Customer Reviews for

Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (Lord John Grey Series)

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mystery, Romance, and Historical Fiction All in one

Read this book if you are in desperate need of any Outlander connection. As usual Gabaldon's writing style is superb, she paints her characters with extreme detail and startling depth while also plotting a mystery. The gay romance is beautiful and built upon layers of c...
Read this book if you are in desperate need of any Outlander connection. As usual Gabaldon's writing style is superb, she paints her characters with extreme detail and startling depth while also plotting a mystery. The gay romance is beautiful and built upon layers of complication depicting an impossible love triangle (between three men). I've always liked Lord John Grey (except when he made his first move on Jamie at Ardsmuir) but I grew to love and sympathize with him in this book.

I read this novel AFTER reading "An Echo in the Bone" and therefore was really rather grateful for all the clarification regarding Grey's elusive past and involvement with the infamous, Percival Wainwringht. Percy really keeps you on edge throughout the novel and you keep thinking "Okay what is he going to do next?" I kept thinking he was evil and never really trusted him. He is a very entertaining character. You get a good taste of the Seven Years War and the vivid recollections of war that come with most of Gabaldon's novels.

Alas I can NOT give this novel 5 stars due to my lack of ardor while reading it. I got through it towards the end but enjoyed most of it. Gabaldon is a gifted writer and story teller and if you can not wait for her next book then this book will give you comfort.

posted by msayyid on March 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed Expectation

A gay mystery romance is not what I expected from Gabaldon when I bought this book. While some have reviewed it as gay pornography, I didn't find it any more risque than the Harlequin romances female coworkers read during their lunch hours. What I found annoying is th...
A gay mystery romance is not what I expected from Gabaldon when I bought this book. While some have reviewed it as gay pornography, I didn't find it any more risque than the Harlequin romances female coworkers read during their lunch hours. What I found annoying is this book refers quite a bit to characters and events that happened in the first book, 'The Private Matter,' making it rather difficult to follow and sort through the story without having read the first. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this book. It wasn't as good as the Highlander series which I have enjoyed immensely.

posted by DragonDancerRB on April 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery, Romance, and Historical Fiction All in one

    Read this book if you are in desperate need of any Outlander connection. As usual Gabaldon's writing style is superb, she paints her characters with extreme detail and startling depth while also plotting a mystery. The gay romance is beautiful and built upon layers of complication depicting an impossible love triangle (between three men). I've always liked Lord John Grey (except when he made his first move on Jamie at Ardsmuir) but I grew to love and sympathize with him in this book.

    I read this novel AFTER reading "An Echo in the Bone" and therefore was really rather grateful for all the clarification regarding Grey's elusive past and involvement with the infamous, Percival Wainwringht. Percy really keeps you on edge throughout the novel and you keep thinking "Okay what is he going to do next?" I kept thinking he was evil and never really trusted him. He is a very entertaining character. You get a good taste of the Seven Years War and the vivid recollections of war that come with most of Gabaldon's novels.

    Alas I can NOT give this novel 5 stars due to my lack of ardor while reading it. I got through it towards the end but enjoyed most of it. Gabaldon is a gifted writer and story teller and if you can not wait for her next book then this book will give you comfort.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    The best of the Lord John books

    A good read- sensous, action-filled though psychological novel, with brief glimpses of Jamie. Though the Lord John series is not quite as good as the Outlander series (but what could compete with Jamie- even for those of us who despise "romance" novels?), this series is an excellent way to wean yourself off the Outlander books, or to keep yourself occupied until the next Outlander book comes out. I wouldn't recommend this book for your average book club unless there aren't any homophobes, but otherwise, I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes historical fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed Expectation

    A gay mystery romance is not what I expected from Gabaldon when I bought this book. While some have reviewed it as gay pornography, I didn't find it any more risque than the Harlequin romances female coworkers read during their lunch hours. What I found annoying is this book refers quite a bit to characters and events that happened in the first book, 'The Private Matter,' making it rather difficult to follow and sort through the story without having read the first. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this book. It wasn't as good as the Highlander series which I have enjoyed immensely.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    OUTSTANDING HISTORICAL INSIGHT!

