Customer Reviews for

Lord Foul's Bane (First Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Stands the Test of Time

Like other reviewers here, I read all these books when they first came out and have just begun rereading them. This is not light reading and does require some thought on the part of the reader but the payback is a story of depth and beauty and Thomas Covenant, himself,...
Like other reviewers here, I read all these books when they first came out and have just begun rereading them. This is not light reading and does require some thought on the part of the reader but the payback is a story of depth and beauty and Thomas Covenant, himself, is a complex, troubled individual. A word on this...there has been some criticism on his behavior early on in this book and, yes, it is impossible to justify. However, remember this is a man who has attuned himself to feel nothing emotionally and, by nature of his disease (leprosy) already feels very little physically due to the destruction of his nerve endings. He is thrust into a world where ALL feeling and perception is vivid and painted in the brightest of colors and hues. His reactions are understandable if not justifiable. I don't want to give too much away but if you are tired of the standard fantasy about handsome/beautiful kings/queens, bad wizard vs good wizard, dragons, dragons and more dragons. Well, try this. It's depth is amazing.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

What A Mistake!!

When i first read all the glowing reviews for this series, I thought I had found a winner. I purchased all of the first three books of the initial trilogy. I assumed with so many great recommendations I couldn't go wrong. Boy was I wrong! The hero?, Thomas Covenant, whi...
When i first read all the glowing reviews for this series, I thought I had found a winner. I purchased all of the first three books of the initial trilogy. I assumed with so many great recommendations I couldn't go wrong. Boy was I wrong! The hero?, Thomas Covenant, whines, cries and rages his way thru page after page after page. Covenant is one of the most despicable characters I have ever come upon. A quarter of the way into the book a young, innocent girl of 16 tries to befriend Covenant, takes him to her home to eat and meet her family, and he repays her by losing his temper and raping her. At this point I threw the book down and refused to read anymore. The image of a leper molesting a child was too much for me. After a few days I decided that something must radically change in the plot because the book has so many good reviews. There must be some redeeming change in his character to make him worthy of being the hero. So I decided to read the rest of it.
I shouldn't have bothered. Covenant doesn't alter his behavior one bit. He whines, he cries, he argues, he rages. When attacked, his first inclination is to hide and cower. He doesn't find the will to fight until he loses his temper from fear. And then he's ashamed of himself because he's killed. I found myself rooting for the bad guys, hoping one of them would lop his head off. That way the story could continue without him in it.
I threw the book in the trash along with parts 2 & 3 unread. I won't have that kind of drivel on my bookshelf. Someone might come across it and think I enjoyed it!
If you enjoy fantasy that doesn't follow the usual tired and overused plot lines, you should check out a series by Kate Elliot called "Crown Of Stars". It's everything intelligent fantasy should be.

posted by RichardB on November 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What A Mistake!!

    When i first read all the glowing reviews for this series, I thought I had found a winner. I purchased all of the first three books of the initial trilogy. I assumed with so many great recommendations I couldn't go wrong. Boy was I wrong! The hero?, Thomas Covenant, whines, cries and rages his way thru page after page after page. Covenant is one of the most despicable characters I have ever come upon. A quarter of the way into the book a young, innocent girl of 16 tries to befriend Covenant, takes him to her home to eat and meet her family, and he repays her by losing his temper and raping her. At this point I threw the book down and refused to read anymore. The image of a leper molesting a child was too much for me. After a few days I decided that something must radically change in the plot because the book has so many good reviews. There must be some redeeming change in his character to make him worthy of being the hero. So I decided to read the rest of it.
    I shouldn't have bothered. Covenant doesn't alter his behavior one bit. He whines, he cries, he argues, he rages. When attacked, his first inclination is to hide and cower. He doesn't find the will to fight until he loses his temper from fear. And then he's ashamed of himself because he's killed. I found myself rooting for the bad guys, hoping one of them would lop his head off. That way the story could continue without him in it.
    I threw the book in the trash along with parts 2 & 3 unread. I won't have that kind of drivel on my bookshelf. Someone might come across it and think I enjoyed it!
    If you enjoy fantasy that doesn't follow the usual tired and overused plot lines, you should check out a series by Kate Elliot called "Crown Of Stars". It's everything intelligent fantasy should be.

