Customer Reviews for

The Lorax

Average Rating 5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Would give 10 stars if available!

I think it goes without saying that Dr. Seuss was a lyrical genius. We all grew up on his works, but this book is by far the best. I always enjoyed it's message and used it in my high school environmental science class to send a message to my students in a fun way. Now,...
I think it goes without saying that Dr. Seuss was a lyrical genius. We all grew up on his works, but this book is by far the best. I always enjoyed it's message and used it in my high school environmental science class to send a message to my students in a fun way. Now, I read it to my 8-month-old son. Yes, 8-month-old. And I've read it to him since he was born. He has an entire library of books, mostly board books and baby books, but this is honestly his favorite. He is enamored with the rhythm of the words and loves when I do the voice of the Lorax (and old British guy with the sniffles - LOL). This is a book that must be included in every library - parent or not.

posted by Anonymous on February 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Probably my least favorite Seuss book, just because I don't beli

Probably my least favorite Seuss book, just because I don't believe in brainwashing children before they're old enough to understand what it is they're being brainwashed about. Now, granted, back when this boook was written, there may have been concerns about deforesta...
Probably my least favorite Seuss book, just because I don't believe in brainwashing children before they're old enough to understand what it is they're being brainwashed about. Now, granted, back when this boook was written, there may have been concerns about deforestation and spoliation of natural resources in the US. There aren't now. All of that stuff is happening overseas - Brazil, the former Eastern Bloc, etc. The problem is that kids don't know that and assume that big nasty evil corporations are cutting down all the truffula trees in their own backyard, and then inevitably some of them get so obsessed with the concept that it ingrains itself into their psyche and no amount of evidence to the contrary will ever sway them. Then, they read this book to their kids every day from the day they were born and talk about how important it is amd how everyone should be required (required!) to own it. Now, if the story started out with the line 'Far off in the land of...' I'd have less of a problem with it. The whole 'tragedy of the commons for two year olds' thing is still a problem though. That's a pretty advanced concept for a toddler, when they can't even get the idea of 'mine,' 'yours,' and 'ours' right.

posted by 7147437 on August 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    For kids and adults alike

    The Lorax is a wonderful commentary on environmental issues. It helps young children understand the importance of actively saving ones environment, while entertaining at the same time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    A wonderful book!

    READ THIS BOOK! It's one of my favorites! I'm sure you'll love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Love it

    I love this book!!! It is just amazing to read!!! I love love love dr seuss' books!!! Well made and great for kids who have just started reading!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Read

    I have enjoyed Kitty's adventure and this one was no exception. This book is interesting because she incorporates characters we are familiar with from previous books. We get to see them in action using their talents and that is always fun to read. My favorite part is the end. heheh enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Life Lesson

    I enjoyed it greatly. I read it with my 6 year old daughter over and over. She made some wonderful observations about the story and how it relates to our world now, which is important to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A timeless tale

    Dr. Seuss is a man who was ahead of his time. This timeless and enchanting tale of the importance of protecting our natural resources teaches an all too important lesson. "The Lorax" was written nearly 40 years ago but the message is still clearly stated: "We must abuse our natural resources for the greed of Man." As a high school English teacher, this serves as a great tool when teaching analyzing, allusions, and many other literary elements. A great recommendation for teachers and all who want to spread the word of the "Go Green" effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic story that even more relevance today than when it was originally written.

    This was my favorite Dr. Seuss story as a child and has now become one of my son's favorites also. Unlike many Seuss stories, this one has a message that is easy to understand. This is a great story to show your children how our actions affect the world around us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Excellent book

    Great book with an important lesson. Sad ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    Although it is a children's book, The Lorax has a sense of what people do in real life. I actually found myself crying when I read it. It is so sad because of the scenario and beacause this is what happens in real life. It also moves me because for me complete loneliness is what scares me the most. Past things that have been forgotten and deserted make me feel so bad. But it also shows hope towards the end. So please don't judge it by the fact that it is a children's Dr. Suess book. It has so much more depth than that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    i love dr. seuss books

    i love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I think you shlould read this book. JES YOU SHOULD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    lorax!!

    the book the lorax is the best book ive ever read and it still is and is a wonderful childrens book by Dr.Suess.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    The Lorax is really funny

    The Lorax is a hairy dude who speaks for the trees. The oncler came along and cut down truffala trees to make thneeds. He was killing the forrest. How rude! We learned it is not good to hurt nature. It's mean! It was a very exciting story. We need animals, trees, and food to survive! So we should take care of our environment. We think EVERYBODY should read this exciting book! It should be in every school library!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Every Political Figure should read this

    Wonderful and enlightening story. Anyone who cares about our environment should read this book. And for those who feel there is nothing wrong with our environment - who feel 'everything is fine the way it is' should read this book too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Top the Charts

    This was in the empire of Dr. Seuss, by far one of the best books he ever created. The message is clear and easy to understand. It also has very creative and imaginative characters which are just expected from the 'Doctor'. In conlcusion this is one of the best books Dr. Seuss ever wrote.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    Brilliance inspired....

    As with the majority of my generation, I grew up on Dr. Seuss... There is no doubt that he was a great inspiration to me and that his work helped to fuel my passion for writing empowering children's books. The Lorax is a delicious pleasure to read aloud. In my humble opinion, this is the very best of Seuss. It rolls off your tongue with each savoring syllable. The Lorax stands apart because of the poignant message... This is where my inspiration from Seuss came to pass... packing such an important message for children into a vibrantly imaginative world of characters and scenery is where Seuss set the benchmark for my generation to strive. If you have not yet found this timeless classic... run, don't walk and meet the man who speaks for the trees...before this generation cuts them all down!!! Brian Weiner, CEO, The Illusion Factory and Author, Toad Catchers' Creek

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    The Best Dr Seuss Book Ever!

    This is my favorite Dr Seuss book of all time. His messages are clear. I love this book. My children loved hearing me read this book out loud. Recommended reading for adults and children--enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    a great great but sad also book

    this book was great to me because i inspired the way that the lorax stood for the trees and how he just speaks for the trees.one thing i didnot like was that the once-ler cut down all those trees and messed up the enviorment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    AWESOME AND IMPORTANT BOOK

    For the past few years i have attended a summer camp in NY where the read and act this book out everyyear... at the for DEC camps in NYS this book is read at the same time and helps to spred the news that things need to be protected for future generations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    TRUTH AND SORROW

    AN AMAZING METAPHOR OF HUMAN ILLS- GREED, ASSUMED SUPERIORITY... SEUSS SAW WHAT THE LAND MEANT TO US AND WHAT THAT MEANING MEANT FOR THE LAND. A GREAT BOOK TO TEACH RESPECT FOR NATURE, SHARING AND PEACE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5