    Diana Gabaldon has a magical way of drawing in her readers. The characters were well developed and understood. The Brotherhood of Blade is a fine example of historical accounts that, in many sad ways, still exsist today. 1758, a time of war in England is also a time of misery for those who would hide their identity, their sexual difference of preference from that the law permits via church and government. The book details the inside thoughts of those in fear of an inevitable exicution by grisly torture should they be revealed and exposed. The story is captivating. Having already read Lord John and the Private Matter, I had a sense of clear undestanding and backround to enjoy this read fully. Having said that, I am sure the book stands well on its own which is a quality in writing that I truly appreciate. I believe the sexual content, a bit descriptive was, infact, necessary for the reader to be able to imbibe and understand the writers passion. I enjoyed this read and would recommend it to any adult.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Excellent

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. To the reviewer who thought this was an adult book, I agree. But I think all her books are adult. Her descriptions of people are so full and well-rounded that they are a joy to read even if the story weren't riveting. I found the description of the gay lifestyle in the 1700s very interesting it was something I was unfamiliar with. Be sure to read Lord John and the Private Matter first, it makes this book more understandable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Recommended

    A must read if you have read the Outlander series. Especially if you are having Jamie and Clare withdrawal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    really interesting addition to the series

    really interesting addition to the series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Another great book by Gabaldon

    Besides the well researched history woven into a great storyline, I love Gabldon's use of vocab.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Excellent-I love everything Gabaldon!

    I've read her Voyager series three times and I expect I will reread the Lord John series many times as well. Engaging, fun, historical fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An outstanding author contraversial subject matter.

    Already having earned gradute degrees in both Marine Biology and Ecology, Diana Gabaldon should probably qualify for degrees in far more subjects based on the extensive research that she must have done in this and all her other books including the Outlander series. Her works have priority in my library - all are well worth reading again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    Lord John

    I love the Lord John books, however, I love anything by Diana Gabaldon. There is not one book of hers that I have not added to my collection, and read numerous times and this one is just as good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Being a gay man in 1758 England is difficult as caught sodomites are hung in a grisly manner. The government does not call attention to a group of conspirators who will be tried for treason so instead accuse them of sodomy. Lord Major John Grey, brother to Hal, the Duke of Pardloe, keeps his sexual orientation hidden for fear a wrongly placed whisper means death. While in the Hal¿s Office, a page of their dead father¿s journal is found on his desk. Hal tells John he was exiled to Aberdeen when his father died because there were rumors that their father was a traitor who was going to be arrested and rumors of his being a sodomite were on everyone¿s lips. John takes solace in his new relationship with Percy, the stepson of the man about to marry his mother. Percy joins the same regiment that John and Hal belong to so that they have another reason to be brothers. John has recently been attacked several times their mother believes the incidents are tied to their father¿s murder. John is content to be with someone he cares about and not delve into the homicide even if it ties to the present. After their regiment deploys to the German front to fight the French, clues surface that could solve the decade old murder mystery. --- The latest Lord John book is more a historical drama than a mystery. Readers obtain a glimpse at life in mid eighteenth century England for someone who is gay. John is an honorable person who relishes his sexual orientation although he hates having to hide it (not out of shame but out of a real fear for his life). The murder mystery is interspersed throughout the story line as that subplot serves to enhance the look at the life of a homosexual in historical England. Diana Gabaldon¿s provides a powerful Lord John tale that is unforgettable especially with its relevancy today. This author can't write a bad book as they are all fascinating and memorable. --- Harriet Klausner Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    it's ok

    I miss Jamie and Claire...it's not the same with lord John

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    NOT A FAN

    this ruined my view of Lord John.....I really liked him through out the Outlander series - there was one scene with Jamie that just destroyed what I believed their relationship to be - honorable and kind - mutually....I loved the book up until then

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    The story was interesting, the book would have been very good, but the graphic sex descriptions took away from the story and made the book definitely adult reading

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Almost the best

    this was my third-favorite of all of her novels. I thought the plot was the best, but the characters weren't quite as compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Best of Lord John Grey series

    As with all of the Outlander series, I have really enjoyed the Lord John Grey series. The Brotherhood of the Blade is my favorite of the Lord John stories. The reader really gets a better idea of who Lord John is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    Exciting read

    It was a fast paced read and well written. One of those books that you want to keep reading and not lay down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Diana Gabaldon Lord John

    I have collected Diana Gabaldon books, and most of then in Audio books,
    The audio books of her's gives the langauage flavor, and you can feel that you are a real partd of them. Auto can go everywhere with you as mine do. So when I read the book I the acient of the lanugage in mind.
    They are great.
    I bought Lord John as a book because I wanted to take my time reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC READ!

    A fine mystery, a tragic romance, a well researched historical all blend in tightly woven threads of a tartan to entertain readers.
    Lord John Grey is one of the most intriguing characters to step into his own from Dana Gabaldon's outstanding Outlander series. Lord John's family is his most important possession. He protects its members and regains the family's honor from a murder disguised as suicide. With each addition to the saga, Ms. Galbaldon takes historical fiction out of the doldrums and creates literature with skillful strokes. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7