Customer Reviews for

Lord Jim

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I read Lord Jim for the first time as a teenager I found it boring. Many years later I now find it an amazing book. Conrad himself spent sixteen years at sea in the late 1800s, so this book is to some degree autobiographical. The version of this book that I have even quotes Conrad: 'Every novel contains an element of autobiography.' In this book, the protagonist, Jim, travels to a remote region of the world, far from Victorian England. In this sense, the plot is similar to that in one of Conrad's other famous works, Heart of Darkness. Other than that book, I'm not familiar with Conrad's other works, nor am I an expert in Victorian literature, so I can't place this in its proper historical context. However, it seems like an amazingly well written story in and of itself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    The Other Side of Kurtz

    In HEART OF DARKNESS, one of three Conradian works featuring the narrator Marlowe, the main character is Kurtz, a European completely corrupted by imperialism. In LORD JIM, Marlowe tells of his friend Jim, another European who seeks the jungle. Jim does everything he can to help the tribesmen he encounters. Although LORD JIM is an anti-imperialist book, it is a warning from a civilized author to a civilized readership to expect to be demoralized in any encounter with primitive peoples. Kurtz is a bad man and Jim is a good man, but the two have much in common. Marlowe (Conrad's mouthpiece) pities them both.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    A thinking mans adventure.

    Lord Jim is an adventure story, but it also involves the psychological side. There were several chapters that I had to reread several times to get a true grasp of the story that was being told. And that's alright. Jim is a young man who pictures himself as one who is destined to be a hero and a great adventurer. Unfortunately reality does not match his vision and Jim must deal with his own act of cowardice. Wherever Jim goes and as much as he tries to hide form his past, he soon learns it catches up with him and since he does not know that if he can be forgiven he runs further and further. His lack of knowing that he can have redemptions leads to a very sad ending. While this is not as easy reading as most adventures, and at times made me want to pull my hair out, I still recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    The dragons

    The attacker screamed and fell to the ground, dead. The other one was still unconscios.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Amethyst

    Name: Amethyst <br> Description: pale purple, huge, ancient, purple eyes <p> Likes: eating rocks, swimming, watching people <br> Personality: generous, selfless, unflirty, strong <p> Rider-crush: pony-shrug

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    TO ALL RIDER-LESS DRAGONS!

    Post an application here! Description, personality, likes, and rider-crush! <p> A roar for every rider, a rider for every roar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    Arain gtg bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    Kyros

    Went reluctantlt to aesop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Storm

    She gently nuzzled the smaller dragon. She was a mother and would be good with this kind of thing. She curled around it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Alaha

    A blonde bombshell walks in in a bathing suit and a flat stoumuch. She had green eyes and she walked to kat. Hey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Hello

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Kat

    She warms up and stands on her tip toes and wraps one eg around his waist. She kisses him with more heat but still soft.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Oh Ho Hum

    next to the most boring book I've ever read. Just putting words on the paper to use words is not my cup of tea.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    excellent book!

    I think that this was an wonderful book. It was one book out of many on my 9th grade reading list, and I am so glad that I read it. THe characters are memorable, and the storyline is wonderful. Conrad is a very elegant writer with an interesting style. I would definitly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    classics

    Too many Americans have difficulty reading material that has not been simplified. This is too bad for many books involve vocabulary and an appreciation for dialect. This book is one that requires an education to appreciate. Yet, I hope readers do not shy away from it. You need not have a teacher, only a curious mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Professional Readers Only

    In LORD JIM Joseph Conrad is telling of a story of a man how he has to deal with guilt and how he is going to try and find redemption. In the beginning of the book it goes pretty smooth then the dialect starts jumping from the present time to the past and back again. If the author would have just wrote the story line with out so much detail in trying to describe every little thing, it would go much faster and easier to keep up. I only recommend this book for a class project or expert readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    not a Conrad fan

    I wish that Conrad did not have such a penchant for making almost his entire book one long quotation. Distinguishing the embedded quotes, as well as figuring out the antecedents of pronouns in text such as 'he exclaimed,' was frustrating. I thought, however, that the moral of the story in this book was more worth telling than the one in 'Heart of Darkness,' and it was a more satisfying 'atonement' than the recent novel of that name. Still, I found the writing difficult to wade through. It is easy to become mesmerized by the prose to the point of almost missing significant details of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2