BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lord Jim

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    The Other Side of Kurtz

    In HEART OF DARKNESS, one of three Conradian works featuring the narrator Marlowe, the main character is Kurtz, a European completely corrupted by imperialism. In LORD JIM, Marlowe tells of his friend Jim, another European who seeks the jungle. Jim does everything he can to help the tribesmen he encounters. Although LORD JIM is an anti-imperialist book, it is a warning from a civilized author to a civilized readership to expect to be demoralized in any encounter with primitive peoples. Kurtz is a bad man and Jim is a good man, but the two have much in common. Marlowe (Conrad's mouthpiece) pities them both.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Flip Side of Heart of Darkness

    This beautiful story of a young man damned to a reputation of cowardice is from the man who wrote HEART OF DARKNESS. This involves imperialists in the jungle, as does HEART OF DARKNESS, but Jim, the young man, wants to help people. Whether he can or not is part of the plot. Conrad is the master of irony.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    A thinking mans adventure.

    Lord Jim is an adventure story, but it also involves the psychological side. There were several chapters that I had to reread several times to get a true grasp of the story that was being told. And that's alright. Jim is a young man who pictures himself as one who is destined to be a hero and a great adventurer. Unfortunately reality does not match his vision and Jim must deal with his own act of cowardice. Wherever Jim goes and as much as he tries to hide form his past, he soon learns it catches up with him and since he does not know that if he can be forgiven he runs further and further. His lack of knowing that he can have redemptions leads to a very sad ending. While this is not as easy reading as most adventures, and at times made me want to pull my hair out, I still recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    If you interested

    If anyone wants to talk with me, i will be happy and willing to chat with you:)
    -EMILY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Not English

    Whether a bad encode or mislabeled language rhs book is unreadable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    One of the finest books I ever read

    I had just graduated from highschool when I read Lord Jim. Anyone can understand it if they invest their time in it. And it would be an investment that pays dividends for the rest of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    It's full of typos..

    This versionwas unreadalbe because all the typos and line errors I found....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    difficult to read

    format is difficult to follow. Paragraphs are either run on or separated in middle by line spaces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Joseph Conrad is not my type of writer.

    In my opinion the story became bogged done with too much psychological analysing of the characters to keep my interest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    boring

    I thought the first half of the book was pretty good but it went downhill from there. I really struggled to finish this one. Boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    excellent book!

    I think that this was an wonderful book. It was one book out of many on my 9th grade reading list, and I am so glad that I read it. THe characters are memorable, and the storyline is wonderful. Conrad is a very elegant writer with an interesting style. I would definitly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    classics

    Too many Americans have difficulty reading material that has not been simplified. This is too bad for many books involve vocabulary and an appreciation for dialect. This book is one that requires an education to appreciate. Yet, I hope readers do not shy away from it. You need not have a teacher, only a curious mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2