Customer Reviews for

Looking for Peyton Place

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Modern Classic

    I loved this book so much that I have it both in hard cover and on my Nook. Compelling characters, fascinating story, great pacing. Highly recommended for chick lit readers, romance readers, book clubs. I am a fan of Ms. Delinsky, and this, along with "The Summer I Dared" are my two absolute favorites of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    A good read

    I found this title to be a good read. A great capture of small town drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    A NEAR excellent Book

    I love Barbara Delinsky's books. I did enjoy this book, but did not find all of the references to Grace and the diaglogues with Grace at all beneficial. The storyline itself was excellent and did not need all of the Grace baggage. I wondered if Grace was at some point an inspiration to Barbara Delinsky and this was her way of honoring her. In any case, the book was great but all of the Grace material was so unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Could not put it down!

    I loved this book! It was a great story filled with mystery and intrigue and strong women characters. Now I want to read the original Peyton Place! I was very sad when the book was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    Enjoyed it start to finish.

    Anyone who has ever lived in a small town can identify with the characters.....they are all there, the good, the bad and the heroes and heroines. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Another great story by this wonderful author

    Though it took me awhile to get into the story, unlike most of her books, once I did, I couldn't put it down. Although the outcome may be predictable, you can't wait to read the plot's twists and turns, and was sad to finish it.....like losing a 'friend'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    A big disappointment

    I have to agree with 'Don't waste your time' reading this book. There were definitely too many references to Grace & Peyton Place. I tried four times to get into this book, renewed it three times but just couldn't get away from the feeling that it was already written. I grew up in Rye, NH where Grace often visited during the summer & saw her walking on the beach. I believe Peyton Place belonged to her and her only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Another moving and fine work of art by Barbara Delinsky!

    I read 'Looking for Peyton Place in three days and enjoyed every bit of it. The story plot kept me turning the pages striving for more mystery. The characters of Annie, Kaitlin, James, Tom and Greg were well developed and complimented the plot. Middle River could have been the town where I grew up and I can place a lot of the characters in this story with people I grew up with. Good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Save time and skip this book.

    When I see a new Barbara Delinsky title, I can not wait to read it. In particular, this one seemed just what I was looking for because I am arguing with my pediatrician about giving my daughter the MMR shot now, as opposed towhen she is 5 and must have it for school. What a disappointment! I forced myself to get through this book. Too many Grace and Peyton Place references, too many references to Annie's other self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fabulous mainstream women┬┐s fiction book

    Middle River is the New England town that Grace Metalious¿ novel Peyton Place was based on. Middle River looks quaint and wholesome, but people have secrets would ruin them if they get out. It is a company town and Sandy Meade owns the Northwood Paper Mill that employs most of the townsfolk so people are very reluctant to talk about the wrongdoing of Sandy and his son Aidan...................... When Annie Barnes, a famous writer, thinks about her mother¿s death, she isn¿t sure that the official verdict tells the whole story. She returns to Middle River where she sees Phoebe have the same symptoms that her mother had. After doing some research, she thinks that they and other villagers suffer from mercury poison. The only place in town that uses mercury is the paper plant. The Meades try to turn the townsfolk against her and run her out of town before she learns what they are trying so desperately to hide. Making matters worse is that Annie falls for James Meade who refuses to tell her what he knows about his family and the possibility of mercury poisoning afflicting the people of Middle River............................ The best part of reading a Barbara Delinsky book is that she never tells the same story twice and she imbues her storyline with a relevant social issue. LOOKING FOR PEYTON PLACE is a fabulous mainstream women¿s fiction book focusing on a spunky protagonist. Annie is determined to find out what is wrong in her town because she doesn¿t want to lose her sister or have other innocent people fall ill or die. Ms. Delinsky puts her heart into her work........................ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1