Customer Reviews for

Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John Grey Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

insightful Georgian espionage mystery

In 1757, Major John Grey, an aristocrat concludes he must end his cousin Olivia¿s engagement to John Trevelyn because he knows the man suffers from the pox. After consulting on the delicate matter with his military superior, Colonel Quarry also assigns John to investig...
In 1757, Major John Grey, an aristocrat concludes he must end his cousin Olivia¿s engagement to John Trevelyn because he knows the man suffers from the pox. After consulting on the delicate matter with his military superior, Colonel Quarry also assigns John to investigate stolen ordnance requisitions, which unless recovered will force the English armies on the continent to make costly relocations to avoid massacres.

John begins his inquiries with the homicide of soldier Timothy O¿Connell who is the prime suspect. Evidence takes John to a whorehouse and subsequently to a gay gentleman¿s house, Lavender House that he knows intimately from five years ago. He continues to follow the trail that leads to a small specialty wine shop and from there to the murder of a wine maker wearing a dress. As he closes in on the military case, he makes major progress on the personal matter too, but does not realizing the two connect. John forces the end of Joseph¿s engagement to Olivia, but also is drugged by the man.

Though readers need to understand that this is not a romance and the likable hero has a gay encounter, the novel still is the typical Gabaldon book. The insightful Georgian espionage mystery is rich with a taste for the era, but not just the typical kind found in mid eighteenth century novels. John, who has appeared in previous novels such as THE FIERY CROSS, is a delightful hero and the support cast adds depth to the era and to the suspense including a rather surprising heterosexual love story.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Gay Porn says it all

I have loved every single one of Diana Gabaldon's books, but have to say I was so disappointed and sad at the content in this book. I find Lord John as a character, interesting, but I could use a little less of the grafic gay encounters Lord John encounters. I would n...
I have loved every single one of Diana Gabaldon's books, but have to say I was so disappointed and sad at the content in this book. I find Lord John as a character, interesting, but I could use a little less of the grafic gay encounters Lord John encounters. I would never recommend this book or any in its series, and would like a refund of my money. I should have read them in the bookstore and saved my money.

posted by 470384 on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Love Gabaldan, not so much John Grey....

    I loved the Outlander series and am sorely disappointed with John Grey. The characters lack sympathy, warmth and charisma, while the history seems quite weak. The obsession with homosexual behavior got a bit boring and did not add to the storyline. I will continue the Outlander series but no more John Grey for me.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Big disappointment!

    As thrilling as the Outlander series is, Diana dropped the ball with the Lord John series. The plots are endlessly wordy and boring. Its funny that the premise is a good idea but the writing is redundant. Luckily I love the Outlander characters and am reading the books a second time through as years have passed between books so they are like new again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Boring

    I loved the outlander series so I thought I would try Lord John. I could not get past a paragraph without falling asleep or trying to pay attention to what I was reading. What a huge let down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Not good Gabaldon

    I am such a fan of the Claire/Jamie series, and I had high hopes for this book. It's awful. I can't imagine Diana Gabaldon writing this book and her editor allowing it to be published. It's disjointed and confusing, boring and uninteresting, all at the same time. There isn't one sympathetic character. I'm writing an historical mystery novel myself and I've gotten some tips from this book on what can go wrong and how NOT to write.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    GABALDON WROTE THIS???

    My first thought upon completing this book was...I hope this is the pubs idea. The idea that this is the first in a series is very distressing. I found nothing positive in this piece to recommend. I am a romance reader. This is NOT a romance. If Ms. Gabaldon did not intend this to be a romance, the publisher should not promote it as one. Diana Gabaldon is a splendid writer and I would recommend her previous series. There is a percentage of the society that might enjoy this piece, however, I am not among that group .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    Gabaldon wrote THIS?????

    Since I first read Gabaldon's books, the Outlander stories, I have eagerly awaited the next publications of her books. This offering was certainly not what I expected and I still am amazed that it was published. I do hope that she is not becoming an author who publishes on her name only. I found the book to be boring and a futile attempt at redeeming Lord John. I finished it in hopes of finding the reason for publication somewhere in those pages...it never happened. While her previous books were five star, this one barely rates the one star...and should be a wake up call...please leave Lord John as a minor character and don't foist inferior literature on your fans, you are far too talented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    Did not finish.

    I love Diana's Outlander series, but this one I could not finish. It was sooo boring...., plus other content that did not move me. Her Outlander books had fantasy and adventure. Diana should put her energy in finishing the Outlander series and then move on to other projects. Her Outlander books have been published almost every five years.I can imagine when she plans to publish the next Lord John's installment, most likely in about ten years. Good Luck waiting, because I am not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Terrible disappointment in new book by Diana

    I am on of Diana Gabaldon's greatest fans, but if I had read this book first, I would not have read any other subsequent books, no matter how raving the reviews. I had a really hard time finishing it, it is not even an interesting mystery and the homosexual references were far more graphic than necessary. I wonder if Ms. Gabaldon minds the fact that her own children will read this book some day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2003

    Lord John not up to par.

    I am a big fan of Diana Gabaldon but did not at all enjoy this book. It was too full of musings and too devoid of emotion. It lacked the humor and delicious nuances that I have come to expect of this author, the book fell far short of my expectations. I feel it failed utterly as a mystery and quite failed to keep my attention at all. It was a chore to finish it, so unlike what I have come to expect from Diana Gabaldon. I found it very disappointing and would not purchase another book based on this character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2003

    Pass on this one!!!

    If you are a Gabaldon fan and really are interested in reading this book. Get it from your local library don't waste your money on it. It is not at all as compelling at her Outlander series, (and yes I do know that it was not another Jamie and Claire book) nothing at all to sink your teeth into. I couldn't even finish the book, I kept waiting for it to get better, but it never did. I gave up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Not so goof Not so good


    What can be said about John Grey? BORING NiCE GUY.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Not even in the ballpark with Outlander series

    I did not care for this book. The fire, passion, humor, historical details, rounding out of -- and caring about -- the characters, were not there for me in this latest edition. The author's previous books were such page turners that I am reading them for a second time. Please, more books like the Outlander series...and best wishes to a gifted author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    Terribly Disappointing*

    When I saw that Diana Gabaldon had written another book I couldn't wait to get it! Unfortunately the book did not live up to my expectations. It was devoid of emotion and I felt the story line moved too fast with little or no explanation. Save your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1