BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and t

A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and this one really touched me.

posted by David_Bremmerton on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Um. WHAT.

Although this memoir is explicitly provocative... it's hard to sympathize with Cohen's "journey" against temptation and promiscuity. Does it take THAT many men to conclude, 'Since my partners keep taking sex without emotional security maybe I should change my methodolog...
Although this memoir is explicitly provocative... it's hard to sympathize with Cohen's "journey" against temptation and promiscuity. Does it take THAT many men to conclude, 'Since my partners keep taking sex without emotional security maybe I should change my methodology'? Disgust is an understatement for how I feel about this memoir. It confounds me that HPV and scabies scares weren't "enough" for a rude awakening... in fact the kudos went to a man. Go figure. Cohen had to finish her "memoir" with the realization that things would be okay after a man holds her in bed and emotionally reassures her. Of course you would add that in there Cohen. You got what you wanted. Someone to tell you that everything will be okay because you weren't confident to come to that realization on your own. How can you justify saying that no one stepped into be your hero when 98% of your book talks about how you kept sleeping around with total strangers for love?? Then you support the last 5 pages by rushing this sudden epiphany that you're content with not being great with relationships but you may be good enough??? You never were in one to even gain credibility for readers to agree with you.

Overall Cohen is honest, I give her that. However reading her story made me feel like she put herself on a pedestal thinking that all men want her. Men are NOT that dense. They have feelings and standards, so Cohen can't victimize herself for how lonely she felt. She set herself up for failure... I'm sure the authors reputation was tarnished growing up... and there should have been more emphasis on how the public judged her. That obvious social behavior was never mentioned in this book. She just slept around and got away with it. Loose Girl is a fitting title because there was no tragic tale, biological malfunction to excuse her slutty behavior. I feel sorry for her sons who may one day discover their mother's sexual "escapade" before conceiving them. I would be scarred for life if I were them. I'm going to Lysol my eyes now. Have a nice day.

posted by TheSwt3stCyn on December 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and t

    A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and this one really touched me.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Um. WHAT.

    Although this memoir is explicitly provocative... it's hard to sympathize with Cohen's "journey" against temptation and promiscuity. Does it take THAT many men to conclude, 'Since my partners keep taking sex without emotional security maybe I should change my methodology'? Disgust is an understatement for how I feel about this memoir. It confounds me that HPV and scabies scares weren't "enough" for a rude awakening... in fact the kudos went to a man. Go figure. Cohen had to finish her "memoir" with the realization that things would be okay after a man holds her in bed and emotionally reassures her. Of course you would add that in there Cohen. You got what you wanted. Someone to tell you that everything will be okay because you weren't confident to come to that realization on your own. How can you justify saying that no one stepped into be your hero when 98% of your book talks about how you kept sleeping around with total strangers for love?? Then you support the last 5 pages by rushing this sudden epiphany that you're content with not being great with relationships but you may be good enough??? You never were in one to even gain credibility for readers to agree with you.

    Overall Cohen is honest, I give her that. However reading her story made me feel like she put herself on a pedestal thinking that all men want her. Men are NOT that dense. They have feelings and standards, so Cohen can't victimize herself for how lonely she felt. She set herself up for failure... I'm sure the authors reputation was tarnished growing up... and there should have been more emphasis on how the public judged her. That obvious social behavior was never mentioned in this book. She just slept around and got away with it. Loose Girl is a fitting title because there was no tragic tale, biological malfunction to excuse her slutty behavior. I feel sorry for her sons who may one day discover their mother's sexual "escapade" before conceiving them. I would be scarred for life if I were them. I'm going to Lysol my eyes now. Have a nice day.

    14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderfully written book. Very "real". No fluff. The

    A wonderfully written book. Very "real". No fluff. The truth can be shocking, and it is here in this very raw story of growing up "loose" - and what caused this. Five stars!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an exceptional book. What causes teen girls to stray dow

    This is an exceptional book. What causes teen girls to stray down a bad path? This is that story. I highly recommend this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I read a lot of self help and psychological books to broaden my understanding and learn something. I was interested to give loose girl a try and was not disappointed

