Customer Reviews for

Looking for Lincoln: The Making of an American Icon

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    Absolutely remarkable.

    Perhaps the most remarkable Abraham Lincoln coffee table-style book since, well, Kunhardt's last book in the mid 1990s. A visual feast, the wide breadth of images is astounding. You'll be lost for hours with this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    This is one of the best Lincoln books I have seen in years. The photographs and images blew me away, with many being published for the first time. I have been reading about Lincoln since I was a young child, yet I found plenty in this book that was new. The reader gets a real sense in this book and I got a better understanding of Robert Lincoln. All I can say about this book is Wow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "looking for lincoln" review

    i've read many books on lincoln and this is simply one of the best.
    the text- narrative- matches the supurb pictures in a loving- scholarly work that only the kundhardts could produce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Everyone interested in Linoln and history. The pictures, newspaper articles and personal accounts make wonderful contributions.

    I had looked at the book previously. When I had heard the author, Peter Kunhardt, on a book interview over WI Public Radio Station my interest was sparked. This book contains the "Kunhardt" family generational history of Lincoln beginning with pictures, combined with research. The writting of the book has been sectioned with history combined with the pictures to make the non-research reader interested, informed and wanting to know more. I have enjoyed the personal accounts of people and newspaper articles during the time of Lincoln. It refeshes the history and story of Linoln including the American people up to about 1925.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Looking for Lincoln is Just Plain Engrossing!

    While it may be classified as a "coffe-table book," Looking for Lincoln is an especially enriching book that sure's to become a gift this year during graduation, father's day, and the Holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Abraham Lincoln The Person Beyond The Myths

    Up until now, I have never read anything about Abraham Lincoln at all. I have always wanted to, but, always seemed intimidated by the subject matter. So much has been written about Lincoln I could not figure out where a good starting point would be, but, being a reader and writer myself, I read the book "Lincoln; The Biography Of A Writer" and thought that would be a good place to start and it was. I had seen the book "Looking For Lincoln" in the book stores, but, felt it was just another "opinion" of what this particular person felt that Lincoln was as a political figure in our history. The part he played in building America into the country it is today. But, as I started exploring the text, I found it much more fasinating since the book is not done from a political angle, but, more as a family history type of approach, which seemed to make Lincoln more of a person for me than a political myth. I love to read and learn about history and this book is a good historical account of the person and the times in which he lived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Looking for Lincoln and I Found Him

    As a big Lincoln fan, and one who has read many biographies of his life, I recommend this book for anyone who is the same. It has absolutely wonderful pictures - a lot I'd never seen before - but also some great historical information regarding the period of time after Lincoln's death. Stuff you don't normally read in a biography of his life. Along with all the illustrations, the book is full of how the country felt (both South and North) upon his assasination, what happened to the characters involved in his life, the papers and other artifacts surrounding him, and on and on. It's a good read but I bought it for the pictures and I wasn't disappointed. It would make a great gift for a Lincoln fan and a good book to have in your own library. It's not dull with details (the pictures keep it interesting all the way through) but it's also not one of the "just the facts" books. It would make for some good conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2