Customer Reviews for

Loose

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Diverse and Vocally Appealing

    I'd always known of Nelly Furtado by the song "I'm Like a Bird", her voice was distinct even with that song but still very pop-ish. When Promiscous was released two years ago everyone was talking it so much that it warranted a lisen. But that is truly not the gem of this album, Nelly distinct vocals are highlighted in Afraid, Wait For You and All Good Things. What stands out more in this album are the lyrics, particularly so for songs like "Afraid". Yes Nelly Furtado has gone hip hop but a majority of the album is also true to her old style, like "In Gods Hands", a song I probably wouldn't have given the time of day to were it not for her vocals. This is certainly an album to buy for anyone who appreciates excellent music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I absolutely love every single track on this CD. It's amazing. Half the tracks are great to dance to and the other half are great to relax to. I wasn't sure what to expect when I first bought this CD because I mostly listen to alternative rock. I turns out to be one of my top five. I would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "listening from afar"

    This is an awesome cd it id great my favoreite song is all good things (come to an end),and do it nelly furtado is inspriational. i think she is the best and does awesome music. keep singing nelly i will always be a fan from the start to the end!!!!!!!!!!!!11111

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nelly Furtado Is Awesome.

    I love Nelly Furtado, I first found out about her when she first came out in 2001 with her hit "I'm Like a Bird." This cd blows that one away, I love this album. This is her best album yet alot of the songs on this album are awsome. I can't stop listening to this album. If you buy it you won't be dissappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    an amazing - and surprising - release

    Nelly Furtado has had a steady fanbase since she dropped onto the charts with "I'm Like a Bird" way back in 2000. Her last album, Folklore, I believe tanked due to the falling out of the record label that pressed it. But with Loose, Nelly is ready for a whole new game. Miss Furtado's third studio album is a triumph. I was crushed when I saw that she wasn't nominated for a single grammy and Justin Timberlake was nominated for several. Irregardless, this release is particularly under-rated as it is. There are the obvious hits, the rap-driven "Promiscuous" that you've heard unless you've been living under a rock, the driving-thumping beat of "Maneater", but there are some hidden gems here as well. Tracks like the sensual "Showtime" and the ballad "In God's Hands" would fit neatly into either of her previous efforts. But some of the best tracks on here haven't been talked about nearly as much. The spanish/portugese reggaeton track "No Hay Igual" makes Shakira and Rihanna look like amateurs. "Do It" evokes some of Madonna's earlier work, and the latest single "Say It Right" is my favorite track on the album. As I'm writing this review, it's #6 on Billboard's Hot 100. There may be hope yet for the music listening community. Who cares if she isn't running around all serious with a guitar anymore? Her star has never shone brighter than with the club beats and sassy videos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    sweet job, Nelly

    This is an awesome cd... she does a great duet with timbaland on promiscous.. i loved it and i would buy the cd a thousand times over...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    nellie what happened!!!

    I bought this cd because I loved her other cd, but I was very disappointed and wished I didnt buy it.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    [3.5]--"Loose" is a melting pot of tunes.

    I didn't know what to expect from this album. I heard a few of Nelly’s songs in the past and of course the hit, "Promiscuous." After hearing this album I grew fond of some sounds that were incorporated into this album. Nelly obviously has a genuine love for music of all kinds, some of the varied styles she attempts contrives of hip-hop, 80's retro, and electro-soul just to name a few. Timbaland as a collaborator, and she lets him shine for the first half of the record, as they get the party pumping. Then on the second half of the record, Nelly shows us her vintage side. "Afraid," "Maneater (particularly)," and "Promiscuous," are great. These tracks boast Furtado's conversion by giving us some catchy, up tempo, infectious dance floor beats. “Do It” sounds like Madonna's Burning Up, and there are some '80s-like sounds within the album. "No Hay Igual," is good she blends reggaeton and M.I.A. into this track. Latin pop ballad "Te Busque," is really nice I also like the Spanish version to it. “Showtime" and "All Things (Come To An End) are all great as well. If I had one complaint about this album is that the beat is so strong on some tracks that they overpower her vocals, but she makes up for it on the slower tracks. ‘Loose’ is the kind of album which is set to widen Nelly's fan base and introduce people to the rest of her work. The album is worth checking out, it’s wicked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantasically Fun

    Te Busque (spanish version) is my favorite song off this album, which is infectious and fun. I found myself bopping along to the music. It makes me wish I had a convertible and a long road trip ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just plain fun!

    This album is definetely her most fun and upbeat album to date. Anytime she releases an album it's like a breath of fresh air onto the music scene, so different and diverse. She's one of the most versatile and talented arists out there and I hope that when Grammys and AMA's roll around we will be hearing her name called!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Album!!! Every Track!!!

    This album is amazing. Nelly and Timbaland are meant for each other. Many of the tracks have an experimental feel, yet they sound great. For instance, on "Do It" and "Glow", there is a early 90's feel to the song yet it is a great song, and could petentially be the next single. Timbaland does a wonderful production job on this. They combine for uptempo, slow, international, etc. type songs, and there is not one miss on the entire album. This is how music should sound. These songs can be played anywhere: clubs, radio, anywhere, and it will entertain the listener. I thoroughly recommend this album to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Why? Why does she still have a record deal?

    Just as many no-talent, overrated "artists" have done, Furtado has gone to the hip-hop genre to try to resusitate an already dead career. Despite what Timbaland may have to offer as a producer, Furtado has no vocal range, VERY limited "talent", and does more talking and alleged rapping on this effort than actual singing, which, in reality, is a good thing it has kept many dogs ears from bleeding! She is to be dismissed as nothing more than what she is...... vocally limited, ethnically confused,...and un-deserving of still having a record deal. Do not waste your time with this....it deserves NO STARS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Get This!

    You want the perfect album to listen to this summer? Pop this in your car stereo and take a drive. You'll be singin, bobbin, and just grooving to this album. Nelly Furtado is immensely talented and versatile. There's a bit of everything on this album. Club tracks, radio hits, old-skool sound, reggaton, latin, ballads....it's awesome...so hear Nelly like never before, although she sounds anything but new to this, she's a pro. Check out her earlier stuff as well. 1st album is a classic(don't expect to hear anything else that sounds like 'I'm Like a Bird'). Folklore is different but great. Also highly recommeded is seeing her in a live performance. I've seen her three times and she'll blow you away. No lip-synching that's for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Summer Tunes

    I love this album, it has great songs to listen in the summer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1