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Pathetic in one dimension

    bought this book when intrigued by it's title and first few pages. That's where the magic ended. When you start it off, you feel like the main character is going to draw wisdom form her experiences and come to some mighty conclusion that would explain why she does the things she does. Sadly, that never comes. But every few paragraphs she tells you exactly what the main point of her story is: she had sex with anyone and everyone because she wanted someone to love her. Every new male character who comes in acts out the same part. He comes in, she tackles him, they screw, she gets attached, he brushes her aside, and she whines for a good three pages about how much her childhood sucked. When I finished the book, I sat miserably mulling over why I bothered to buy this book and waste three hours of my time reading it. The main character is one-dimensional and pathetic throughout the novel and represents an embarrassing idea of the way a woman should be. My advice, get a friend vastly less intelligent than yourself and have them buy it. You can borrow it, see what trash it is and feel very proud of yourself for saving $20 of your hard earned cash. And you can buy some actual literature with the money you've saved, that will a have a plot, a well developed character, and message.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    An engaging and intimate memoir

    In 'Loose Girl', Kerry Cohen has written a memoir of startling clarity and unblinking honesty. So often, memoir has proven to be a vehicle for proselytization or even vindication, but Cohen resists the temptation to assign blame or explain away the personal impulses that drove her to reckless behaviors and a pattern of promiscuity and heartbreak. Instead she is straightforward and clear, exploring her own weaknesses and her dysfunctional quest for love and intimacy through unrewarding physical relationships. Cohen's writing style is engaging and intimate. She writes about her sexual encounters with a real sense of presence, and when she falls into familiar patterns of behavior, the reader shares her stumbles with genuine pain. Parts of 'Loose Girl' can be difficult to read, in the very best ways that a memoir can challenge a reader, and Cohen doesn't sugarcoat her experiences or attempt to explain away her behaviors. In her memoir, Kerry Cohen displays an addictive personality, but she also possesses keen self-awareness and a burning 'and often heartbreaking' commitment to change. 'This time will be different,' she seems to say, over and over, and it is on the strength of her writing that we hope right along with her every time. The pain that she feels when old patterns reassert themselves becomes visceral. The book ends not with false epiphany or some kind of phony life change, but rather with a quiet sense of hopefulness and the feeling, perhaps no more than a whispered and fragile promise, that even the most broken of us can find happiness and perhaps even a measure of peace. 'Loose Girl' is ultimately a story of quiet personal redemption, and I recommend it without reservation.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Well,

    If you dont understand addiction dont read this book. She was dealing with a sexual addiction, which can be as difficult as drug addiction. For the people that dont understand addiction or that DONT have an open mind, this book will totally suck to you. Her past is her past, & she tells how she got to her present. In my opinion, she should have gone to SAA instead of done it by herself, but then again thats what therapy can help with.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Looks good but it is not

    I have to say I baught this book because I figured it would go more in depth about how she felt and maybe just maybe that she felt shameful about how she acted but she didnt. I didnt get anything from this book. It is basically just her talking about how many sexual partners she's been with and blah blah....maybe I didnt go into it with the right "attitude" but it is deff on my list of "waste of time" books. Read it and see for yourself, maybe I just didnt "get it".

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Loved It!

    I didnt want it to end! I can relate alot to this, maybe thats why I enjoyed it so much. It kept my interest for most the time. I think in between her "hook ups" she could have writen maybe something to kind of break it up a little...it seemed repetitive in some parts. I get it, its about her having all these partners, but doesnt she have anything else going on in her life? I recommend this to any woman really. Even if you cant identify...I think alot of the things she writes about, we can all relate to in some way. I plan on reading her other books as well.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a Very Helpful Memoir

    I personally loved the book. I got a little emotional to certain parts in the book because I've either dealt with the pain or experienced the same thing in my life. The book has this sort of guidence that says something about mostly all the girls who are going through the same addiction. Its hard to find that special someone especially at a young age because you long, wait, & want that someone to love & take the pain away. Also, hoping that someone can save you from yourself. Kerry Cohen explains so much of the hardships of her bad relationships with her parents to her unyielding sexual urges towards men. I recommend Loose Girl to all the teenage girls, who are giving into men with sex because it makes them feel loved even if only for a minute in their life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Interesting Read

    I really enjoyed Kerry Cohen's story because it was fascinating to read about something that is so taboo and shameful to most people. For that reason, I suggest picking up a copy of this book. However, I wish the author would have gone into greater detail about her recovery. The book went from two extremes: her need for attention and her newfound life. The story did not outline her road to recovery; rather it was almost as if she had an epiphany and decided to change, and I don't buy that. I felt as though she could have put forth more thought and emotion than she did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Vary absorbing novel. Well done.

    If I wrote a memoir, it would be this book cover to cover. That being said, this novel touched me on a very deep level. What made this novel unique compared to most other ones I have read is that it does not take on the whiney feeling usually associated with those who have been through traumatic experiences. The author takes you into the story very objectively. This is what happened to me. This is the psychological result of those events. This is how I dealt with it.