    10 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Disgusting

    The 'hero' is a rapist! The story is slow and uninteresting. Horrible, horrible book.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    Lord Copyright Infringement's Bane

    This book is one of the most vile and despicable means of making money. To think that Lord Foul's Bane could actually be published is as easy as thinking that the sun rises in the west and sets in the east. The concept of Del Rey, a publishing company that only accepts great works of art, would allow such trash to enter the mainstream world of books is astoundingly wretched. Stephen R. Donaldson cannot even be congratulated on his copying technique, since it is so blatantly obvious that he can think of no ideas on his own, relying solely on the works of literary masters. Thomas Covenant starts out with a ring made of white gold and if you take out the word 'white', you have something very similar to Tolkien. He travels through a strange land meeting Elves who live in a symbiotic relationship with the trees, exactly like the Elves in Lothlorien. He then is taken by a giant (hmm...Ent) to a large city with many levels (Minas Tirith). He then goes with a clan of horse people (Rohirrim) and in the end goes inside a large volacno, where the ring starts to wear on him. Imagine that! Well, actually, Tolkien did. My advice to you; go read the original.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    I think this might just be the worst book I have ever attempted

    I think this might just be the worst book I have ever attempted to read. Thomas Covenant is the most unlikeable character ever thought up. Even an anti hero should have at least a few redeeming qualities, but Covenant does nothing but whine, cry and throw tantrums at every opportunity. Near the beginning of the book he rapes the first person to help him and try to befriend him, a sixteen year old girl. I almost stopped reading after that, but unfortunately I decided to continue in the hopes that there would be some sort of turn around or redeeming quality, I mean there had to be with all the good reviews it has, but if their is something in this book which makes it worth all the praise it has gotten I never found it. I gave up for good halfway through.
    Don't waste your time or your money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Whew!

    You would think that a guy who writes like he's getting paid by the word would try a little harder. Hmm... let's call the land in our story the Land! And the bad guy can be LordFoul the Despiser with his sidekick Drool! Are u kidding me? Throw in about 10,000 tortured metaphors, get the action rolling about 3/4of the way through, and you've got a jaw-dropping waste of time.



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    If I had a hammer

    If you feel like you must spend $8 on something, go buy a small cheap hammer. Use it to bang on your knuckles for awhile. When you are done, your knuckles may be a little sore, but you will have had more fun than having read this book. And, you will have a small cheap hammer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Not tolkien

    To compare this to tolkien is a insult. First the main charecter is a rapist . Its boring not worth it. Didnt care about anyone in it made no sence . Some one recomended it disapointed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Didn't finish

    The main character is so completely unlikeable! I don't know how anyone could possibly want to read about him. He whines, moans and groans through the book, dragging his feet and against just about everything. I made it about half way through and gave up. That's a first for me. I never gave up on a book before. So yea...waste of time and money.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Definitely not a hero...

    I didn't enjoy this book as much as I would have thought. I read many of the reviews before purchasing this book and the review that I find myslef agreeing with the most is the most negative of the bunch. Donaldson doesn't spend a great deal of time on character development and while I realized in the end that the story itself called for it, I still found it frustrating. The only character that is even remotely developed is Thomas Covenant himself and he is not at all likeable. I hated him within the first 20 pages and that feeling did not change by the end of the story. In fact, despite considerable efforts I could find nothing redeeming about him in the entire 475 pages. I wouldn't reccomend.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Hate it

    I'm not going to say much here because I pretty much agree with the other one star reviews. It was a waste of my evening.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1