Customer Reviews for

Lord Foul's Bane (First Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Stands the Test of Time

Like other reviewers here, I read all these books when they first came out and have just begun rereading them. This is not light reading and does require some thought on the part of the reader but the payback is a story of depth and beauty and Thomas Covenant, himself,...
Like other reviewers here, I read all these books when they first came out and have just begun rereading them. This is not light reading and does require some thought on the part of the reader but the payback is a story of depth and beauty and Thomas Covenant, himself, is a complex, troubled individual. A word on this...there has been some criticism on his behavior early on in this book and, yes, it is impossible to justify. However, remember this is a man who has attuned himself to feel nothing emotionally and, by nature of his disease (leprosy) already feels very little physically due to the destruction of his nerve endings. He is thrust into a world where ALL feeling and perception is vivid and painted in the brightest of colors and hues. His reactions are understandable if not justifiable. I don't want to give too much away but if you are tired of the standard fantasy about handsome/beautiful kings/queens, bad wizard vs good wizard, dragons, dragons and more dragons. Well, try this. It's depth is amazing.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

What A Mistake!!

When i first read all the glowing reviews for this series, I thought I had found a winner. I purchased all of the first three books of the initial trilogy. I assumed with so many great recommendations I couldn't go wrong. Boy was I wrong! The hero?, Thomas Covenant, whi...
When i first read all the glowing reviews for this series, I thought I had found a winner. I purchased all of the first three books of the initial trilogy. I assumed with so many great recommendations I couldn't go wrong. Boy was I wrong! The hero?, Thomas Covenant, whines, cries and rages his way thru page after page after page. Covenant is one of the most despicable characters I have ever come upon. A quarter of the way into the book a young, innocent girl of 16 tries to befriend Covenant, takes him to her home to eat and meet her family, and he repays her by losing his temper and raping her. At this point I threw the book down and refused to read anymore. The image of a leper molesting a child was too much for me. After a few days I decided that something must radically change in the plot because the book has so many good reviews. There must be some redeeming change in his character to make him worthy of being the hero. So I decided to read the rest of it.
I shouldn't have bothered. Covenant doesn't alter his behavior one bit. He whines, he cries, he argues, he rages. When attacked, his first inclination is to hide and cower. He doesn't find the will to fight until he loses his temper from fear. And then he's ashamed of himself because he's killed. I found myself rooting for the bad guys, hoping one of them would lop his head off. That way the story could continue without him in it.
I threw the book in the trash along with parts 2 & 3 unread. I won't have that kind of drivel on my bookshelf. Someone might come across it and think I enjoyed it!
If you enjoy fantasy that doesn't follow the usual tired and overused plot lines, you should check out a series by Kate Elliot called "Crown Of Stars". It's everything intelligent fantasy should be.

posted by RichardB on November 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Lucy

    Puts her arms around him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Bane to lucy

    On

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Wordy but wonderful

    Read this initially in the late 70s. Yes, Donaldson can go on for pages describing a desert valley, but by the end of that you really see the picture he has painted in your mind. I have always preferred epic fantasy where the characters and world have a history. Those are the worlds that stick with you long after the last page is read. In that regard this trilogy excelled. If you are looking for traditional fantasy with your standard swords and sorcery this probably isnt for you. If you like your protagonists flawed and more realistic, you are unlikely to find a more unique character than Thomas Covenant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    If I had a hammer

    If you feel like you must spend $8 on something, go buy a small cheap hammer. Use it to bang on your knuckles for awhile. When you are done, your knuckles may be a little sore, but you will have had more fun than having read this book. And, you will have a small cheap hammer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Ghjceg

    &#9812 <p> &#9813 <p> &#9814 <p> &#9824

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    I first read these books back in the early 80's and I loved them

    I first read these books back in the early 80's and I loved them so much I have read them again. I could actually envision the land and the characters. The description is like you are looking at a picture. EXCELLENT! Thinking about reading them again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Not tolkien

    To compare this to tolkien is a insult. First the main charecter is a rapist . Its boring not worth it. Didnt care about anyone in it made no sence . Some one recomended it disapointed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    I was recommended to read this book and the rest of the series,

    I was recommended to read this book and the rest of the series, back in 2001 and have. I found the series to be a little hard to get into but would recommend anyone to read on as the story does take on a more interesting role as it plays out. I find putting yourself in the main characters place makes for a a good journey through a rich fantasy world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    To the chronicles of bane author

    It was good.... but i think it was a lot like the warriors first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Lilyfang

    Good spelling and grammer but you missed a few capitols. Its a good begining but i wish people would combine chapters to make really long chapters. Rate my story at field of gold 1&2 results. Its the DragonClan story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    The first Chronicle of Bane

