Customer Reviews for

Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    A Practical Approach God's Way

    Leslie shows us how with simple, practical, useful suggestions to move from a life that's stuck to a life filled with happiness. I thought the Christian life was only about suffering, but after reading this book, realized it does include suffering but also includes happiness and joy. It makes so much sense to practice happiness each day and make it a goal. Thank you Leslie for your insight, experience and practical application.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Wow, definately a must read!

    When I started reading this book, I set out with the idea in the back of my head that this book would give me good insight and ideas of things to work with my clients on; however, I found many ways I could use it myself. The amazing thing about this book is I wasn't being overwhelmed with a feeling of not being happy. This amazing book put into perspective how God needs to work into our happiness too, otherwise, what's the point? I already have told so many people about this book and cannot wait to hear what they took from the book too. I'm reading this through for the second time, with a purpose of how I can live my life how I really want to. This book is a fabulous read for people at all stages of life. Check it OUT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    A Happy Read With Happy Results

    The only unhappy part of reading this book was closing the cover on the final page. Flowing with the ease of a conversation with a wise,trusted friend, each chapter is filled with poignant illustrations, practical help and penetrating principles from scripture that encourage and guide the reader into a richer relationship with Jesus.
    Having read some of Leslie's other books, I expected to learn important truths about myself, my choices and God. What I never expected was learning how to make lemonade while controlling an elephant or the happy changes that result from putting that knowledge into practice. Read this book - you'll be happy you did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Happier Days Ahead!

    Well on the road to happier life, I have just finished reading Lord, I Just Want To Be Happy and have to say that this is well worth the read! Not only worth reading but also putting the skills Leslie Vernick teaches, into action!

    Leslie guides and encourages us to take the necessary steps in learning how to live a happier life in Christ, by helping us to understand our unhappiness, showing us how to move beyond our unhappiness, and then taking all we've learned and practicing it in order to lead happier lives. She uses practical biblical applications and examples in developing these skills and focuses on the fact that true happiness is only found in living our lives for Christ. Though most Christians already know this fact the issue often is how to carry it out, especially in the midst of our hurried, chaotic, and broken lives.

    "Lord, I Just Want To Be Happy is a life-changing book for anyone wanting to live a happier life. It helps us to examine our lives in light of God's word and gives a formula for lasting change. At the end of each chapter are life-application questions for thought and discussion, making this book an excellent tool for personal growth or group study. I highly, highly recommend this book!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    Execellent resource for anyone wanting to understand their emotions and the choices we have in them.

    We all have "stories" in our lives, but sometimes these stories are based on our perception and not on reality. Leslie Vernick gently guides you through ways of deciphering the truth, and changing our stories to reflect what is true. She offers not only sound Biblical advice, but backs it up with modern proofs from the world of medicine. I will be purchasing more of this book to share with friends and family. We all need a reminder now and then, that , in the words of the author: "Happiness isn't about feeling fabulous and never feeling pain. It's about feeling pain and finding purpose. It's about experiencing joy, hope, love, and peace in the midst of our tears." (taken from pg 200 of the book)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Decide to Make a Difference - In Your Life

    In Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy, key questions are raised to awaken our consciousness. Leslie Vernick distills the cultural messages we succumb to. We are called to rewrite our own script and let go of the one we've bought. Her message is positive, encouraging, and realistic. The reader has in this book both a spiritual life coach and a friend. It provides the tools to take a personal inventory, one which requires focus and sincerity with ourselves. We can take responsibility for ourselves, without it being condemning or a drudgery. The author incorporates her professional knowledge, faith life, and wisdom with real life scenarios, all to lead us along a path of personal growth. Of the many questions asked to think critically and explore our lives, she asks, "What do you think of the idea that happiness is a skill we can learn?" The book teaches that happiness is a skill, a way of thinking and being. Lord, I Just Want to Be Happy can make a difference, if you let it! Review written by Beatrice Figueroa February 27, 2010

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Practical, easy to understand

    Leslie Vernick's newest book, Lord I just want to be happy! delivers sound, practical Bible-based psychological information about dealing effectively with life. In addition to the information at the end of each chapter thoughtul, life-changing questions and activities provide opportunity to discover and change life-diminishing behaviors.

