Customer Reviews for

Lord Foulgrin's Letters

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spiritual Warfare

    I've heard about this book many times, but I've never had the opportunity to read it. When my pastor recently preached a series of messages about the work of Satan, he recommended everyone read this book. I checked this copy out from my local library.

    The novel is written much like C.S. Lewis's The Screwtape Letters, which I read many years ago. Lord Foulgrin writes to instruct, encourage, and threaten Squaltaint, his underling, a demon in charge of tempting, deceiving, and guiding the human, Jordan Fletcher into sin. Truths from the Bible permeate the pages which show the behind-the-scenes spiritual battle waging all around us.

    Interspersed between each letter is a story about the life of Jordan. The characters are quite believable--a family of four, struggling with their complex lives. The pace of the plot keeps the pages turning. It was hard to put down.

    It made this reader pause and think more deeply about the things of God. I am so glad that I finally got around to reading this awesome classic. I highly recommend this book to Christians or nonbelievers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    FANTASTIC

    This book was phenomenal. It also gave some great insight into the bible....views that I had not considered before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    Look in the Mirror

    Author Randy Alcorn holds up the mirror for the church in this novel of spiritual warfare. Like C. S. Lewis's demon Screwtape, Lord Foulgrin writes a series of letters to his assistant as he mentors the lesser demons in how to prevent people from embracing the Christian faith. The book is noteworthy both for its creativity and its subtle convicting power. Again and again, Foulgrin's letters pierce the facade of our culture's comfortable Christianity, hitting every moral issue of our time. For example, on moral responsibility, Foulgrin writes, 'What they most fear and despise is moral accountability. They'll gradly embrace any theory removing this built-in sense they must answer for how they've lived.' It's a riveting read, with redemptive value.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    And the Beat Goes On

    If Mr. C.S. Lewis was still here in his clay earth suit, I believe he would say to Mr. Randy Alcorn, 'Very well done, little brother.' Randy Alcorn's latest work, Lord Foulgrin's Letters, is excellent. It's been a wake up call to me that the battlefield all around me is as active as ever. I feel it is a must for every Christian. I have gained so much from each of Randy Alcorn's books. Deadline was my first exposure to Mr. Alcorn's literary gift. Then, its sequel Dominion was my good fortune to read. Both were checkouts from the library, but now I am the proud owner of Deadline which I just finished reading for the second time. Would like to reread Dominion also. I am captivated by this wonderful author's descriptions of heaven. Even if they are not totally accurate as none of us will know till we've been there, he has expanded my imagination of heaven and in wonderful hope. God's Word says that eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor has it entered into the heart (or imagination) of man what He has prepared for those that love Him. In other words, in our wildest, most colorful and creative imagnations, what any of us imagines is just a dim picture compared to the actuality of it. Also, God's Word says we (believers) have the mind of Christ. If this be so (and it must be if He said it), then is it not likely that some inkling of what it is like has come into the mind of our brother, Randy Alcorn. I believe so. Mr. Alcorn, please keep your heart and imagination open to Christ so He can speak to us through your work and ministry. P.S. Edge of Eternity is just a sixstar book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    WOW

    This wonderful volume is both enlightening and vastly entertaining. A compelling work of fiction with a healthy dose of truth thrown in for good measure. If you lend it to someone, you may not get it back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Literate Entertainment

    Randy Alcorn has come up with another Christian book that falls clearly into the category of 'contemporary literature'. His modern day allegory Edge of Eternity combined the brilliance of Pilgrim's Progress with the readability of The Hobbit. Alcorn's newest offering, Lord Foulgrin's Letters is styled after C.S. Lewis' Screwtape Letters. Foulgrin's frustration in mentoring a minor demon named Squaltaint makes for some excellent humor while subtly revealing our earthly vulnerabilities. For a good read and an enlightening experience I recommend Lord Foulgrin's Letters to all my friends. I am sure I will read it again and again as I have Edge of Eternity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    Screwtape Letters Revisited

    Randy Alcorn's book is similar to the CS Lewis classic yet takes the concept of letters between demons to another level. Alcorn incorporates the story of the tempted between the letters. The letters between the demons also seem more applicable to our times than Lewis' book. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an engaging novel that will make them think about spiritual matters they may have never thought of before. This book is incredible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Creative and thought-provoking

    What a creative and thought-provoking book. I eagerly await every new book by Randy Alcorn. This one affected me deeply, changing the way I think and the way I live.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    Do yourself a BIG favor - read this book !!

    This is the quintessential book for grasping the psychology of 'the real world'. We don't 'see' everything that's out there, but in these pages you will find a plethora of clues to what is really 'going on' !! Don't miss this one !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1