    Night was falling and in this desolate place, a cat roamed. The large brown and white tom was tired after a long day of traveling. He smelled a faint cat scent but dissmissed it because it was so faint. The traveler stumbled upon a small hollow and decided to spend the night in it. ***** "What are you doing on our territory?" The traveler woke with a start at the sound of a cats voice. He looked up to see an orange she- cat with white spots and a large black and gray tom standing over him in his makeshift nest snarling into his face. "Your territory?" The traveler hissed. "Stormfoot!" The she-cat called to a blue and gray tom standing off to the side. "Get Darkstar!" Stormfoot raced off into the braken without a word. "Who's Darkstar?" The traveler asked. "Shut up!" The she-cat hissed "Darkstar will question you. A little while later Stormfoot and a dark gray tom who was probably Darkstar pelted into the clearing. "Sunpetal! Who is this intruder?" Darkstar asked. "I don't know. I was waiting for you to question him." Sunpetal replied. Then Darkstar turned to he traveler. "What are you called?" Grunting, the traveler sat up. "I am called Bane." Darkstar frowned to himself. "Intresting... Shatterclaw, Sunpetal. Continue hunting. So Bane. Whaat are tou doing here?" "Traveling." "Where?" "No specific place." Darkstar turned to Stormfoot. "What do you think?" Stirmfoot thought for a moment then said: "Belivable." All their fates were sealed with tat one word. (Second Chronicle coming soon in next result)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Didn't finish

    The main character is so completely unlikeable! I don't know how anyone could possibly want to read about him. He whines, moans and groans through the book, dragging his feet and against just about everything. I made it about half way through and gave up. That's a first for me. I never gave up on a book before. So yea...waste of time and money.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Definitely not a hero...

    I didn't enjoy this book as much as I would have thought. I read many of the reviews before purchasing this book and the review that I find myslef agreeing with the most is the most negative of the bunch. Donaldson doesn't spend a great deal of time on character development and while I realized in the end that the story itself called for it, I still found it frustrating. The only character that is even remotely developed is Thomas Covenant himself and he is not at all likeable. I hated him within the first 20 pages and that feeling did not change by the end of the story. In fact, despite considerable efforts I could find nothing redeeming about him in the entire 475 pages. I wouldn't reccomend.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Unveliever Holds True

    This book came highly recommended by a friend and at first I wasn't sure why...Thomas is a leper who has lost his family, friends and all touch with society due to his unexpected illness. He is constantly finding ways to stay in touch with a world which wants nothing to do with him any more. While taking a walk through his town he his hit by a police car and falls into an alternate reality. Thomas assumes through out the story that he is just dreaming and the only way to wake up is to follow the "story" the way each character pushes him to. Thomas is pitted against an evil foe which he first encountered on his way into this alternate world. Thomas is the unbeliever because he will not accept his part which needs to be played in the story, so that the good side will win. There are many delightful characters introduced in the book, each wanting their "world" to be saved by Thomas for different reasons. Thomas learns something from each of these characters, but is not able to fully appreciate the new knowledge or his role until the end. Thomas is able to balance on a fine line between reality and alternate world in order to temporarily save the alternate world he grew to care about. I appreciated the dive into leprosy since I have heard very little regarding this disease. The world and it's characters are developed very well and become real and substantial as the story moves along. It is the "real" world characters and memories which take on the "alternate" false world feel. I look forward to reading more books in the series. B+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Awesome

    This has got to be my favorite series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Hate it

    I'm not going to say much here because I pretty much agree with the other one star reviews. It was a waste of my evening.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    This is a great series

    I read the first three books when I was a kid back in the late 70's and bits and pieces of it would pop in my head once in awhile over the years. I have rediscovered why it left an impression on me. The main character leaves a lot to be desired...definately not your normal hereo. He whines and blunders through events, he hurts people, yet as the series progresses, you start to pull for him. The Land is rich and full, the people who live there are good. The character development is very indepth for many of the players in the stories. A very worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    One of the most incredible literary works of our time! The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever is a wonderful tale for those of us who love fantasy, fiction, and everthing else that falls inbetween!

    The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever is a wonderful tale for those of us who love fantasy, fiction, and everthing else that falls inbetween! I am elated to find that Mr. Donaldson has continued the saga with The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever. This collection of books is one of the most literate and well-written works of fantasy that I have had the privaledge of reading. I look forward to any and all of Mr. Donaldson's writings. He has yet to disappoint me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    2nd Best Series I have read (Tolkein being the Best,... of course)

    This was an awesome series. Got a little rusty at the end but the first 3 books especially were fantastic. The first 3 really should be a movie, much like the Lord of the Rings. Fanstastic characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Terrific Saga

    I have fallen in love with this story and can't wait to read the following novels! Thomas Covenant is an intricate character as are the people he meets! Very good book especially if you like epic stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5