Customer Reviews for

The Lord Is My Shepherd (Psalm 23 Mysteries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It reminded me of the Rabbi novels by Harry Kemelman. I was plea

    It reminded me of the Rabbi novels by Harry Kemelman. I was pleasantly surprised by it. Considering it's geared for a Christian audience, it was a little surprised by how dark the nature of the crimes were. But, if you've actually read your Bible, you'll know that there is some pretty violent stuff portrayed, it's just not usually as graphic. I'm looking forward to reading the next couple of installments in this series.

    The eBook was formatted well with no obvious errors.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Series Beginning

    I picked "The Lord Is My Shepherd" because I was looking for a cozy mystery. I love that cozy mysteries give you a mystery without the sex and foul language. Cozies also involve more characters that I can relate to. Let's face it, for the most part, the people we know aren't fashion models, movie stars or explorers. Most of us through six degrees of separation may know someone in a high end career, but most of us still live our day-to-day lives far from a spotlight. In a cozy anyone can become a central character to an adventure be that person a grandma, waitress, real estate agent or even a church secretary.

    Now this cozy was a little more bloody and creepy than the usual cozy, but it still had most of the key ingredients that I enjoy. Cindy is a mild-mannered and perhaps slightly bored church secretary who literally stumbles on a corpse in the church sanctuary of all places. The story immediately moves forward from there and introduces Rabbi Jeremiah Silverman and man other characters. Together they have quite a wild ride and some rough patches and truly I had no idea who the actual killer was. Let's just say that was a thrill in itself as I almost always figure things out.

    "The Lord Is My Shepherd" delighted me so much that I immediately began to read the next book in the series "I Shall Not Want." The icing on top of the cake is that both books in the series, well actually all three of the books in the series were for free at various times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Pleasant mystery

    This is another amatuer sleuth mystery. A church secretary and a Rabbi from the temple next door meet at a murder scene. The mystery is complex and hard to guess who done it. The romance is only hinted at and friendship is the thing. I found the second book in the series somewhere and read both in sequence and immediately. That's something I don't usually do. The characters had a hold on me! Overall, it's a nice read. You'll enjoy it if you like the genre.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Fantastic story and writing

    I was hooked on this story from the first sentence. It was tight, quick writing. The plot was very good and you were kept on your toes the entire time.
    I am definitely ready to buy more of this author's books. And I truly love this series even with just one book read.
    This is a definite read for anyone who loves mysteries. It is a definite read for anyone who loves a good writer. You do not get bored with this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Surprisingly addictive

    Yes the story was not the most believable but it was a surprisingly light hearted read for all the bodies and death. I found myself smiling and laughing at several places. I intend to read more and watch the two main characters evolve. After so many highly graphic murder mystery writers it's nice to have a good mystery with enough hope and laughter to have an ending that leaves you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Not too bad!

    I was suprised to find a religious mystery. Being it was free was even better. I was totally involved...the characters were believable nd it had several twists and turns. Good book, I will pirchase the next in her series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Religion & murder mystery

    190 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Kept me guessing

    Wasn't sure what to expect. Found a pleant not too gory mystery. Pleasantly surprised. Like the fact the story was not too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Interesting twist

    Great book on the last few days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I chose this book for our church book club & after reading t

    I chose this book for our church book club & after reading the first 2 chapters I immediately called our group to change books. The humor is sacrilegious and demeaning to Jesus' death & resurrection. Even leaving that aside, the writing was the style of what you would find in "young adult" (middle school age) books. I would not recommend this to anyone and I plan on deleting it from my Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Great Read. Fun and entertaining. Did not figure it out until

    Great Read. Fun and entertaining. Did not figure it out until author wanted me to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Great read

    Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good Read

    Good Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    exellant book!

    this book is very interesting. I liked it a lot. JAL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Enjoyable book

    I enjoyed this book. It kept me up way past midnight. A good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    GREAT MYSTERY

    This is the first installment of the Psalm 23 Mystery Series and I throughly enjoyed it. Overall an intriguing mystery that kept my attention through the entire novel. Character development very good. A real page turner and I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Spring is here, bringing on Easter Week and Passover.  Cindy's c

    Spring is here, bringing on Easter Week and Passover.  Cindy's church and Jeremiah's synagogue are next door to each other.  This is convenient because both congregations can use the other's parking lot for overflow parking during services.  But when Cindy's screams in the church are heard by Jeremiah in the parking lot, a new alliance is formed.

    There's a body in the church and fear and death draw people together.  While the police, led by Mark, try to figure who this dead stranger is, Cindy and Jeremiah, who Mark dubs 'The Good Samaritan', find themselves as detectives too because someone seems to be targeting Cindy also.  Cindy can't leave things alone because her fears are driving her innate curiosity to find solutions.  Jeremiah's mysterious past and his drive to protect Cindy get him involved more than some in his congregation appreciate.

    This fun mystery also captures the mind and motives of a vicious serial murderer, but the story is filled more with hope and religious understanding than with morbid descriptions. The uniting for good and helpful interactions make this an unusual but fantastic book for all mystery lovers .

    Thankfully, there are two more books in this series, because I'm left wanting more from these characters .  I also want to learn more of their pasts, only hinted at in this first book. And lastly, I really like how the respectful interactions are blooming between these two religions.  But mostly, the mystery was fast passed and terrific all by it's self !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Can't wait to read the next books

    This was a fun murder mystery, light yet not obvious, with a little romantic flavor. I loved the church setting.

    I'm buying the next books and will be watching for the whole series!

    Yummy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    I enjoyed this series very much! Yes, it was more graphic than s

    I enjoyed this series very much! Yes, it was more graphic than some Christian cozy mysteries, but it was nice not to have a syrupy sweet plot, either! I read all three books, and they don't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4