Customer Reviews for

Lord Brocktree (Redwall Series #13)

Average Rating 5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    5 stars

    This is my second favorite book, it is one of the best books in the redwall series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book.I think everybody should read it.This is a fantastic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Brocktree

    This book is awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Excellant read

    Read it couple years ago and was fasinated. Sorry to hear Mr. Jacques passed. Will cherish these books and pass them on to the grandkids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Read

    Sexy lady. Hot lady. Woman with big boobs. Sex rox. Wanna have sex. Lets go. From: A sexy person.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Excellent!

    Lord Brocktree is an outstanding book, and one of Jacques's best. The way he uses different viewpoints kept the story very exciting. I couldn't put it down. The characters are so lifelike and wonderfull that you can't help but feel like you've always known them when you finish the book. This book is WELL worth reading, and there are plenty of following books in the Redwall series which every kid (ahem-every PERSON) should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    SO MILLION STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Eulalia is my favorite but Lord Brocktree should be called Lord Rocktree!!!!

    Whoooooohaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!
    (See the Bellmaker)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    An Beastly War

    Lord Brocktree Brian Jacques The Penguin Group Fantasy ¿Eulaliiiiiaaaaaaaaa.¿ This is the strong battle cry of the mighty warriors who rightfully own Mount Salamandastron. This ¿Lord Brocktree¿ written by Brian Jacques, has a great twist on it, for the battle isn't between humans, but between animals from hares to moles and rats to foxes. Though the mighty leaders of the two armies are both cunning and smart. The badger, lord Brocktree, and the evil wildcat, the Ungutt Trunn, battle for life, but luck is on the badger's side, for the mysterious bark crew have done something terribly wrong to the wildcat's blue rat army. The badger lord must find a very strategic plan on how to kill his enemies with his small but strong hare army against the starving blue vermin. Read this horrifying but action packed story and find out who wins the revolutionary battle of Salamandraston. There are many characters in this book. The main ones though are the two lords, the badger and the wildcat. The badger's name is lord Brocktree. As a primary character, he is very dynamic and learns more about everything on his journey. He is big hearted though, at the same time, extremely strong. He is the leader of any army or group while scaring the enemies with his unbreakable, double-hilted, rare steel, shining sword. He rules his army with them liking him back, unlike the evil wildcat who rules an army that only like him because they don't want to die. The Ungutt Trunn, who is from a long line of evil wildcats, is the wildcat from the story. He is son of lord Greeneyes and brother of Tsarmina and Gingevere. He owns an army of blue rats whom he collected over his years and trained to rule the world. He is extremely cruel to his army and unmerciful to his enemies. Even though he is evil, he is very cunning and smart, maybe even a genius like lord Brocktree. These two characters are very important to the story because without them, the story would be dull and boring. Another character is Dotti the hare. She was stumbled upon by lord Brocktree during a small battle. She was kicked out of her home for being very mischievous around the small village. She is also very pretty and girlish, sometimes. Other times she is fierce and flaming with rage if you tick her off. Though with both of these personalities, she is very head-strong. She is very important because she somehow (you'll have to read the book to find out) gained an army for lord Brocktree to attempt to defeat Ungutt Trunn. There are many other characters in this book like Stiffener, Blench, Skipper, and Bucko Bigbones. To find out more about them, read this fascinating book. I definitely recommend this book to all people interested in warfare, medieval times, or people who love animals. It's an explosion of revolutionary battles, great victories, sad losses, and heartbreaking deaths. I personally liked the twisted idea of medieval ages for animals. This is a great selling book because it can attract many types of people from those who like violence to tree huggers. It is very interesting because every animal has a different way of talking. The hares always end their sentences with ¿wot,¿ and the moles say ¿zurr¿ a lot. The rest you will have to find out if you read the book. The mood and tone of the story changes a lot though. Sometimes it's tense, and other times it's cheerful. This whole series of books is so addicting. I recommend this to all people who want something with a twist to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Great book

