Customer Reviews for

Lord of Darkness (Maiden Lane Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

***Review posted at The Eater of Books! blog*** Lord of Darknes

***Review posted at The Eater of Books! blog***

Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt
Book Five of the Maiden Lane series
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: February 26, 2013
Rating: 4 stars
Source: eARC from NetGalley

***Warning: this is an adult book...
***Review posted at The Eater of Books! blog***

Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt
Book Five of the Maiden Lane series
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: February 26, 2013
Rating: 4 stars
Source: eARC from NetGalley

***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***

Summary (from Goodreads):

When Strangers In The Night

He lives in the shadows. As the mysterious masked avenger known as the Ghost of St. Giles, Godric St. John's only goal is to protect the innocent of London. Until the night he confronts a fearless young lady pointing a pistol at his head—and realizes she is his wife.

Become Lovers...

Lady Margaret Reading has vowed to kill the Ghost of St. Giles—the man who murdered her one true love. Returning to London, and to the man she hasn't seen since their wedding day, Margaret does not recognize the man behind the mask. Fierce, commanding, and dangerous, the notorious Ghost of St. Giles is everything she feared he would be—and so much more.

Desire Is The Ultimate Danger

When passion flares, these two intimate strangers can't keep from revealing more of themselves than they had ever planned. But when Margaret learns the truth—that the Ghost is her husband—the game is up and the players must surrender...to the temptation that could destroy them both.


What I Liked:

Let me start by saying that I had NO IDEA that this book was the fifth of a series. Therefore, when I found out that there were four novels before it, I was scared that I had requested a book, and I wouldn't be able to understand what was going on. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that when I began reading the book, I understand everything like this was a standalone novel! I searched the other books and realized that while this book is the fifth in the series, each of the books are companion novels, not novels that build on each other. So, you can read this book without reading the others!

I love the two protagonists of this book. This book is written in third person limited, in which readers get to read from Margaret's side, and from Godric's side. I really like Godric, especially because of what he tries to do during the night - save children from "lassie snatchers", and other heroic deeds. Godric handles Margaret's intrusion very well, as well as all of her shenanigans (and trust me, she has very many of those). I think Godric is very noble, as he complies to Margaret's requests, even though they are not really the normal husband and wife. He isn't your typical historical romance male - he is tortured, bitter, and closed-off, and yet, he is stoic, understanding, and very courageous. 

I liked Margaret less than I liked Godric, but by no means did I not like her. She is such a vibrant person, quite the contrast to Godric's aloofness. She never gives up, and even resorts to strange measures to try to convince Godric to do as she asks. I think that her past and her problems are just as hurtful as Godric's, and I really like how she handles her past, and moves on for Godric.

This relationship, between Margaret and Godric, is not your typical historical romance relationship of lust, and then love. Godric does not show affection of lust towards Margaret for a good deal of the book. Margaret shows almost no sexual attraction to Godric for part of the book as well. The relationship between the two is so complex, because both of them have been through some much in terms of past love. I like how Hoyt allows these two characters to explore their feelings, but in a subtle, personal way. We don't really see the "romance" part of the book until deep into the book. But that did not make this book any less of a romance novel. I think I enjoyed this one so much because everything didn't go straight to lust and attraction and sex. The depth of emotions and feelings on Godric's part and on Margaret's part made their relationship very slowly built, but very strongly built.

Have I said enough? I love historical fiction, and historical romance is pretty much the only adult genre that I like in the adult age level (right now?). This book did not let me down.


What I Did Not Like:

Umm, there really was not much that I did not like. I really did not like how Margaret would use Godric, but I completely understand why she did (it still bothered me though). I did not like the completely random times towards the end when the author would place a part of the book in Lady Artemis's point-of-view. I don't even know who Lady Artemis is! There were two times (there could have been a few more)when the story would take a random turn to her thoughts, and I would just ignore those parts. I believe they are hinting towards the next book, but I don't think that those passages and point-of-view switches are at all necessary.


Would I Recommend It:

YES! Calling all historical romance lovers! This book is definitely for you! And I didn't mention this, but believe me, the hot scenes are, well, just that: HOT.


Rating:

4 stars. If you like historical romance, don't miss this one!

posted by Alyssa75 on June 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I am pretty new to the Maiden Lane series and became a fan of El

I am pretty new to the Maiden Lane series and became a fan of Elizabeth Hoyt after reading Thief of Shadows last year. Full of mystery, adventure, and passionate romance, this has quickly become one of my favorite historical romance series. As such, I was very excited t...
I am pretty new to the Maiden Lane series and became a fan of Elizabeth Hoyt after reading Thief of Shadows last year. Full of mystery, adventure, and passionate romance, this has quickly become one of my favorite historical romance series. As such, I was very excited to receive an e-galley of the newest book Lord of Darkness.