    I recommend this book for Bible Studies and personal growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lord, I just want to be happy

    I greatly enjoyed Mrs. Vernick's latest book Lord, I just want to be happy. Leslie writes in a way that is easy to understand and motivating for change at the same time. She makes understanding spiritual growth and spiritual disciplines simple. One of my favorite quotes from her book states that "Happiness isn't about feeling fabulous and never feeling pain. It's about feeling pain and finding purpose. It's about experiencing joy, hope, love, and peace in the midst of our tears." Lord, I just want to be happy is practical, encouraging and hopeful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    More Than Information

    Leslie Vernick gives a reader more than information. One can't read the book without self-evaluating emotions, thoughts and feelings. Leslie provides insights and solutions with sound biblical principles and references. What I thought might be a quick read turned into a process full of rereading, reflecting, evaluating, and highlighting. This book helped nudge me to reexamine where I am and where I want and need to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    A Practical and Helpful Read for Everyone

    Leslie writes in a way that speaks to everyone. She gives such practical advise easy to understand and implement in your life. She starts by addressing troublesome attitudes and wrong thinking, gives applicable scripture and follows it up with real life examples to ensure complete comprehension of problem thinking, attitudes, actions and step by step remedies to make difficult changes. This would be a book to refer to often. It would be a great book to give to someone who is struggling and stuck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    Well worth reading

    I received "Lord, I just want to be Happy" on Oct. 7 and want to share my thoughts. Number 1, it is Biblically based. The Bible does contain many answers if we take the time to read and search it. It is written in an easy to read and understand format. At the end of each chapter she has deep thought provoking questions to get in touch with how we really think and handle life situations. What I got throughout the book is "Attitude and Gratitude". These 2 ways of looking at your life and life's issues tell us a lot about how we process "life's bumps". We must take responsibility for our own choices, and look within. We need to take responsibility for ourselves. No one can do it for us. Whatever holds our attention affects us emotionally, as Leslie wrote in her book. Gave me something to think about. She offers suggestions throughout her book on actions we can take to assist us in the process of being happy. My book has a lot of underlining, stars and comments in the margins. I recommend this book to anyone who is searching their soul. It really is true, whatever come our way it is how we look at it that can make all the difference. I am not saying this is easy. I like Leslie's style of writing. I have 2 of her other books also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Be happy even when circumstances don't change!

    Leslie Vernick is very interesting to read with personal illustrations as well as stories from clients. The book is thus easier to apply to our own lives. She begins the book with the thought that holy lives should also be happy lives. Happiness is due in large part to the choices and responses we make on a daily basis. She talks very practically about how we must choose to keep our minds focused on God and His good purposes for our lives; must choose to serve others; must choose to replace negative thoughts with positive ones; must choose to correct areas in our lives that need to change; must choose to be grateful. She expands on these areas and many more (prayer, the Cross, fasting, solitude, meditation, etc.). I highly recommend the book--I like to mark in the books I'm reading and this one is full of marks! The book has challenged me especially with the thought-provoking questions at the end of each chapter (would be a great book to use in small group settings). I plan to order several copies as gifts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    Excellent read!

    So often as Christians we hear sermons that admonish us to live out our lives a certain way - have a certain attitude - be positive - have a right relationship with God. It's not that we don't want to live the way God intended for us to live, but few people teach us in a practical way how to implement the changes we need to make! Leslie Vernick gives us some practical instruction on how to make the changes we need to make to live a happy life and be the person God intended for us to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    Well Worth It

    Leslie has a real way about her. She speaks and writes as if she is talking to you. Her books are always full of God's message of grace, love and salvation.
    This book was really wonderful. I highly recommend it to anyone who is struggling with feeling unhappy.
    I personally struggle with this periodically. Well, really just once a month. During that time, my thoughts and feelings become so dark, I find myself saying "I'm not happy", "I don't like what is going on", "I'm miserable", something has to change. Most of the time I always think it is everyone else that needs to change and then I'll be happy. But through reading Leslie's book, I found out that is not the case.
    I am responsible for my own attitudes and feelings. God has given me everything I need to be christlike in all situations. I just need to use it and put it into practice. Now, this is not a new concept for me. I have heard much of what Leslie says in her book many times from my pastor. However, this book spoke to me in a different way. The best part about this book is, she actually gives you practical things that you can do to really make changes in your life. Typically when I read a book that is supposed to help you, I feel like they spend alot of time telling you what is wrong and then don't really give you the tools to implement change. I want to know what to do in any given circumstance that is going to help me not repeat what I've been doing so far. If I'm reading a book to help me, then I want to be able to implement change and I want the author to tell me how to do that, in a practical sense.
    Leslie uses her own experiences and examples, as well as some of those she counsels. I like that to. It helps me to feel like I am not alone in what is happening. There are other people who have the same struggles.
    Again, I highly recommend this book. It was easy to read. It was full of useful information. There are study questions at the end of each chapter to get you thinking and motivated. I don't think anyone who is struggling with this issue would be disappointed after reading this book.
    I am excited about putting into practice what I have learned.
    For the first time in a long time I feel like there is hope for what I am going through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1