BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and t

A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and this one really touched me.

posted by David_Bremmerton on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Um. WHAT.

Although this memoir is explicitly provocative... it's hard to sympathize with Cohen's "journey" against temptation and promiscuity. Does it take THAT many men to conclude, 'Since my partners keep taking sex without emotional security maybe I should change my methodolog...
Although this memoir is explicitly provocative... it's hard to sympathize with Cohen's "journey" against temptation and promiscuity. Does it take THAT many men to conclude, 'Since my partners keep taking sex without emotional security maybe I should change my methodology'? Disgust is an understatement for how I feel about this memoir. It confounds me that HPV and scabies scares weren't "enough" for a rude awakening... in fact the kudos went to a man. Go figure. Cohen had to finish her "memoir" with the realization that things would be okay after a man holds her in bed and emotionally reassures her. Of course you would add that in there Cohen. You got what you wanted. Someone to tell you that everything will be okay because you weren't confident to come to that realization on your own. How can you justify saying that no one stepped into be your hero when 98% of your book talks about how you kept sleeping around with total strangers for love?? Then you support the last 5 pages by rushing this sudden epiphany that you're content with not being great with relationships but you may be good enough??? You never were in one to even gain credibility for readers to agree with you.

Overall Cohen is honest, I give her that. However reading her story made me feel like she put herself on a pedestal thinking that all men want her. Men are NOT that dense. They have feelings and standards, so Cohen can't victimize herself for how lonely she felt. She set herself up for failure... I'm sure the authors reputation was tarnished growing up... and there should have been more emphasis on how the public judged her. That obvious social behavior was never mentioned in this book. She just slept around and got away with it. Loose Girl is a fitting title because there was no tragic tale, biological malfunction to excuse her slutty behavior. I feel sorry for her sons who may one day discover their mother's sexual "escapade" before conceiving them. I would be scarred for life if I were them. I'm going to Lysol my eyes now. Have a nice day.

posted by TheSwt3stCyn on December 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and t

    A really sad story that speaks to the soul. I love memoirs and this one really touched me.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderfully written book. Very "real". No fluff. The

    A wonderfully written book. Very "real". No fluff. The truth can be shocking, and it is here in this very raw story of growing up "loose" - and what caused this. Five stars!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an exceptional book. What causes teen girls to stray dow

    This is an exceptional book. What causes teen girls to stray down a bad path? This is that story. I highly recommend this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I read a lot of self help and psychological books to broaden my understanding and learn something. I was interested to give loose girl a try and was not disappointed

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    An engaging and intimate memoir

    In 'Loose Girl', Kerry Cohen has written a memoir of startling clarity and unblinking honesty. So often, memoir has proven to be a vehicle for proselytization or even vindication, but Cohen resists the temptation to assign blame or explain away the personal impulses that drove her to reckless behaviors and a pattern of promiscuity and heartbreak. Instead she is straightforward and clear, exploring her own weaknesses and her dysfunctional quest for love and intimacy through unrewarding physical relationships. Cohen's writing style is engaging and intimate. She writes about her sexual encounters with a real sense of presence, and when she falls into familiar patterns of behavior, the reader shares her stumbles with genuine pain. Parts of 'Loose Girl' can be difficult to read, in the very best ways that a memoir can challenge a reader, and Cohen doesn't sugarcoat her experiences or attempt to explain away her behaviors. In her memoir, Kerry Cohen displays an addictive personality, but she also possesses keen self-awareness and a burning 'and often heartbreaking' commitment to change. 'This time will be different,' she seems to say, over and over, and it is on the strength of her writing that we hope right along with her every time. The pain that she feels when old patterns reassert themselves becomes visceral. The book ends not with false epiphany or some kind of phony life change, but rather with a quiet sense of hopefulness and the feeling, perhaps no more than a whispered and fragile promise, that even the most broken of us can find happiness and perhaps even a measure of peace. 'Loose Girl' is ultimately a story of quiet personal redemption, and I recommend it without reservation.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Loved It!

    I didnt want it to end! I can relate alot to this, maybe thats why I enjoyed it so much. It kept my interest for most the time. I think in between her "hook ups" she could have writen maybe something to kind of break it up a little...it seemed repetitive in some parts. I get it, its about her having all these partners, but doesnt she have anything else going on in her life? I recommend this to any woman really. Even if you cant identify...I think alot of the things she writes about, we can all relate to in some way. I plan on reading her other books as well.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a Very Helpful Memoir

    I personally loved the book. I got a little emotional to certain parts in the book because I've either dealt with the pain or experienced the same thing in my life. The book has this sort of guidence that says something about mostly all the girls who are going through the same addiction. Its hard to find that special someone especially at a young age because you long, wait, & want that someone to love & take the pain away. Also, hoping that someone can save you from yourself. Kerry Cohen explains so much of the hardships of her bad relationships with her parents to her unyielding sexual urges towards men. I recommend Loose Girl to all the teenage girls, who are giving into men with sex because it makes them feel loved even if only for a minute in their life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Goood

    Even though the book is sad & depressing i loved it .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    About the book

    I am really interested in reading this book. If anyone is interested in book trading please let me know by my email: JVPlaymate09@yahoo.com

    I am a writer and publishing my own book at the moment and those who help inspire me will get a free copy of my book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    can enlighten anyone!

    i read this book to reflect on my life. boy, was it accurate! wanting to break the chain of "daddy issues", i passed it on to my 15 year old daughter. since then, her friends (male and female alike) have taken an interest in the book. i haven't seen it in two months! this is a book that can enlighten anyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Memior I have read yet

    This book made me feel like i was there experiencing her pain. This is really a touching story of a girl trying to find love, sometimes in the wrong places. I finnished this book in like 3 days when it takes me 2 weeks to read a book. I couldn't put it down. I have a big list of books to read in my room, like 30 or 40 but this book went at the top of my priorities. I just love this book and you have to read it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Eye Opening to a naive guy

    First of all, it is a very well written story. I was anxious to keep reading all the way to the end. While I found some parts sad and a little disturbing, a lot of my past experiences with girls and women make a little more sense now. I hope Ms. Cohen continues to write more and more through the upcoming years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    i love this book , its sad and this can connect with other young

    i love this book , its sad and this can connect with other young girls that are actually going through the same thing. i am  really thankful that she got out her way to write a book about her life and share it with us . i reallly enjoyed this book and i hope others do too. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Loose girl

    This wat sum girl is fr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    This was a great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. The story is probably true of so many young girls, including myself. It definitely made me think alot of my past choices and how I found happiness as well. Good job, Kerry. I hope you write more books. I'll be watching for them. Congratulations for finding and accepting love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Perfect

    Its a lesson for kids on how or what to do like dont do drugs and dont do sex to all of thoose kids who do it need to stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    I read this book a few years ago because well I was having the s

    I read this book a few years ago because well I was having the same issues just not as drastic and reading her life story really helped me and got me the courage to do what was right for me and not to just try and fit in with the crowd. This book should be read by any girl that is having sex issues or guy issues in their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Review Board Patrol

    This review board is to rate, review, and share your thoughts about the books only. The use of by person(s) this review board as a messaging board is prohibited. Barnes and Noble are signing the new contract on September 4th, 2012 enforcing this new guideline.

    Respectfully,
    --The Management and Support Team--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Loved it

    This book was riveting, I loved it. It was funny, honest, heartbreaking, and hopeful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    A Honest Book about Sex for Every Woman

    I think it took a lot of courage for Kerry Cohen to come out of the closet about this issue. No matter whether you are one of those who initiated contact or not, these issues are faced by each generation of young and old women. Kudos to you, Kerry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4