Customer Reviews for

Lord Loss (Demonata Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SHAN IS AWESOME

    This is the first book in the demonata series and it is great. I read this book in one day, i just couldent put it down, i tried but i couldent. I beleive that everybody should read this book. I give it 6 out of five stars.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    darren shan does it again

    I have read his previous series Cirque Du Freak and couldn't put any of the books down. Same for this terrific series. The characters and storyline just capture you in this fantastic world that in ways is so relatable to real scenarios. Darren shan is a terrific writer and cantwait to see how this series ends. A must read for all!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    THE PERFECT EXAMPLE OF A THRILLING BOOK!

    Darren Shan (my favorite author) has amazed me once again with his first installment of the demonata series, Lord Loss. This book is for the perfect horror and suspense readers. When i first got this book, i was so anxious to read it because i know how Darren Shan is with his writing and great detail. Just like his previous series The Cirque Du Freak saga, i just knew that Darren Shan wouldn't disappoint. And he never did!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Darren Shan Proves To Be Amazing!!!

    I have found Lord Loss to be an amazing book. This book will definitely look good on your collection for all those lovers of horror and suspense. After reading the book Lord Loss written by Darren Shan I was left with many good impressions about the writer Darren Shan and his style of writing. I have found his style to be very suspenseful and entertaining. There are many places in this book where you might think the book is going, but in the last moment something happens and with a shocking move it goes the other direction. After this book I will have great expectations about thrilling and horror books.
    Darren Shan did very well in having his characters come alive. In every chapter you can feel the tension Grubbs is feeling and how he is super nervous to get out of the problems in just a few moments you would feel what Grubbs was feeling. This would be a really good detail for those who have high standards on the characters. In addition I especially liked the way how Darren Shan always introduces the Villain Lord Loss by not just saying he was there, but by describing how he is and showing how everybody is terrified or nervous especially Grubbs. This way of writing will fascinate many of you who are craving for detail and suspense. In addition I like the way Darren Shan builds up on the main character's problems until he has no other way to face them, but in reality it isn't like in the heroic way it's solved with other problems and great pain. I have to say that Darren Shan does a great job at what he does and how he makes his character's come to life within you so that you make a connection.
    I think that this book is especially great because of the characters. I would say that the character's in the story are made to perfection to go with the story plot and the characters characteristics. Grubbs isn't the hero and is shown mostly was a timid and scared person scared of the horrible world of the Demonata. He's the least person you expect to save the world, but in the end he shows that he does and that's what leaves you most astonished and with a lot of questions. For all you suspenseful readers I recommend this book to you 100% it will leave you hungry for more and it won't disappoint you

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Simply Wonderful

    Do you like Action? Do you like Horror? if so then this book and the rest of the series is for you, i read many books in this genre but never have i read anything better than this, to the point that i can't stop comparing to others and saying God this is the best and nothing is better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    THIS BOOK IS AMASING.

    When I first started reading this book I was blown away. There was never a dull moment. Im in 9th grade and my teacher told me it was to easy for me. I blow off her advice right away. I couldnt stop reading even when I wanted to. I plan to finish every book. If you havent read it your missing out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    this book is the best. It got me hooked on the other books. if you can not tolerate gross descriptions it is not recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Awesome book

    I just finnished reading it today. I absolutely love the Cirque Du Freak Series and when I saw Demonata: Lord Loss I snatched it right off the shelf. It's great, I can't wait for the second one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!

    Darren Shan has done it again! This book is so amazing it leaves readers on the edge of their seats just wondering what will unfold as the book progresses. I loved this book as much as the Cirque Du Freak series. Anyone who loves the Cirque series is bound to love the new series by Darren Shan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    Shan has done it again

    This is a very great book.It reminds me of Cirque Du Freak which is one of my favorite series.If you want to read a exciting horror that you wont be able to stop reading pick The Demonata.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    This book will rock your socks right off!!

    This book was so awesome! Major props to Darren Shan!! This book proves that he is truly great at what he does. It starts off at a fast, action-packed pace and it doesn't let up until the last page. Anyone who has read the Cirque Du Freak series or just loves a good thriller, I strongly urge you to read this book, it is definetely worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    AMAZING

    this book is sooo awesome! shan has done it again! full of horror and mystery, keeps you turning pages. A MUST READ!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    LOVED

    I honestly loved this book so much! It's in a complete class of its own. When I first read this Lord Loss I think I was in shock with how gorry and gruesome it was, not that I much mind since horror is my genre of choice. Darren Shan sure knows how to paint a picture in your mind and his way of detail is inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Looking for a lending buddy!!

    Plz reply to lovelykk00 if willing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Really great book, a fave.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

    Really great book, a favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Magical!!

    After reading the whole series I wanted to belive that I could have awesome powers too. FYI these books are not for the faint if heart. They have some very decriptive blood and gore scences, but that just makes it all the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Great book, great series

    Read it in a day. Couldnt put it down. The whole series is really good and youll fly through the books. Engaging plot and awesome characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Wow

    An epic,full of action and fantasy. It had me jumping under my covers at some points,which is good. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Gruesomely awesome.

    I was never reallg a fan of books like these, but man was I hooked on this series. I just could not get enough. The book had captured my attention immediately and never let go. One of the best series I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Wow is this much bloody and creepy and just plain out there than

    Wow is this much bloody and creepy and just plain out there than the Cirque du Freak series. And I love it! For each of the books in the series, the covers get weirder and weirder. Good start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12