alyss' stories of her life in Wonderland as flights of fantasy. She gives up her memories of Wonderland when a family friend publishes her stories under the pen name Lewis Carroll. Alyss is hurt and angry because she feels her life has been trivialized and turned into a fairy tale. She becomes determined to be the ideal daughter and truly becomes Alice Liddell. She is set to marry Prince Leopold when a figure from her past arrives and brings her back to the ruins of the Wonderland where she grew up. Redd has destroyed the city and all those who support White Imagination, that of the former King and Queen. She and her followers practice Black Imagination, which is destructive and evil. In order to restore Wonderland to the peaceful land of her childhood, Alyss must learn to hone her imaginative skills and defeat her aunt.

    This book took a long time for me to read. I kept getting hung up comparing it to the original story. I was also distracted by the semblance to the real life story of Alice Liddell and the fabricated parts created for the character of Alice Liddell. In fact, at one point, I put the book down and left it for over a month. I read quite a few other books before I came back to finish it. However, I did come back to finish it. I enjoyed the adventure of the story, and the change and development of Alyss' character. It makes an interesting statement about how much is lost when imagination is discouraged. It furthers the statement with the power Alyss has once she begins to hone her imagination as an adult. The characters were interesting, particularly Alyss' childhood friend Dodge, but many of them were weakened by being based on characters in the original story. For example, Hatter Madigan may have appeared as a stronger hero figure if I weren't thinking of him as the Mad Hatter.

    I can't even decide if I liked this story or not. I'm not sure if I would have enjoyed it more if it hadn't been based on Lewis Carroll's Alice. Of course, being based on the famous work is part of what drew me to the book in the first place. I'll say this--The Looking Glass Wars is an interesting adventure filled with some familiar characters in a familiar land. Will I read the sequel, Seeing Redd: The Looking Glass Wars, Book Two? Probably, if I come across it on a book exchange site, but I won't be paying to download it.

    Follow my reviews at readerbarbara dot blogspot dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Refreshing twist on Alice in Wonderland

    I've never been a fan of Alice in Wonderland. The original Disney film and other adaptations of the story have always given me the impression that the story really had no point at all. It was bizarre. The Looking Glass Wars calmed down the strangeness of the world that Lewis Carroll created and made it seem less like a opium induced dream and more like a fantasy land that has real problems just like our own world. The characters are complex and easy to relate to, the plot keeps you guessing, and the humor of the story caught me offguard. It wasn't a challenging read by any means, but it was very enjoyable. I'm actually quite sad that this series is only 3 books long because I feel like there could be so much more to tell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sure..

    Yeah I just couldnt get into it, I mean sure Its an all new alice in wonderland,I get it..But umm yeah this book really let me down...I got so bored with it, and The only rason i even finished it was because i owed my teahcer a book report,on this terribly boring,book.And the way it was written was just sooo Blah.No excitement what so ever..so dont waste your time..really

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27