Customer Reviews for

Lord of Scoundrels

Average Rating 4.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(257)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read

I chose to read this book because it was presented as a "Beauty & the Beast" type of book which is a favorite plot of mine. It was that and sooo much more. She is almost overpowering in her strength and character. But she is the only one strong enough to deal with our r...
I chose to read this book because it was presented as a "Beauty & the Beast" type of book which is a favorite plot of mine. It was that and sooo much more. She is almost overpowering in her strength and character. But she is the only one strong enough to deal with our rather unromantic hero, the notorious Marquess of Dain. Wow, what a male leading figure. Rare is the book where you climb into the man's mind and see how he ticks. As rather scandalous things happen...you see why he has become the man he is. Your heart is captured as he rises from his unloving childhood to a ruthless adult, delighting in the downfall of others. Or...have we misread most of his intentions! Dain is one of the most complex male characters I've ever read. Not that he is perfect, no he dealt with his illegitimate son in the typical Victorian way (mainly ignore)...but his marriage to Jessica did change him. He could view things in a different way.
I liked that the main "plot" really was the romance although there is the introduction of Dain's child and a mild sinister plot involving an antique icon.
I was not enamored of any of the secondary characters, though I found the brother funny. I know the Grandmother played a role in this and I am wondering if she has her own story? Well worth reading.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was expecting so much more based on reviews

I puchased this book based on all the reviews. The story line is a take on the classic beauty and the beast and could have made for a wondergul book but i thought the writing could have been better. The first half dragged because there was very little dialogue. I just f...
I puchased this book based on all the reviews. The story line is a take on the classic beauty and the beast and could have made for a wondergul book but i thought the writing could have been better. The first half dragged because there was very little dialogue. I just find it hard to believe that someone like our heroine could fall for a guy like Lord Dain blindly...lots of descriptions of drug use, orgies, drinking...i just dont see how anyone remained sober or awake without hanging out with prostitutes long enough to change so quickly. This book is not worth more than $1.

posted by 7034158 on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 508 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic read

    I chose to read this book because it was presented as a "Beauty & the Beast" type of book which is a favorite plot of mine. It was that and sooo much more. She is almost overpowering in her strength and character. But she is the only one strong enough to deal with our rather unromantic hero, the notorious Marquess of Dain. Wow, what a male leading figure. Rare is the book where you climb into the man's mind and see how he ticks. As rather scandalous things happen...you see why he has become the man he is. Your heart is captured as he rises from his unloving childhood to a ruthless adult, delighting in the downfall of others. Or...have we misread most of his intentions! Dain is one of the most complex male characters I've ever read. Not that he is perfect, no he dealt with his illegitimate son in the typical Victorian way (mainly ignore)...but his marriage to Jessica did change him. He could view things in a different way.<BR/>I liked that the main "plot" really was the romance although there is the introduction of Dain's child and a mild sinister plot involving an antique icon.<BR/>I was not enamored of any of the secondary characters, though I found the brother funny. I know the Grandmother played a role in this and I am wondering if she has her own story? Well worth reading.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Was expecting so much more based on reviews

    I puchased this book based on all the reviews. The story line is a take on the classic beauty and the beast and could have made for a wondergul book but i thought the writing could have been better. The first half dragged because there was very little dialogue. I just find it hard to believe that someone like our heroine could fall for a guy like Lord Dain blindly...lots of descriptions of drug use, orgies, drinking...i just dont see how anyone remained sober or awake without hanging out with prostitutes long enough to change so quickly. This book is not worth more than $1.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Absolutely One of the Best

    Love, love, love this book. The witty banter would have sold it alone, but's it's got it all - sexy scenes, smart, practical, heroine, and vulnerable underneath it all hero. I've read and reread this book many times and it never gets it old. I would say it's my favorite Loretta Chase, but Lord Perfect edges it out just a teensy bit.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Simply wonderful!

    I truly loved this story. I loved the fact that he wasn't the typical "perfect man" that most romance novels tend to potray. The story is written in a wonderful non traditional way. Don't let the price deceive you..if you love a good romance story you HAVE to read this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    OUTSTANDING - I loved how the author started out with a wonderfu

    OUTSTANDING - I loved how the author started out with a wonderful Prologue about Sebastian as a boy. You really understood how he felt about himself and how he thought others viewed him. I really liked the strength Jess shows, her understanding and patience with Sebastian. This is well worth your time and money. This is my first book by this author and I am so glad she has written many more books that I can enjoy. I didn't find this book at all slow as another reviewer suggested. A MUST READ!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Favorite Chase book.

