Customer Reviews for

The Looking Glass Wars (Looking Glass Wars #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(341)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't put it down!!!

Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally differe...
Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally different, which makes it interesting. Supposedly, the story Lewis Carroll told was all wrong. Therefore it's Beddor's job to set the record strait. Wonderland isn't as wacky as we thought it was. In fact, it lots of ways, the Wonderlanders are even more sophisticated than humans. Unfortunately a civil war has broke out in Wonderland, and it seems family is killing family. I guess the reason why I liked this book so much was because it was out of the box. It told a different version of Alice in Wonderland but still told a fantastical story with interesting characters. Hope you give it a try!

posted by Meg0705 on April 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BORING

It had confusingwords and it is really boring.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 341 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put it down!!!

    Personally, I've always been a little freaked out by Alice in Wonderland. But with the new movie coming out, I thought I would read something similar. That's when I came across this book! While it is like the original in lots of ways, it's completely and totally different, which makes it interesting. Supposedly, the story Lewis Carroll told was all wrong. Therefore it's Beddor's job to set the record strait. Wonderland isn't as wacky as we thought it was. In fact, it lots of ways, the Wonderlanders are even more sophisticated than humans. Unfortunately a civil war has broke out in Wonderland, and it seems family is killing family. I guess the reason why I liked this book so much was because it was out of the box. It told a different version of Alice in Wonderland but still told a fantastical story with interesting characters. Hope you give it a try!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Looking Glass Wars Book #1

    If you like Alice in Wonderland this is an amazing read. It takes an alternate look at the original Alice in Wonderland. A kind of "What if?" book. If Wonderland really did exsist parallel to our world. It's creative and pulls you in. Great book for young adults and adults. It was amazingly easy to read, and so hard to put down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun take on a classic story

    Beddor's interpretation of Wonderland is an amazing world. He parallels our reality with the events in Wonderland, our industrial revolutions with their creations, our biggest wars with the civil war between the Hearts. Beddor really made 'the Red Queen' a true evil villain, and had an insightful take on the Mad Hatter. I only just completed reading the first in the trilogy, but I'm excited to get to the next two books. There is also a series following Hatter Madigan, and his adventures trying to find Alice once she disappears into Victorian England. Beyond being an enticing story, the artwork in both the Looking Glass Wars and the Hatter's stories is beautiful, and truly adds to the emotion of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    A.W.E.S.O.M.E!!!!!

    I love it!!!!!!! Such a great twist on a classic fairytale. I will read it again and again!!!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Think you knew the tale of Alice? Think again!

    When reading this book it gets you hooked from the very first line and your never going to want to put it down until you've reached the end! This book has suspense, action, adventure, romance, anything genre that basically comes to mind! You will seriously be captivated by it till you reach the thrilling climax! Would recommend to THE WHOLE WORLD! This book is an A++, A 100 out of 10, its by far the best book I have ever read ((and believe me i've read many many MANY books)). Welcome to the REAL wonderland! Meet the REAL Alyss! =D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is basically the greatest thing that ever happened. I fell in love with the characters, the plot was smashingly imaginative, and it was very well-written. I don't really think I can explain to you how wonderful this book is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Amazing!

    I am a die-hard Alice in Wonderland fan. Anything and everything Alice, but when I purchased the 3 books in this series I was a skeptic because of the author. I am very judgemental and extremely hard to please most of the time but these books were the best I have ever read! These are instant classics! They brought out so much emotion! Heck if there were 6 stars these books would have gotten them from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Refreshing twist on Alice in Wonderland

    I've never been a fan of Alice in Wonderland. The original Disney film and other adaptations of the story have always given me the impression that the story really had no point at all. It was bizarre. The Looking Glass Wars calmed down the strangeness of the world that Lewis Carroll created and made it seem less like a opium induced dream and more like a fantasy land that has real problems just like our own world. The characters are complex and easy to relate to, the plot keeps you guessing, and the humor of the story caught me offguard. It wasn't a challenging read by any means, but it was very enjoyable. I'm actually quite sad that this series is only 3 books long because I feel like there could be so much more to tell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Looking Glass Wars

    An amazing novel about what really happened to Alyss heart!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To all readers alike! Hear ye! Hear ye!

    As a 13 yearold boy,I mostly enjoyed the book for the action, drama, and overall excitement. Younger readers than I will enjoy the books facinating array of characters, and the excellent plot.Older readers will enjoy the twist on the classic tale, Alice in Wonderland, that we all know and love from your childhood. They will also enjoy the action and hidden romance, makeing it one of the best books I ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2015

    I loved this book!

    I loved it, but I don't really like how Dodge changed throughout the book. I only liked him when he was still young I also didn't like the parts when Alyss was not in Wonderland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Question from Supernatural_Fanatic

    I read this in 8th grade(last year) and got I think almost halfway through. I bought it awhile ago on Nook. I've been reading it and I was wondering, should I get the second and third books? Would you recommend them to a ninth grader? Thanks in advanced!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I BEG YOU TO READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book might be long to some, but it is worth reading! I am in a book club. My mother told me that our next book would be The Looking Glass Wars. I was hesitant to read this novel. After reading the first part, I was hooked. There ar three parts to this novel, each about 100 pages. This page-flipping tale left me eager to read the next chapter. Do not hesitate to read this book. I hope this review helped you.
    - a girl that loves to read
    P.S. Any questions? Respond to #superreader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Looking Glass Wars is a new take on the Lewis Carroll books

    The Looking Glass Wars is a new take on the Lewis Carroll books Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass.  In this series princess Alyss is training and is destined to have the strongest imagination in the family. Imagination is how the people in Wonderland use to fight against bad guys like her Aunt Redd. They also use imagination for other menial things.




    The Looking Glass War is a very creative series.  I love how they tied in the real life people of the original Alice in Wonderland. Alyss gets lost in the real world, adopted by the Liddells she loses her imagination and begins to believe that there is no Wonderland until... she is found again many years later. 




    I can not think of anything I disliked about this first book in a series. I loved the new twist on old characters and some new characters as well.




    I really like this start of the series I don’t know why left it on my shelf to read for so long.  I also have the next book Seeing Redd and I will be reading it.  It is a good Young Adult book with much action.  You can also read it without have read the original books by Carroll.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Cool hdxdj

    cwhzbjhbnbswd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Love it.

    At the start of the series, I thought that it would be like the books Storybound and Story's End, a half-decent first book with a sequal that was just trash.<br>I was totally wrong.<br>This book. Was. Awesome.<br>Hatter Madigan (he's supposed to fill in the role of the Mad Hatter) was really cool. Le Monstre and all that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    This book was confusing at the beginning because i thought it w

    This book was confusing at the beginning because i thought it was going to be like the other book and like the movie but it is way more interesting than i could imagine it to be. i liked the constant action ad transitions between wonderland and the real world. This book is like a movie inside of itself i would recommend this book to anyone looking for a very visual acton book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Loved this book.

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has a love for
    Alice In Wonderland. Frank Beddor does a wonderful job putting a
    twist on such a classic story. You still get the odd characters but
    in a totally different way. It's not often a book drags me in after
    only the first ten pages but The Looking Glass Wars did just that.
    I couldn't put it down and was somewhat disappointed I finished it
    in just three days. But I enjoyed it so much I immediately bought
    the second book "Seeing Red".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Its awsome

    I llove it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Amazing

    It is a great book rhat has lots of action and plenty of thrilling turnd on every page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 341 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18