Customer Reviews for

Lord Gray's List

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

Very good story

posted by 9597524 on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Negative

Just like many readers do not like books that shove Christianity/ religious view points down their throat I can't stand books that try to shove Social Agendas down mine....Yuck! This book would have been nice and naughty and much shorter without all the political yawns....
Just like many readers do not like books that shove Christianity/ religious view points down their throat I can't stand books that try to shove Social Agendas down mine....Yuck! This book would have been nice and naughty and much shorter without all the political yawns.

posted by getvictd on March 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Negative

    Just like many readers do not like books that shove Christianity/ religious view points down their throat I can't stand books that try to shove Social Agendas down mine....Yuck! This book would have been nice and naughty and much shorter without all the political yawns.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Very good story

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    I enjoyed this feminist fairy tale!

    This is not for purists, but anyone who has read historical romances and is tired of formulaic writing will love Evie and Ben's unconventional romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Evie Ramsay has lived her entire life either being really poor o

    Evie Ramsay has lived her entire life either being really poor or living an okay life because of her father’s gambling problem. Now her father has developed dementia and all that is left is a printer’s shop that was won by her father. Still spurned by how things were left with Benton Gray, Evie decides to pose as a man and develops a gossip rag call The London List. Now all of Ben’s salacious exploits are splatter across the pages. Ben decides to stop this from happening anymore and purchases the paper. To his dismay he finds out that 1. Evie is the one doing this and 2. that London is not happy that he is shutting the paper down. One of its biggest supporter is his own mother!

    Now Evie and Ben must bind together and make this paper work. Evie hates that she has to be near Ben but that doesn’t stop her from using her feminine ways to try to get him to leave the paper in her capable hands. Evie was Ben’s first love and obviously that is not forgotten. He plans to make sure that they work extremely close together.

    The reader never really knows why Evie hates/loves Ben the way she does and Ben apparently doesn’t either. This is one part of the story that was confusing. It was never made clear were the hate comes from.

    This was an enjoyable read and is like a historic version of what Gossip Girl would have been like during this time. This is a good light read with some sassy characters and steamy love scenes.

    (book was provided by publisher in exchange for a honest review)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Disapointed

    Rarely do i dislike a book but this was just awful. I had so skip throgh much of it to through it. The girl was hateful and rude throughout. The man constanly groveled after her. Thr author painted her as a very dislikabale person. I will probably not read any more of her boosks amd will delete this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good, funny, and different.

    This is my first book by Ms. Robinson. It is about 260 pages ofstory followed by some previews of her other books. This book is about a woman who is two years older than the man. The two characters are funny and Evie is good at finding fault in Ben. Ben is nice and rich. There was lots of romance with some crude language. This is not the type of romance i enjoy because the woman complains all the time and is older than the man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Below average. I just could not finish.

    Below average.

    I just could not finish.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LORD GRAY'S LIST by Maggie Robinson is an exciting Regency Histo

    LORD GRAY'S LIST by Maggie Robinson is an exciting Regency Historical romance set in 1820 London. Book 1 in the "London List" series. Follow Scottish born Lord Benton Gray who was raised by his English mother and lives in London. And Evangeline Ramsey, who publishes a newspaper for London,everyone thinks she is her father,who is ailing. Scandal and gossip sales papers, especially Lord Gray's exploits. Lord Gray learns of her deception,and soon finds them not only in physical danger but in danger of losing their hearts. Filled with danger,passion,secrets,desires,romance,and love. A fast paced story that is sure to capture your heart. Written with engaging characters and an interesting,intriguing plot. "Lord Gray's List" is a delightful beginning to the "London List" series and a must read for anyone who enjoys a fun fast read filled with passion,gossip,scandal and love. Ms. Robinson has done it again with "Lord Gray's List". I enjoy this author's writing and this was no exception. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Kensington Books, Brava Books,and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews


    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2012

    Maggie Robinson Delivers another terrific tale!

    Baron Benton Gray isn’t going to take it anymore. He’s sick and tired of the endless gossip that is published every week in The London List. When Lord Ben confronts the editor of The London List, he’s shocked to find that the editor is none other than his long lost love, Evangeline Ramsey. Evangeline, better know as Evie, loves to dress and act as a man. It makes her job of running the newspaper a lot easier. Evie is shocked to find Ben at her doorstep but keeps her wits about her during their confrontation. Through some finagling, Ben buys the newspaper with the intent to shut it down. After the announcement of the paper’s demise, a near riot breaks out. Ben decides to keep the paper operating, but he needs Evie’s help and convinces her to stay. Running the paper causes these two to spend a lot of time with each other. The story starts out hot and continues to heat up throughout the end. Neither Ben nor Evie can tolerate each other, but they also can’t keep their hands to themselves. As the underlying conflict resolves itself, these two finally figure out what they mean to each other. Their journey to true love is a frolicking good time. Maggie Robinson has written a delightfully funny tale that’s a pleasure to read. It’s the perfect way to start the holiday reading season. If you’ve never read a Maggie Robinson tale, then you’re in for a real treat.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Enjoyable

    A nice story, and a little different than some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Becomes tedious half way through...

    An interesting premise, and the book starts out with potential. Unfortunately it becomes a story that revolve around sex and little else. I did not even finish this book. Disappointed....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Unexpectedly erotic

    This was an interesting, if somewhat unlikely, perspective on a woman working under the pseudonym of her father's name. I found the unremitting episodes of torrid sex a annoying after a while . . . by comparison, rabbits (reportedly frequently engaged in procreation) are layabouts and relatively chaste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    While I enjoyed the plot and seeing both characters grow and cha

    While I enjoyed the plot and seeing both characters grow and change the language really got to me. I thought it could have been better without the language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    The book was ok

    The book was ok. Evengaline was annoying at times...give it a rest already!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    I couldn't get through the book because I found the repetitive u

    I couldn't get through the book because I found the repetitive use of the "F-word" disturbing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Anoyomous

    Anonymous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    FAIR

    its good a bit overly sensual...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    A great read!

    A lovely romp and romanc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Love this book!

    I enjoyed Lord Gray's List because it was a different story than the usual stuffy ball rooms and flirting misses. Evie is a strong heroine, doing what it takes to make her father's life easier, even if it is not what society dictates. Ben sees right thru her charades and that's when the fun really begins! Sexy and romantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Just okay

    This book was just okay. I normally get into the book. This book did not grab my interest. I finished it, but i read other books in between. I like historical romances. I normally can see why the writer is saying, but for the most part I kept waiting for it to grab hold an for the most part it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3