Customer Reviews for

The Looking Glass Wars (Looking Glass Wars #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(340)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't put it down!!!

Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally differe...
Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally different, which makes it interesting. Supposedly, the story Lewis Carroll told was all wrong. Therefore it's Beddor's job to set the record strait. Wonderland isn't as wacky as we thought it was. In fact, it lots of ways, the Wonderlanders are even more sophisticated than humans. Unfortunately a civil war has broke out in Wonderland, and it seems family is killing family. I guess the reason why I liked this book so much was because it was out of the box. It told a different version of Alice in Wonderland but still told a fantastical story with interesting characters. Hope you give it a try!

posted by Meg0705 on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was an "eh" read for me. Everyone here seems to t

This was an "eh" read for me. Everyone here seems to think it was amazing though... The concepts and twists of wonderland and its charcters in this story were great and very interesting. But reading the book, I felt everything about it was rushed. I don't know...
This was an "eh" read for me. Everyone here seems to think it was amazing though... The concepts and twists of wonderland and its charcters in this story were great and very interesting. But reading the book, I felt everything about it was rushed. I don't know, something in this book just didn't keep me satisfied. So I ended up returning. A bit disappointed...

posted by Mr_E58 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    finally

    ok im kind of a picky reader, if it dosnt have a good story i dont reed over 30 pages, i've read almost 400 books and this has to be one of the best i've read. although short i couldn't put this thing down, after finishing i had to find the second, now im praying to get the third for x-mass but heres hoping. xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    New twist on a classic

    I like the way Beddor took a childhood favorite and added a new twist. Almost a believable fantasy. The main character is also easily liked and you can't wait to see what happens next. I can't wait for the next book of the trilogy to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    I'm a BIG fan of Alice in Wonderland and so I was very interested in this book and when I started reading, I couldn't put it down. The visuals Frank Beddor creates are stunning, and it's well written. A crazy twist on an old classic always makes for a good read. Even people who aren't too familiar with the story of Alice will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Looking Glass Wars

    The Looking Glass Wars took a while to get into, I'm not going to lie, but once I was about a quarter of the way in, it was smooth reading. The problem is, while the pace picks up and more time is dedicated to storytelling, the time for character develpment is sadly lost, and some of the characters are not explored as in-depth as they should have been. All the connections to Alice in Wonderland are great, but you don't have to be a complete Wonderland Fan to understand and enjoy the story. The weird thing about this book is that, well, technically, it's an Alternate/Author's Universe Fanfic. It's good writing for the most part, though dense at times, but the story isn't as original as it could have been. Nevertheless, I did enjoy this unique new spin on things, as I am a complete sucker for fractured fairy tales. It was very interesting to see the original author now presented as a character in the story, very mind-blowing, but in an awesome way. My personal favorite was Dodge, and I can't wait to see where his story, along with Alyss's go in the next book.

    Rating: 4/5

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful, absolutely wonderful

    To the Carroll/Alice purists, don't read [...] as a tribute/spin-off/etc and you'll be fine. To the rest of you, enjoy.

    That said, let me say that I loved this book. I read Alice (Wonderland and Looking Glass) this past semester for a children's lit class so it was cool to approach this book with those stories so recently re-impressed on my mind. However, you definitely don't NEED those books close at hand to enjoy this book. In fact, as many Carroll lovers vehemently point out, this book is very different from the original Alice books. But then, if you want to get down to it, Beddor and the publisher make that quite clear...this is NOT the Alice you know. Lewis Carroll got it all wrong.

    That's not to say you won't find it interesting to have some Alice/Carroll knowledge hanging around. Beddor does a good job of showing us tidbits of "true" history in this story. He weaves in bits of Alice's and Carroll's history throughout the story. But it's not essential that you know what is "fact" and what is "fiction" in order to enjoy this.