    The only part of the story that was lacking was the end. There is a great build up as to how is she going to overcome her obstacles with men. Instead of explaining her transition into healthy living thoroughly, it just sort of happens. The reader is left in a daze wondering what happened. The rest of the book definitely makes up for the ending. Quick read.

    If you know someone that has gone through a battle with abuse from men or is acting out, this novel is a great eye opener. Sometimes we need to see ourselves in other people to really understand who we are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loose Girl: Thank You Kerry

    The ending is not profoundly amazing if you read the inside book jacket about the author first. However, the detailed memories will bring you back to your own youth and make you reconsider your role and ability as an adult to help young women who may be venturing down a similar path. Perhaps, this book is a way to initiate that much needed discussion. Not a book for everyone, but a must read for any young woman who can relate. If you saved your virginity until after marriage, steer clear.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    The good and the bad

    Loose Girl brought up old pain for me. It was easy for me to empathize with Kerry, because I know her struggle. I know the confusion of knowing I am smart and generally good, yet feeling completely worthless in the eyes of boys. I know the pain of being passed over for attention, wondering what the boys are seeing in my friends that I don't seem to have. Why this was so important to me, I don't know, but it was. I, too, have a father who is sweet, giving, and who I know loves me. Yet, he was distant, never venturing beyond "how's your car running?" He always summoned my mother when he sensed I was upset. He never gave me advice about boys. I wonder whether it would have made a difference if he had. Kerry presents her father in the same way, describing him through her eyes, yet never explicitly blaming him for her emotional pain and emptiness. Kerry seems to have been caught in a place where many of us reside - not overtly mentally ill, yet not healthy, either. She's suffering inside, yet she plods along with her life, constantly seeking to fill that place of unrest inside of her. People in her emotional place seek relief in many ways - alcohol, food, drugs to name a few, they may suffer in silence, withdrawing more with time, or they may get lucky and resolve their pain in a healthy way. That her pain was channeled the way it was does not make her "slutty" or otherwise bad, as suggested in some of the reviews of the less empathic readers. These judgments constitute a signficant contributor to her pain, because not only does she get no support from those around her over the years, she also judges herself. She is utterly disgusted with herself. She hates her behavior. Her pain is real, palpable. Why doesn't she learn from her mistakes when she gets hurt over and over again? Because what she thought would fill the need - a relationship - doesn't, and it throws her for a loop. Her first relationship made her feel more dead inside than her sexual escapades, so she goes back to the only behavior that offered her relief from her pain. She doesn't realize at the time that the pain results from her parents' mistakes and her failure to thrive emotionally as a result. She doesn't lack morals - if she did, she wouldn't have experienced the guilt and disgust and self-loathing along the way. This is the same mechanism as an addict who starts stealing to support her habit when she otherwise would never have stolen a thing. So why do I give this book three stars? I think Kerry could have done a better job of soliciting her readers' empathy. It was only because I've been where she was that I was able to empathize. No wonder other reviewers were put off by her - they were unable to enter her world. She should have gone less into the details of the events and more into the inner workings of her troubled heart. There was a sense that she had sort of grown out of her self-destructive behavior by the time she got involved with the man who would become her husband, but I was left disappointed. I wanted to know how she transcended her years of self-destruction. Did she have an epiphany? Unfortunately, she never says. The reader is left with the impression that she just met the right man and inexplicably stopped her behavior. I know this is her memoir, and maybe she does not have a good explanation for how she came out of her cycle of pain, but at least she could have expanded on that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Goood

    Even though the book is sad & depressing i loved it .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Must Read

    Even if this is not you, read it. I was entertained throughout the book, Kerry Cohn makes her journey come to life and becomes your best friend very easily by the last page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    About the book

    I am really interested in reading this book. If anyone is interested in book trading please let me know by my email: JVPlaymate09@yahoo.com

    I am a writer and publishing my own book at the moment and those who help inspire me will get a free copy of my book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    can enlighten anyone!

    i read this book to reflect on my life. boy, was it accurate! wanting to break the chain of "daddy issues", i passed it on to my 15 year old daughter. since then, her friends (male and female alike) have taken an interest in the book. i haven't seen it in two months! this is a book that can enlighten anyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Memior I have read yet

    This book made me feel like i was there experiencing her pain. This is really a touching story of a girl trying to find love, sometimes in the wrong places. I finnished this book in like 3 days when it takes me 2 weeks to read a book. I couldn't put it down. I have a big list of books to read in my room, like 30 or 40 but this book went at the top of my priorities. I just love this book and you have to read it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9