    Must read - have read it several times already! Great book, nicely developed characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I would have to place this book in the top five of every book I

    I would have to place this book in the top five of every book I have ever read. I find myself rereading this story every few weeks. I love the characters and feel the author did a great job of letting you see the attraction from the very beginning. A must read if you love regency romance!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not like every other.

    I enjoyed this romance because the characters were developed and the female had brains. Nothing went like you expected it to and that's why I would recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Wonderful read

    I enjoyed every page of this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best romance book ever!!!

    This is my first book of Loretta Chase and I have to say that it is one of my top favourites. The story was superb from the beginning to the end. I literally couldn't put it down. I loved the relationship between Sebastian Ballister, the Marquess of Dain, and Jessica Trent. Whenever they were in the same vicinity, sparks would fly and subtle insults and threats would be exchanged. Jessica was extremely intelligent and Dain was surprised that he had to keep up with her. He finally met his match. Even though he was a total shameless rake who never wanted to get involved with any respectable lady, he found himself being "smittened" by Jessica. After the inevitable wedding, they started to fall in love with each other. As their love grew, so did Dain (in a psychological sense). Although he was an adult, he was still incapable of knowing how to fully accept himself, his past, and his unwanted son. Jessica helped him cope with his past/losses and he went through an amazing transformation (especially when he learned to accept and care for his "unwanted" son who looked and behaved just like Dain when he was little). It was an overall beautiful story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    lord of scoundrels

    I thought the book was formulaic, and the characters didnt seem authentic-in fact you dont even feel like you know them or understand what drives them. you feel sorry for sebastian at first but then the rest of the plot becomes so predictable... the heroine seems so very modern i would have thought it to be a time travel story, she is created to be tooo perfect to the point that she everything she does, says, thinks, feels and acts is perfect...its annoying! As it is a historical novel I would have thought/expected the historical setting to affect the behavior of the characters and what drives them, however it seems as the author took two very modern personalities and threw them into the 19th century and tried to make a story out of it. Disappointed...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    DEEEEE-VINE!!!!!

    I have put off writing this review for about a month purely because I was not completely sure how I could articulate just how much I loved this book. I had never read a book by Loretta Chase before and if Lord of Scoundrels is any indication of her other books then I am officially hooked. I more than adored the female lead. I wish Jessica Trent were a real person purely so I could have the opportunity to meet her and tell her what a total bad ass she is. If only we all could be so fantastic. The male lead, Sebastian Ballister, (the afore mentioned Lord of Scoundrels) is more than a challenge for Jessica, but also a challenge for the reader. Initially I did not like him because he was so thoroughly an asshole. But unlike most immature alpha male types, Sebastian had depth. He was not just a blundering prick, he was a man truly in need of a strong and understanding woman to help him sort out his inner two year old. I loved this book. I know this 'review' is totally pathetic and does not really encapsulate how incredibly touching (and HOT) this book is. The romance is superb and not overshadowed one bit by the scorching degree of sexual chemistry between Jessica and Sebastian. I LOVE IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Sure, the story is ridiculous and would obviously never happen i

    Sure, the story is ridiculous and would obviously never happen in real life, and the characters are cliched to the point of almost being stereotypes.... But it's somehow oddly delightful!  The repartee between Dain and Jessica is hilarious and sexy, among Loretta Chase's best, and the first half is amazing, among Loretta's best!  The first time I read this book I felt like I was on fire, and ever since I have found that it's one of the books I compare a lot of the rest of this genre by.  And unfortunately, despite Lord of Scoundrels's flaws, few other books or writers can measure up to Loretta's sense of fun or her knowledge of how to turn the tension between two fictional characters into something you can actually feel.  

    Highly recommended, especially if you are tired of the same old claptrap Regency novels and are looking for something exciting and funny! :) 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Love this book

    This is one of my all time favorite books. The chemistry between Jessica asnd Dain sizzles, I even love her klutzy brother. If you enjoy Victorian Romances you must read
    this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Read it Twice!

    Very likeable characters. The banter is clever and funny. I didn't want the story to end and had to read it again. Very well wtitten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    GOOD READ

    I just did not like that the author call the main caracter many times with demons names, it was not necessary and she could have explored better about his sun. But still is a good read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Beautiful and moving story!

    I loved it! One of the best books I've read lately. I'm so glad I discovered Loretta Chase. I intend to read everything she writes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Undone by the "Glove Scene" . very smart read. loved i

    Undone by the &quot;Glove Scene&quot; . very smart read. loved it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Witty and heartwarming. One of the greats.

    I've reread this so many times that I've lost count. It's an instant classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 508 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26