    So, approach this book like you would any good adventure-fantasy book and prepare to be amazed. While his concepts are not entirely unique, Beddor does a great way of weaving them together in new and intriguing ways to weave together a great story. Some of the characters familiar to you from the earlier Alice books will be present, but they will take on exciting and interesting new roles. The world of Wonderland is a complex place will interesting rules and methods not present in Carroll's Wonderland.

    The thrust of the plot is a political power struggle and the war that results. Even then, the politics are fairly lightweight and don't detract from the other main plot. The other main plot is one that remains strangely true to the original Alice...the heart of that plot being Alyss' struggle for personal identity. Alyss is tossed into our non-wonderful world and finds herself mocked and misunderstood for her vivid imagination and wild stories about Wonderland. After a long time of struggling, her despair gets the better of her and she denies her previous self. (possible spoiler) When she gets back to Wonderland, she has to struggle with that identity of her past and rekindle her belief and sense of wonder in order to help win the war.

    The characters were great. The introspection with Alyss, particularly as we approach and climax at the final battle, is exquisitely drawn out. Hatter is a bit stoic for my taste, but believable. And I wanted a little more out of Dodge at the end of the book.

    All in all, I loved this and look forward to the next book in the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting sci-fi take on a classic

    recommended to me by a coworker in the bookstore I work at, I checked it out at the library and really enjoyed it. The imagery is so fantastic I'm dying to read the graphic novel to get a clearer picture of what the fantastic creatures and weapons look like. A bit too intense for younger readers, teens and fans of fantasy will enjoy this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great!!!

    My friend read the book and loved it! I too found myself unable to put it down. All in all I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a more intense version of Alice in Wonderland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Superb!

    Very well written. Frank Beddor took a wonderful childrens satire and turned it into a marvelous fantasy fiction novel. For those who love history this book's parralels to our world's historical events will be a nice addition to Beddor's story. For those who don't know much about the hidden history in Looking Glass Wars, it will just be an awesome story of war, love and power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderland Revamped

    Wonderland is real, and not the frivolous world written about by Lewis Carroll. Alyss Hart is heir to the Wonderland throne, but on her seventh birthday Alyss¿s aunt, Redd, steals the crown. Alyss escapes through the Pool of Tears to Earth, where no one believes that she is Princess Alyss. Eventually Alyss becomes accustomed to her new life, but destiny has other plans. She must return to Wonderland and over throw Queen Redd. Wow. This is a beautiful re-imagining of Wonderland with rich characters and an interesting plot. I can¿t wait to read the next book in the trilogy. Definitely recommend for anyone who enjoys fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Pretty Darn Good

    This is one of the better books I have read in a while. It is very discriptive and ,at times, gripping. The way the author has taken a timeless classic and remade it into a complex battle between Alyss and Redd creates a whole new outlook on the fantasy Lewis Carol wrote long ago. This a good book for those who enjoy medium levels of magic and fantasy. My favorite character is Hatter Madigan, Alyss's ever-faithful friend and bodyguard. Best for ages 11-14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    Magical & Whimsical!

    This book was everything I thought it would be. I've always loved the story of Alice, but this certainly put a new spin on things! Both dark and bright at times, I would recommend this book to anyone in need of an excellent fantasy. Beddor is a terrific storyteller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    Excellent book

    I am an elementary school teacher and I really enjoyed this book. I felt it could have used some more intricate details with scenery and characters, but it was fast paced and an excellent plot. Some scenes could have been longer, but I really enjoyed it. I may have enjoyed it a little bit more, as a preteeen. However, I would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Not Just a Deck of Cards

    This is one of the best alternate versions of the Alice stories that I have read. THe minute you start reading it is hard to put it down. It tells the 'true' store of Alyss and how her life storiy was butchered by Lewis Carrol all because he did not believe her. Even though it is a children's books I would recommend it to adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    Very Good

    Despite it being a childrens book, I enjoyed it. Very different from the original Alice In wonderland story. A very easy read at that. Chapters are only three to four pages long. I recomend it for a short and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6