BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lord and Lady Spy

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

great read

this was a book I enjoyed reading and would recommend to everyone. will buy more.

posted by lordofbooks on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow Read

The plot tends to drag on. Not really believable storyline. Okay to read if you're stuck in an airport. Money better spent on a different book.

posted by GypsyPA on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    this was a book I enjoyed reading and would recommend to everyone. will buy more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Slow Read

    The plot tends to drag on. Not really believable storyline. Okay to read if you're stuck in an airport. Money better spent on a different book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good... but gaps

    I really enjoyed the plot, but the storyline leaves a bit to be desired. I wasn't satified by the ending either. I loved the characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Could have been very good

    A good story but too much repeating of fears and passion. As though the reader is assumed to be unable to understand having been told once or twice, but must be reminded at every turn of the page. I like the premise of the story. This could have been very good,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Step aside Mr.&Mrs. Smith, Make room for Lord & Lady Smythe...

    Who really is Sophia Galloway? Is she the super spy that goes by Agent Saint or the mousy, bespeckled, drab looking Lady Smythe? Who really is Adrian Galloway? Is he the Barbican group's greatest spy or the never at home, always on the go Lord Smythe? The answers to these questions can be found in Shana Galen's LORD AND LADY SPY.

    Once again, Ms. Galen has captured me from the first chapter until the last with her captivating mix of intrigue, sexiness (if you don't consider doing the sexy against an open window then I don't know what is) and fast paced storytelling. She made me care for the hero and heroine, although at times I wanted to shake each of them and scream "fall in love already!", and loudly boo the villains trying to kill Adrian and Sophia. My adrenaline spiked, my heart raced, my shoulders shook with laughter and my eyes glinted with unshed tears for Sophia and Adrian's loss (I couldn't just fall apart in front of random strangers at Starbucks now, could I?). If this had been made into a movie, it would have gotten a rousing stand of ovation at the end. Well done, Ms. Galen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    This could have been a real disaster. The premise of a husband

    This could have been a real disaster. The premise of a husband and wife both being spies without the other knowing has been played a lot.
    By setting it in an historical time and writing it with wit, it works, and works well.
    Both main characters are engaging and I could believe their misgivings about each other.
    Their expertise are quite impressive.
    I won't say any more for fear of spoiling some of the twists.
    Do read it for an enjoyable time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    Good read!

    This little tall tale of two spies intercepting each other is like the movie Mr. & Mrs. Smith. (with a bit less sex) As such, the plot is exciting and believable which keeps the reader engaged in what else can go wrong or who is going to win this tug of war, literally!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    I wanted to like this title, since I enjoyed other titles in the

    I wanted to like this title, since I enjoyed other titles in the series. There is nothing really wrong with the story. However, I never could bring myself to like or care about the characters. The protagonists start off not wanting to be wed. They change their minds but there doesn’t seem to be any reason why they should. The author deserves credit for dealing with the issue of childhood sexual abuse but it is not enough to make the characters interesting. The title is worth reading to complete the series. Readers new to the author or series would be better served by starting with another title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Mediocre

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Recommend

    I usually do not read this type of books because I am more into present day mysteries and romances but I really enjoyed this book. Funny & romantic! Wished the author would write another book with this couple in it because they were very likeable. Will be buying more of her spy books. JudyE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Sharp and sexy,

    This was worth the time and effort to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Written as a combined review, posted at The Reading Cafe 21 Sep

    Written as a combined review, posted at The Reading Cafe 21 Sep 13

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!

    WOW .. now this is a fun series.  The Lord and Lady Spy series by Shana Galen has it all.  Mystery, suspense, romance, humour and lots of action.  An absolute refreshing read that offers a different spin on historical romance.  If you can, try to think along the lines of Mr and Mrs Smith set in the 1800's ... LOL  Well .. that is what I was picturing anyways!  Brangelina anyone??  LOL


    BOOK 1 - Lord and Lady Spy

    REVIEW

    We are introduced right away to our leading gal, Lady Sophia Smythe who is hiding in a closet in the midst of a mission.  Just when she thinks she about to capture her target, in swoops a mystery man and takes her target away.  She is FURIOUS seeing all her hard work literally walking out the door.  Oh .. BTW ... Sophia is spy working for an elite spy agency in England.

