BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lord of Misrule (Morganville Vampires Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 572 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(378)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    The town of Morganville has seen better days since the return of Bishop, a master vampire who wants control of the town. His daughter, Amelie, isn't going to relinquish her power easily. <BR/><BR/>Now everyone's choosing sides and waiting for the battle to begin. Those who have chosen now have their battle assignments. Claire must find Myrnin, Shane must guard the blood bank, Michael protects the college students, and Eve needs to head back to the coffee shop and to Oliver. <BR/><BR/>In a fight this big, there's bound to be infighting and backstabbing. Soon the humans in town aren't sitting on the sidelines anymore. Those who were once protected can no longer count on the vampire alliance to protect them. <BR/><BR/>Claire and her friends are doing everything they can to save the town, but they seem to be the key to the fight. Are they about to be double-crossed themselves? <BR/><BR/>LORD OF MISRULE is the 5th book in the very popular THE MORGANVILLE VAMPIRES series. While vampire books are flooding the market, this series stands out because of its differences. The vampires in the series are not friendly, they are out for your blood and only something benefiting them will stop them from drinking. Suspense and horror alongside of friendship and romance make this series perfect and unforgettable.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love Morganville!

    Lord of Misrule is the best book in the series so far. When we last left Morganville Bishop had come to town wanting to dethrone Amelie. Father and daughter along with all the vampires have disappeared in preparation for a war over Morganville. With all the chaos human factions have formed against the vampires and Morganville is on the brink of anarchy.

    Amelie is worried about Myrnin and goes to rescue him taking a group of vampires, Claire, and Hannah a former marine who is a big help to Claire. Hannah is also related to Gramma Day. When the rescue mission doesn't go according to plan Clare quickly stakes Myrnin to save them both. Oliver reminds her that staking a vampire is an offense punishable by death, and if he chose he could kill her on the spot.

    Even with Morganville in turmoil Rachel Caine gives us romance. Shane very sweetly professes his love for Claire and in very end of the world fashion Claire wants to experience it. Michael and Eve are still very much in love.

    Monica who is usually a bully to anyone who crosses her path received a dose of her own medicine. She even needed to be rescued by Claire, Shane, and Eve more than once. During the height of a tornado war finally breaks. As a result some have switched alliances and many are taken captive. In the end more than one Morganville resident looses a loved one.

    I was excited to see Rachel bring strong weather elements to Morganville which reminded me of her Weather Warden series. While Lord of Misrule included darkness and chaos there were plenty of humorous lines and nice touches of romance. I have said it before and I'll say it again go out and get this series!

    Best Lines:
    "Yeah, I know. Terror Aerobics. Just wait until they get this at the gym. It'll be bigger than Pilates."

    "In this whole screwed-up town, you're the only thing that's always been right to me," he whispered. "I love you"

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Caine has done it again

    Hands down, even before this book, The Morganville Vampire series is worth reading. It is a thrilling and suspenseful take on the vampire world. In this book from the series, Claire has a lot more nerve. It is easy to see how much she has grown and how she is now a true Morganville resident. The vampires and humans work together in this one. In fact, some of the vampires seem to have grown soft, but in a good way. It is like yes, go vampires! The ending is so good. It is making me hate that I have to wait until June for the next one to come out. Believe me, if you read this book, you are so gonna want to read the next one. Will Claire snap out of the trance?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    waiting forever!

    this is my second favorite series(my fav. is Vampire Academy series)<BR/>i cant wait to see wat happens! i want know wat happens with Shane and Claire and if amelie or bishop wins.<BR/>for some reason i think someone important is going to die.<BR/>i wish it was already out!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    U hav to read this!!!!!!!!!!!

    This series is an amazing series. Rachel Caine is a unique author fer sure:D I luv this series!!!!! The whole book is always keeping you on your toes, theres a bunch of twist and turns in it. Claire is definitley a young lady that girls can look up to. Claire is smart, catiuos, she definitley has guts, a great friend, and is beautiful. Eve has an amazing personality, she is a great role model too. I luv that Eve isn't afraid to be herself. :) Shane hmm is one sexy, caring, protecting,wild guy but thats what makes him a great boyfriend for Claire. Shee is definitley lucky to hav him. Michael takes Claire's big brother role very seriously and is one sexi vampire. ;) This series is really great. If you're looking for a romance yet action and vampiress this is definitley the series for you. Just read it trust me you wont regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Waiting on the next book of the series now....

    Awesome characters, well written, romantic, suspenseful and all together a fantastic series! Make sure you pick up all of the books at once because they always come to an end in the middle of some major catastrophe, leaving you desperate to start on the next book to find out the conclusion. These are all really quick and entertaining reads; one of my favorite series besides Twilight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Twists

    I absolutely loved this book. I just brought into attention all the great things that make these characters just so attractive to readers. And of course who doesn't love twists in the plot. This ending just leaves you wanting for more... and more we will get hopefully!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    Action Packed!

    The Morganville Series has not disappointed me in the least. This latest one! what can I say. It is jam packed with action & has so many doors (or should I say portals?) of nonstop entertainment. The characters are so intriguing to me. Even the ones you love to hate. I just loved reading this book, but I do have one complaint TOO SHORT!! left me wishing for more pages to magically appear. But no such luck :( Now I have my calendar marked for June of 09' "Carpe Corpus" is the title for the upcoming installment of the series and I can't wait to read where the story leads me next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Yay!!!

    I. Cannot. Wait! for this book to come out!!!<BR/>I read 1,2,3, and 4 in 2 days. I love this series. I am waiting very impatiently for January 6th!! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    addicting

    I can't seem to stop reading these, always something else around the next corner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    If you like vampirer stories, this is a must

    The whole series of this story line is worth reading and I have realy enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Great!!

    Can't wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    Must read like all Morganville Vampires books. There's no such thing as a bad Morganville book. Calling all vampire lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    WOAH

    Intense, i cant put these books down, i cant wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    :D

    I love the morganville vampires. It all started when my hand touched the first book. It was destinyyy o.o!



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Very entertaining...

    You just never know who will drop dead next. This also goes for the undead, also...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Awesome!!

    Fantastic book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Awesome

    This book is mind-blowing. Claire's boyfriend Shane Eve's boyfriend Michael all that chiz. Awesome stuff. Mr. Bishop Amelie's father makes the book interesting. Super highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    unbound love

    Shane and Claire, brings to mind the things you do for lov as a teen, captures the soul of teen Claires first lov, binds the two together and Shane such the gentleman Young lov.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Lord of Misrule (Morganville Vampires Series #5)

    I like this book. I couldn't put this book down. I needed to know what was going to happen next. You might think Claire is a small frame kid but she got guts in this book. Claire and her friends have to be prepare for what was coming to Morganville. In this book is when Claire and her friends destroy Mr. Bishop with the help of the other vampires. Mr. Bishop was a evil ruler who needed to be stop and destroy. Claire and her friends save Morganville yet again, but always fun to go on the adventage with them too.
    It's a must read series if you like books like these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19