Customer Reviews for

Lord of Mountains (Emberverse Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

love s. m. stirling's books

great book!!!

posted by justmeJS on October 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ughhh...

With each passing book in the series, Stirling seems to add more and more description for no other reason than to write the words. How many ways can you describe a glade, an outfit, etc. Ughhh... it is exhausting. The story starts a glacial pace, spurts briefly, then...
With each passing book in the series, Stirling seems to add more and more description for no other reason than to write the words. How many ways can you describe a glade, an outfit, etc. Ughhh... it is exhausting. The story starts a glacial pace, spurts briefly, then slows again, including an ridiculously long "dream sequence" that takes forever to get to the point. I came close more than once to putting it down and calling it quits, but I have invested a lot in the story and had to see where it went, however slowly it may have moved.

posted by 3170989 on December 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Ughhh...

    With each passing book in the series, Stirling seems to add more and more description for no other reason than to write the words. How many ways can you describe a glade, an outfit, etc. Ughhh... it is exhausting. The story starts a glacial pace, spurts briefly, then slows again, including an ridiculously long "dream sequence" that takes forever to get to the point. I came close more than once to putting it down and calling it quits, but I have invested a lot in the story and had to see where it went, however slowly it may have moved.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    This will be the last one

    This series has gone downhill fast. Most of the book is just one giant recap of the last 8. What a waste of time. I feel like the author is just milking what was a great story line to just squeeze one more out.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I have loved this series but as other reviewers have stated, it

    I have loved this series but as other reviewers have stated, it is getting repetitive and nothing is happening.  This book and the previous book cover the same material  over and over again.  When I realized I had reached the end of this book I had a, "but nothing happened!" moment.  The series deserves a better end than this slow boring winding down. 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Stirling is starting to go the way of Robert Jordan

    I love these books, and will probably keep reading them, just to find out how it ends. My complaint is that they are getting so caught up in little details and you finish the book with the feeling that nothing has happened. Come on, Stirling! Don't be like Jordan and die before you tell us the end, or make me wish that the next book was by Brian Sanderson, just so things will get moving again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    best series in a long time!

    I just finished all the books in the series. Couldn't put it down!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great read

    Keeps you turning every page k

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    love s. m. stirling's books

    great book!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    It was really fun for the first 5 books but has gone downhill fr

    It was really fun for the first 5 books but has gone downhill from there, Repetative and boring. Too descriptive of scenes and just not much going on in the rest of the books. I felt auther was out of fresh ideas and just wanted to cash in on the first few books and I got duped into buying them based on the first 5. Tell the author future reads by him are not likely for me..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    excellent continuing story exciting and detailed

    Love the series and have put my name down for the next one. I missed the first two so will return to read them later.
    They are written with a lot of detail; Mr Stirling appears to have researched all the subjects and covers controversial subjects without making judgements.
    great read even as a standalone book.
    Sometimes when recapping an old event, which I remember, but he is writing for people who haven't read the previous books; could he put the text in a different font? so that the memory could be missed without missing any important detail?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    =(

    If you loved this series like i did then prepare for disapointment. And its soooo short.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    another fine entry in the Emberverse series

    as usual, SM Stirling does us right :) an enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Enough of desciptions already, get on with the story, I started

    Enough of desciptions already, get on with the story, I started this with (Island In The Sea Of Time), great storyline and the 1st few books of
    (Dies the Fire-the Change) but he needs to get back to the story it is taking way to long, and way to may books to get there!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Tag's Bio

    Name-Tag Delilah Foster. Age- 17 Height- About 5'8. Looks- Long brown hair with bright blonde streaks she usually keeps up in a messy bun or ponytail unless shes stressed out. She has bright green eyes that arent native to earth. She wears alot of graphic tees, but her favorite is her Captain America Sheild tee. She wears a jacket if its cold, and it looks like the top part of Captain America uniform, and when you pull up the hood, it looks like the helmet. She wears jeans or denim short shorts because they are easy to move around in. She wears black bloots that come just below the knee, or converse in the summer. Relationship- Wolf. Best Friends- Fang, Calla, Wolf, Storm, Logan, Batu, and Slenderman. Twinneh: Fang. Abilities/Hobbies-She likes almost everything but being on the ground. She loves the water, and she doesnt have to breath. It reminds her of where she came from. She is really smart, and love to invent and improve things. When she's out in the field, building or swimming, she's happy and brave and leader-like, but give some free-time on the ground and she tends to look a little lost. She also can fly planes and build them, all from scratch. She doesnt have any special powers besides the fact that she can make people have dreams or nightmares, and she can levitate things. Wolf form- Her wolf form mimics a fox's fur, but her eyes stay the same bright green. She is part of the Scarlet Letter pack, and Pluto is her wolf name. Past- She doesnt like to talk about it. End of story. Weapon of choice: Whip or Ray Gun that she built herself. Other: She loves to read ad watch movies, and her favorite food is smores.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Another S.M. Stirling novel that makes you think

    I have enjoyed all of S.M. Stirling's books I have read & this one is no different.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Sakura

    Test

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Secret person

    This is not Sam

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2