Customer Reviews for

Lord of Scoundrels

Average Rating 4.5
( 504 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read

I chose to read this book because it was presented as a "Beauty & the Beast" type of book which is a favorite plot of mine. It was that and sooo much more. She is almost overpowering in her strength and character. But she is the only one strong enough to deal with our r...
I chose to read this book because it was presented as a "Beauty & the Beast" type of book which is a favorite plot of mine. It was that and sooo much more. She is almost overpowering in her strength and character. But she is the only one strong enough to deal with our rather unromantic hero, the notorious Marquess of Dain. Wow, what a male leading figure. Rare is the book where you climb into the man's mind and see how he ticks. As rather scandalous things happen...you see why he has become the man he is. Your heart is captured as he rises from his unloving childhood to a ruthless adult, delighting in the downfall of others. Or...have we misread most of his intentions! Dain is one of the most complex male characters I've ever read. Not that he is perfect, no he dealt with his illegitimate son in the typical Victorian way (mainly ignore)...but his marriage to Jessica did change him. He could view things in a different way.
I liked that the main "plot" really was the romance although there is the introduction of Dain's child and a mild sinister plot involving an antique icon.
I was not enamored of any of the secondary characters, though I found the brother funny. I know the Grandmother played a role in this and I am wondering if she has her own story? Well worth reading.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was expecting so much more based on reviews

I puchased this book based on all the reviews. The story line is a take on the classic beauty and the beast and could have made for a wondergul book but i thought the writing could have been better. The first half dragged because there was very little dialogue. I just f...
I puchased this book based on all the reviews. The story line is a take on the classic beauty and the beast and could have made for a wondergul book but i thought the writing could have been better. The first half dragged because there was very little dialogue. I just find it hard to believe that someone like our heroine could fall for a guy like Lord Dain blindly...lots of descriptions of drug use, orgies, drinking...i just dont see how anyone remained sober or awake without hanging out with prostitutes long enough to change so quickly. This book is not worth more than $1.

posted by 7034158 on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 506 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 26
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    This is honestly my favorite romance book of all time. I read i

    This is honestly my favorite romance book of all time. I read it again at least once a year. I love it so much I have two copies AND its on my Nook so I literally take it with me everywhere. Loretta Chase captures your heart with Sebastian and Jessica's love story. (don't miss The Last Hellion either -the story of the Duke of Ainswood). Witty, funny, beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Different, but enjoyable.

    I really enjoyed this. It was different from the typical historical romance. Many books have the strong female character (which she was), but usually the males are also strong, gorgeous, and superior to others. The author portrayed Lord Dain perfectly as the distraught/anguished child, that never really grew out of that, creating that barrier around him to keep others out. As much as I wanted to dislike him and say "what does she see in him", the author lets you know enough to feel his pain and just hope that he'll go in the right direction. I would have liked a little more story towards the ending, but other than that, I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Adore

    Amazing writing that captivates you in the first cahpter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Excellent!

    Could not put it down from the first page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome!

    This is the kind of book that makes you grateful to be in love. I did a search for the best romance novels, although I had never heard of this author I agreed with the others featured on the list. (Julie Garwood, Judith McNaught and Jude Deveraux are favorites that topped the list.) So glad I tried this one- now to devour everything she has ever written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite good

    Lords of Scoundrels is quite good. However, after reading numerous glowing reviews, the book fell short of my expectations. It's not a bad book, but doesn't live up to the hype. Had I not read the initial reviews, I probably would have liked it more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Good Read!!!!

    This is a first for me from this author but i just want to say it was hard to put down after i started reading it. The little boy who wanted just to be loved and wrecked havoc trying to get it grew up doing the same and caught the attention of the only one who could calm his starved soul. I laughed, i cried, and laughed some more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Hard to follow

    This book is hard to follow just because of the way she tells the story. She jumps around a lot from character to character, I couldn't get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good strorie

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Fabulous

    Witty dialogue, strong characters, believable emotions, and tight editing make this my favorite in the genre. The audio version is well done, also

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So much love for this book.

    Oh my...this book was so entertaining and funny...I just had to give it it's due. I never laughed so much in my life. The two main characters are so witty and ridiculous..you can't help but love them. And Dain..poor Dain is so damaged you can't help but root for him even when you want to smack him. This is one of the best, most enjoyable and funniest romances I have read in a while...I would reccomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Just the escape I needed

    The female lead is strong, smart, and charismatic. The male lead is forbidding but intriguing. You can't help but love them both and want to see them work things out. This book helped me escape for a brief time from daily stress. I will read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    historical romance

    enjoyed story line and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beauty and the Beast Meets Pride and Prejudice

    Most probably won't agree but, that's how I saw this book. I laughed or chuckled almost on every page of this book. At the same time, even though I know how the romance is supposed to turn out, I wondered if that was how this story would end. There is enough tension and plot twists that you wonder if the characters will have happily ever after especially if they can quit battling each other long enough to find out.

    There are spoilers in the other reviews so if you want more details go there. I've given enough in this review. This is definitely a read to keep and to share.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Great Book

    Very different than your average historical romance, I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Best Beauty and The Beast Historical I've Read

    A favorite plot for me and wonderfully done! Beauty is exceedingly capable of handling the poor scowling beast--not that he doesn't deserve everything he gets, good and bad. Witty and entertaining, fun from beginning to end. Plenty of heat and sexual tension, few and not very graphic love scenes.

    I read this on the Nook app (on my iPad), but bought two copies for non-ereader romance-loving friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Loved it....his personality made me want him all the more as well! She was his perfect beautiful match...sex scenes were hot!!! Def different than the regular historical romances...made me excited to see what happenes next...GREAT BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Good Read

    This book had me turning the pages. It had many funny parts that make you laugh out loud. Would recommend for anyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Great book

    Must read, great price too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 506 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 26