    Lord Brocktree ¿Groddil¿help me,¿ Ungatt Trunn said as he slipped into the sea forever. Dorothea Duckfontein Dillworthy, or Dotti as her friends call her, was a hare that was kicked out of her village and her parents sent her aunt Blench so she could learn some manners. When she is just starting out on her journey she runs into some vermin who try to kill her she hurts them with her bag when Lord Brocktree of Brockhall, son of Lord Stonepaw the current leader of Salamandastron, comes along to help. Lord Brocktree is a fearsome badger with a huge sword. The vermin run away, Dotti¿s cider breaks inside her bag, and Lord Brocktree and Dotti become friends. They are eating lunch after Dotti hurt her leg when she sees something move she pretends not to notice and Brocktree goes to ¿get more dock leaves¿ but gets the ¿spy¿ and Dotti hits it with her bag. The ¿spy¿ turns out to be a friendly otter, named Ruff that will help them. They come across a challenge by King Bucko Bigbones. The travelers go and find his palace where Dotti takes the challenge. The rules are as follows: Fighting, feasting, and bragging contests. If you win the bragging and feasting contest it doesn¿t matter. Whoever wins the fighting contest will be king 'queen' of the hares. Dotti wins all the challenges and gets all the mountain hares to help them after Ungatt Trunn, a wildcat that has taken over Salamandastron. They get some shrews and hedgehogs to help. They start the march. Mean while all the hares at Salamandastron have been killed, taken prisoner, or escaped. Lord Stonepaw is dead and the hares that escaped find some sea otters. They join up and go to make sure Ungatt Trunn¿s Blue Hordes don¿t get any food. The Bark Crew 'the hares and otters' get trapped by 150 vermin and are nearly all killed when Lord Brocktree and his small army march in and slaughter the vermin. Then Brocktree and Trunn go in one on one combat and Brocktree wins. He rules for many years. This is a great book and it should be read by everyone. One thing I like about this book is the action. In the beginning Dotti has to fight off a pack of vermin until Brocktree comes. Then the Bark Crew attack vermin foraging parties and take there food. They makes the Hordes starve. After that there is the one-on-one combat with Ungatt Trunn and Lord Brocktree. After all the battles are said and done the vermin run away but Ripfang, a rat, shoves Karangool, a fox, over the edge where Bucko lays him to eternal rest. Another thing I like is the excitement. The book sucks you in and you never want to let go. When Dotti is doing the challenges it is very exciting because the author changes chapters in between the challenges. Then there is the battle of the Bark Crew when they get caught in the vermin¿s trap there are only ten or eleven out of the twenty left. After that there is the battle between Ungatt Trunn and Lord Brocktree when Trunn throws the net over Brocktree and nearly kills him. I like this book because of the characters. Bucko Bigbones is self conscious, especially when a haremaid challenges him for his crown he also holds a grudge, like on Karangool. He never forgot about when he killed his family and left him with a scar. Lord Brocktree is a huge, strong, and powerful badger. He has control of all his army and he saves the lives of lots of animals when he throws Ungatt Trunn into the sea. Also I like Dotti. She will stick up for herself. She is self righteous and can¿t stop calling herself a ¿fatal beauty¿. She is strong when she hits the vermin so she can get past and kills vermin in the war. I love the way this book plays out. Brian Jacques doesn¿t kill off people you care a lot about. He also make a really good ending where Ungatt Trunn wakes up, sees Grodill and begs for his help. Grodill doesn¿t help and Trunn slips into the sea¿forever. N. Rahman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Interesting....

    I've never read anything like this before. Brian Jacques really has an interesting writing style. It was almost hard to keep up with this book at times for how the animals talk. I'm guessing it must be a very British dialect. And what is 'wot,wot' supposed to mean I saw that a lot. Anyway, this book is a good read, but make sure you stay focused and aren't just reading it out of the corner of your eyes or you'll be really lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Fun read!

    this was the best redwall book so far! An exceptionally great book. I read it about a year ago and still remember. I read it while we were on vacation and couldn't put it down! A sure read! Take a chance on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    the best REDWALL

    this is the greatest in the redwall series, and all you poeple who haven't read them all need to get going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    A Fantastic Read!

    This book is about a wildcat (Ungatt Trunn) taking over the mighty mountain Salamandastron with his massive rat army. Lord Brocktree must assemble one of his own to get his mountain back. This was the first Redwall book that I had ever read, and it was fantastic! Jacques does a great job of switching back and forth between three stories and eventually blending them into one thrilling tale. The characters are fantastic and realistic. This great book has inspired me to read more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Lork Brocktree

    'Lord Brocktree' is a wonderful book I would recomend to anybody that loves Brian Jaques or tales of chivalry ang good versus evil. When Ungattt Trunn the wildcat comesto the shores of Salamandastron, he creates quite a problem for the current badger lord. With only a few aged hares and getting old himself, he and his troops manage to put up quite a fight for their mountain home. However, they cannot hold out forever. Meanwhile, Lord Brocktree and a hare maiden named Dotti are on their way to Salamandastron, not knowing of the danger, only knowing they are needed. The concept may seem weird with its talking animals, but once the reader gets into the story, furry faces fade into the background as stories of friendship, honor, chivalry, and classic good against evil storylines come into play. Take a chance and try it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    The Bigggggggest Redwall fan

    This book was one of the first Redwall books i reed and quite frankly it was the best. I have read all of BJ'S books on redwall tales and i would have to say that they are the best books i have read in my live. wot wot wot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    The best in the series!

    I personally think that Lord Brocktree was the best book in the Redwall series! Action-packed from front to back, Lord Brocktree will keep you sitting on the edge! For those of you who don't know what I'm talking about tune in. Lord Stonepaw, badger lord of Salamandastron grows older with every passing second. So old, defending his mountain is near immpossible. While he dreams of a young badger, and an enemy wildcat, he knows, if he can last long enough for this other beast to get here... Those hopes are shattered as the wildcat who at this time will remain unknwon, arrives earlier than expected! How long can Lord Stonepaw hold on? You have to read to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Redwall's REAL biggest fan.

    Outstanding! Extraordinary! A must have if your a Redwall fan. i also enjoyed: Redwall Winter's Tale,Redwall Map and the Redwall Riddler,The Tale of Urso Brunov,Great Redwall Feast and Mauer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    I WAS GOOD.

    OVER ALL IT WAS A GOOD BOOK. BUT NOTHING SEEMS TO COMPARE WITH MARLFOX. BUT I LOVED THE ACTION SCENES! I'M READING THE TAGGERUNG AT PRESENT. ITS GREAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Great Book

    Lord Brocktree was a good book i thought i would never finish it. It was my first RedWall book and i plan on reading many many more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    THis book gets six stars from me! Eulalia!!!!!

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!That is all I have to say exept: Eeeeuullllaaaaaalliiiiaaaaaa!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5