    Of course, our mystery man just so happens to be a fellow spy (and her husband, although she isn't privy to this yet), Lord Adrain Smythe.  Both are ignorant to the others true occupation, each living a lie for the others benefit.  Sophie plays the frumpy, charity driven proper wife and Adrian plays the boring proper gentleman who frequents his club and lives a normal life.  I tell you when these two find out who the other really is ... well ... GAME ON!  LOL

    Our Lady and Lord have been offered a chance to solve a murder of a very important man.  But there is a catch!  They are told that whoever solves this murder will be given the position of permanent spy which is enticing to both of them seeing as they refuse to life a boring existence.  After some head butting, these two decide to pair up, understanding that they each bring something different in regards to strategy to the table.  

    Throughout this investigation they are quite the pair.  They engage in dangerous activities, often being hunted themselves as they grow closer to the truth. They are completely smitten with the other, especially when they realize that they are both eager to live this lifestyle, but realize that there can be only one winner.  Will love or ambition win??


    BOOK 1.5 - The Spy Wore Blue

    REVIEW

    The Spy Wore Blue is a novella based on a spy we met in the first book.  Agent Blue. 

    Blue and Helena are married, although they have been estranged for quite some time.  Blue was overly dedicated to his work as a spy and had little time for a wife, and Helena performed in the opera house when she wasn't drowning her sorrows in a bottle of gin.  

    Blue has a new assignment that takes him back to his wife.  Much to the others desire (or lack there of), they need to endure each others company for the time being as an assassin is out there waiting to strike.  Soon enough, these two are falling in love once again, sharing some steamy moments between the sheets, bantering back and forth and ultimately providing an emotional roller coaster for the reader.

    I have to say, this was a amazing novella.  It is very hard for an author to develop characters, provide a love story packed with action and make it all believable in such a short amount of pages.  Let me tell you, Shana Galen mastered this! ;)


    BOOK 3 - True Spies

    REVIEW

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this book.  Once again we are swept away in another action packed book by Shana Galen.  This amazing author can sure write a great book .. great SERIES!

    Lady Elinor is fed up living in a frozen marriage and has vowed to do something about it.  While she loves her daughters and all they bring to her life, she craves more.  Elinor craves adventure.  Slowly, she begins to break the rules of polite society by attending balls on her own and conspiring to have an affair with a rakish man and just generally stirring the pot.

    Baron Winslow Keating (Winn) is a spy who has to do one more mission.  He realizes that his family has suffered with his current occupation and if he doesn't make amends soon he risks losing then.  When he overhears his wife's desire to have an affair he sees red.  Determined not to lose his family, Winn turns on the charm and begins to seduce his wife.  In the midst of seduction, Elinor is receiving the adventure she so desperately craves (apparently spy life is exciting) and opens her heart once more.  In turn, Winn is coming to fall in love with his wife, gain trust and love with his daughters and ultimately living the life he now wants.

    We see a return of the antagonist Fonce (he was the bad guy in the first book), and an appearance by Lord and Lady Smythe (loved that) in this book.  As with the first one, there is never a dull moment and these two really make an interesting couple.  Will Winn put spy life on the mantle and finally make his family his priority, or will he lose all???  Get reading! 

    This is my first experience with Shana Galen and I want MORE!  Her writing is absolutely right up my alley and she always keeps it fresh, making me want to flip through quickly so I can enjoy the next hurdle our couples face.  She writes hot scenes, ensures that her leading lady and man have serious chemistry, jams in all kind of action, provides witty dialogue, draws you in with mystery and suspense and creates believable characters that you can't help but fall in love with!  I will ABSOLUTELY be reading more of her work!

    HAPPY READING! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Love it

    New to this genre of reads. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Recommend

    Galen keeps you guessing to the very end of this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Thrilling I read this book last June, but had forgotten to publ

    Thrilling
    I read this book last June, but had forgotten to publish my review!
    I really loved reading LORD & LADY SPY by Shana Galen.
    It's a wonderful historical romance packed into a thrilling adventure!
    I loved her two characters Adrian & Sophia! I could not put it down.
    This story is fast paced, filled with intrigue and hot sexy scenes that
    kept my interest until the end. I highly recommend this book.
    Ms. Galen is a great author and I am never disappointed.
    I am looking forward to read TRUE SPIES & THE SPY WORE BLUE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Boring

    If you enjoy constant bickering, this is the book for you. I couldn't even finish it. Won't be reading any more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    love it

    will read more of this authors books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Not for me

    The story was good but if you are one of those people like me, who prefer not to read page after page of sexual content, it may not be for you either• too bad because i liked the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Excellent answer to regency overload!

    If like me you love regency but they all tend to run together, you will love this. Refreshing, engaging, and fast paced. I got this on a sale deal but would have happily paid more for this much fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Good Read

    This is a good romance and action thriller. The main characters, a husband and wife spy team are very interesting except there is too much repition of their feelings and problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6