BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and t

A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and this one really touched me.

posted by David_Bremmerton on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Um. WHAT.

Although this memoir is explicitly provocative... it's hard to sympathize with Cohen's "journey" against temptation and promiscuity. Does it take THAT many men to conclude, 'Since my partners keep taking sex without emotional security maybe I should change my methodolog...
Although this memoir is explicitly provocative... it's hard to sympathize with Cohen's "journey" against temptation and promiscuity. Does it take THAT many men to conclude, 'Since my partners keep taking sex without emotional security maybe I should change my methodology'? Disgust is an understatement for how I feel about this memoir. It confounds me that HPV and scabies scares weren't "enough" for a rude awakening... in fact the kudos went to a man. Go figure. Cohen had to finish her "memoir" with the realization that things would be okay after a man holds her in bed and emotionally reassures her. Of course you would add that in there Cohen. You got what you wanted. Someone to tell you that everything will be okay because you weren't confident to come to that realization on your own. How can you justify saying that no one stepped into be your hero when 98% of your book talks about how you kept sleeping around with total strangers for love?? Then you support the last 5 pages by rushing this sudden epiphany that you're content with not being great with relationships but you may be good enough??? You never were in one to even gain credibility for readers to agree with you.

Overall Cohen is honest, I give her that. However reading her story made me feel like she put herself on a pedestal thinking that all men want her. Men are NOT that dense. They have feelings and standards, so Cohen can't victimize herself for how lonely she felt. She set herself up for failure... I'm sure the authors reputation was tarnished growing up... and there should have been more emphasis on how the public judged her. That obvious social behavior was never mentioned in this book. She just slept around and got away with it. Loose Girl is a fitting title because there was no tragic tale, biological malfunction to excuse her slutty behavior. I feel sorry for her sons who may one day discover their mother's sexual "escapade" before conceiving them. I would be scarred for life if I were them. I'm going to Lysol my eyes now. Have a nice day.

posted by TheSwt3stCyn on December 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Well,

    If you dont understand addiction dont read this book. She was dealing with a sexual addiction, which can be as difficult as drug addiction. For the people that dont understand addiction or that DONT have an open mind, this book will totally suck to you. Her past is her past, & she tells how she got to her present. In my opinion, she should have gone to SAA instead of done it by herself, but then again thats what therapy can help with.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Interesting Read

    I really enjoyed Kerry Cohen's story because it was fascinating to read about something that is so taboo and shameful to most people. For that reason, I suggest picking up a copy of this book. However, I wish the author would have gone into greater detail about her recovery. The book went from two extremes: her need for attention and her newfound life. The story did not outline her road to recovery; rather it was almost as if she had an epiphany and decided to change, and I don't buy that. I felt as though she could have put forth more thought and emotion than she did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    The good and the bad

    Loose Girl brought up old pain for me. It was easy for me to empathize with Kerry, because I know her struggle. I know the confusion of knowing I am smart and generally good, yet feeling completely worthless in the eyes of boys. I know the pain of being passed over for attention, wondering what the boys are seeing in my friends that I don't seem to have. Why this was so important to me, I don't know, but it was. I, too, have a father who is sweet, giving, and who I know loves me. Yet, he was distant, never venturing beyond "how's your car running?" He always summoned my mother when he sensed I was upset. He never gave me advice about boys. I wonder whether it would have made a difference if he had. Kerry presents her father in the same way, describing him through her eyes, yet never explicitly blaming him for her emotional pain and emptiness. Kerry seems to have been caught in a place where many of us reside - not overtly mentally ill, yet not healthy, either. She's suffering inside, yet she plods along with her life, constantly seeking to fill that place of unrest inside of her. People in her emotional place seek relief in many ways - alcohol, food, drugs to name a few, they may suffer in silence, withdrawing more with time, or they may get lucky and resolve their pain in a healthy way. That her pain was channeled the way it was does not make her "slutty" or otherwise bad, as suggested in some of the reviews of the less empathic readers. These judgments constitute a signficant contributor to her pain, because not only does she get no support from those around her over the years, she also judges herself. She is utterly disgusted with herself. She hates her behavior. Her pain is real, palpable. Why doesn't she learn from her mistakes when she gets hurt over and over again? Because what she thought would fill the need - a relationship - doesn't, and it throws her for a loop. Her first relationship made her feel more dead inside than her sexual escapades, so she goes back to the only behavior that offered her relief from her pain. She doesn't realize at the time that the pain results from her parents' mistakes and her failure to thrive emotionally as a result. She doesn't lack morals - if she did, she wouldn't have experienced the guilt and disgust and self-loathing along the way. This is the same mechanism as an addict who starts stealing to support her habit when she otherwise would never have stolen a thing. So why do I give this book three stars? I think Kerry could have done a better job of soliciting her readers' empathy. It was only because I've been where she was that I was able to empathize. No wonder other reviewers were put off by her - they were unable to enter her world. She should have gone less into the details of the events and more into the inner workings of her troubled heart. There was a sense that she had sort of grown out of her self-destructive behavior by the time she got involved with the man who would become her husband, but I was left disappointed. I wanted to know how she transcended her years of self-destruction. Did she have an epiphany? Unfortunately, she never says. The reader is left with the impression that she just met the right man and inexplicably stopped her behavior. I know this is her memoir, and maybe she does not have a good explanation for how she came out of her cycle of pain, but at least she could have expanded on that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    OK book.

    The ending is a bit hard to believe - only time will tell if she's really changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Short read.. when you're bored

    If you're in between books, this is a great short read... only 180 pages! The cover seems more dark than the book actually is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Roller coaster of emotion

    If you like those books that stick in your mind and give you some great food for thought this is a great one. It really takes the emotion and hangs it from the balcony and waves it around making you look at it and deal with it. Sometimes the main character is a little whiny but that is what helps build her story. A great book for reading raw emotion and human nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2