Fans will recognize Megs and Godric from Thief of Shadows, where Meg's secret lover was killed - supposedly by the Ghost of St. Giles. In the wake of that tragedy, Godric marries Megs to save her from scandal. Megs has remained in the country for the past couple of years but now returns to London with two goals in mind. One, she must seduce her husband and get with child and second, she must get vengeance for her lover's death.




While I enjoyed Lord of Darkness, it didn't grab me like the other books in the series. Megs and Godric were both admirable, if somewhat stubborn characters. Both have felt love before and have felt its terrible loss. And both are determined never to betray that love by feeling it again with each other. I wanted to shake both of them at times because they kept pushing each other away. I think Godric came around quicker than Megs though and I was somewhat annoyed at her for waiting until the last possible moment to tell her she loved him.




Once they started coming around though, I really enjoyed their romance. Hoyt definitely knows how to write a steamy love scene and Megs and Godric are quite a passionate pair once they let down their guard. I also liked that this wasn't a conventional romance. It was hard watching Godric and Megs struggle with the  guilt over their new feelings. This book is about second chances and embracing life. I think Godric's wife and Megs's lover would have been happy that they found love again.




Though this wasn't my favorite Maiden Lane book, Lord of Darkness is a solid entry in the series and is an engaging and entertaining read. I enjoyed getting to know Megs and Godric and was glad that these two found their happy ending. The book can be read as a standalone though you'll probably enjoy it a bit more if you have some back story on the series. Or you can be like me and start in the middle and then go back and read everything else (because you'll want to). Lord of Darkness also includes a brief excerpt from Duke of Midnight, the next book in the Maiden Lane series. It stars Artemis Greaves and the Duke of Wakefield and sounds fantastic. I am already looking forward to it. :)




*I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This, in no way, affected my opinion or review of this book.

posted by fishgirl182 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    The clearing

    It is wide and has many trees and caves and holes everywhere. This is where we exchange prey and have meetings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Death

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Loved it

    Great book didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I love the Maiden Lane series, and this is a great story in that

    I love the Maiden Lane series, and this is a great story in that line. At the end of Thief of Shadows, Megs had had to marry Godric St. John after her lover (and father of her child) Roger had been murdered. Megs retired to the country and hasn't seen Godric since. Now she's back, turning Godric's musty household upside down and inside out! She wants to find Roger's murderer, who she thinks is the Ghost of St. Giles. Godric, still grieving for his first wife, only agreed to the marriage because Megs' brother blackmailed him. He just wants to keep being the Ghost and helping the unfortunate citizens of St. Giles. Now they've got to learn to live together and to work together to find the truth. There are some heartwrenching scenes as each tries to deal with their own grief, but it is well worth it to see them work through their loss and learn to love each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Love love love Elizabeth Hoyt and all her books. This is another

    Love love love Elizabeth Hoyt and all her books. This is another great read in the Maiden Lane Series and I recommend all of them, 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Better and Better!!! (LVR)

    This series is great! I've enjoyed each and every one :) In my experience, most authors of serials in the regency romance genre eventually peter out by the time they get to the fifth book. That's why I've always preferred stand-alone books to series. But not so with this author! She keeps producing top-notch stories. Highly recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Hidy

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Historical super-hero

    Godric does a really good imitation of Batman(Ghost of St.Giles)
    The story is moving and sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Elizabeth Hoyt does it again!

    Elizabeth Hoyt never ever disappoints. Her romances are fraught with intrigue, suspense, drama and some lighthearted moments that relieve the pressure of how and when her love interests will finally find happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Each book in this series is better than the one before .  Megs a

    Each book in this series is better than the one before .  Megs and Godric pull you right into their story and you can feel their grief and their love as it develops.  the subplot is intriguing and ties together  so much that has happened n the other books of the series.  i cannot wait for he next book.  read and enjoy, but make sure to read them in order  or you may be a bit lost. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Elizabeth Hoyt has yet to disappoint and Lord of Darkness is no

    Elizabeth Hoyt has yet to disappoint and Lord of Darkness is no exception. I can't wait for the one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I am a dedicated reader of the genre and love Elizabeth Hoyt.  T

    I am a dedicated reader of the genre and love Elizabeth Hoyt.  This book did not disappoint.  When I finished it, I was disappointed that book 6 in the Maiden Lane series was not available for pre-order.  Can't wait for the next installment of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is my favorite historical romance series- hands down. They

    This is my favorite historical romance series- hands down. They're full of adventure, mystery, fun, complex characters and sexy good times. In this one, Godric and Megs have both loved and lost before and now are hesitant and guilty about moving on ... but they do and it's a wonderful, sweet story. Also, there's a build up for the next book due out in the fall and I can hardly wait!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Death

    A large blac shecat with bloodred eyes walkd in. May i join as a medicine cat (even though i still fight better than most warriors)?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1