Customer Reviews for

Lord of Scoundrels

Average Rating 4.5
( 512 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read

I chose to read this book because it was presented as a "Beauty & the Beast" type of book which is a favorite plot of mine. It was that and sooo much more. She is almost overpowering in her strength and character. But she is the only one strong enough to deal with our r...
I chose to read this book because it was presented as a "Beauty & the Beast" type of book which is a favorite plot of mine. It was that and sooo much more. She is almost overpowering in her strength and character. But she is the only one strong enough to deal with our rather unromantic hero, the notorious Marquess of Dain. Wow, what a male leading figure. Rare is the book where you climb into the man's mind and see how he ticks. As rather scandalous things happen...you see why he has become the man he is. Your heart is captured as he rises from his unloving childhood to a ruthless adult, delighting in the downfall of others. Or...have we misread most of his intentions! Dain is one of the most complex male characters I've ever read. Not that he is perfect, no he dealt with his illegitimate son in the typical Victorian way (mainly ignore)...but his marriage to Jessica did change him. He could view things in a different way.
I liked that the main "plot" really was the romance although there is the introduction of Dain's child and a mild sinister plot involving an antique icon.
I was not enamored of any of the secondary characters, though I found the brother funny. I know the Grandmother played a role in this and I am wondering if she has her own story? Well worth reading.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was expecting so much more based on reviews

I puchased this book based on all the reviews. The story line is a take on the classic beauty and the beast and could have made for a wondergul book but i thought the writing could have been better. The first half dragged because there was very little dialogue. I just f...
I puchased this book based on all the reviews. The story line is a take on the classic beauty and the beast and could have made for a wondergul book but i thought the writing could have been better. The first half dragged because there was very little dialogue. I just find it hard to believe that someone like our heroine could fall for a guy like Lord Dain blindly...lots of descriptions of drug use, orgies, drinking...i just dont see how anyone remained sober or awake without hanging out with prostitutes long enough to change so quickly. This book is not worth more than $1.

posted by 7034158 on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 514 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Posted January 26, 2015

    Love this book

    This is the second time I have read this book and I will probably read it again in the future
    A perfect mix of humor and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    A keeper

    Still holds up as an engrossing read after its 20th anniversary. Memorable characters and story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Highly recommend.

    Well done! Wonderful love story. It was easy to fall in love with Lord Dain. Read this in a day, couldn't put it down. Highly recommend!

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Undone by the "Glove Scene" . very smart read. loved i

    Undone by the "Glove Scene" . very smart read. loved it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Witty and heartwarming. One of the greats.

    I've reread this so many times that I've lost count. It's an instant classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Love love love loretta chase

    This book has to be one of the best historical romances ever written !the story has everything you could want in a hero and heroine , great chemistry ,humor and a wwonderful happy ever after .will continue to look for new releases from loretta in the future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

        Jessica Trent is in Paris for the season with her wily grand

        Jessica Trent is in Paris for the season with her wily grandmother and her idiot brother in tow. In an effort to curb her dumb brothers antics, she approaches Sebastian Ballister, in an effort to cut down on drinking and partying involving her brother and his cohorts. Initially intrigued by this small woman expecting him to listen to her, its no time at all until Sebastian falls completely under her spell.
         Consistently on the best of lists almost 20 years after publication is quite a feat but a well deserved one at that. This is hands down one of my favorite books to read, EVER! With witty dialogue, fantastically fleshed out characters, and a well rounded story with plenty of sexy times, Lord of Scoundrels is what others books can only hope to be. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I wish authors would stop writing heroine's that are violent jus

    I wish authors would stop writing heroine's that are violent just because they are attracted to the hero but 
    don't want to admit. Why is it permissible for the heroine to abuse the hero by kicking, punching and so forth.
    The female lead was a smart, intelligent, and  classy lady. Why go cliche on her? I would recommend this book
    nevertheless. The characters were well developed and the story was very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    I enjoyed this book so much that I did not want it to end. Typic

    I enjoyed this book so much that I did not want it to end. Typically I read a book straight through without interruption, however with this book I purposely created interruptions so that I could drag out the story! I went back to the NOOK Book site to buy other Loretta Chase books, googles the Dartmoors in England, and Russian Icons. 
    The characters were so well developed and perfectly compatable, it demonstrated to me what a relationship Should be...friendship, whit, and chemistry on Every level. Jess and Dain were drawn together for so many reasons, and I found it to be a beautiful love story with so much intelligence, understanding, and fire. The kind of love I enjoy in a relationship. 
    Bravo Loretra Chase, this is your Best Novel thus far! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I absolutely LOVE this book!! I bought it in paperback when it c

    I absolutely LOVE this book!! I bought it in paperback when it came out in 2007 but now have it on my Nook to read over and over again. It I could give it 10 stars I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Great read. This Rogue has met his match.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Must read for Historical Romance fans

    Witty dialogue, a smart independent woman; she does not plan to marry but is saving to open her own shop. She keeps the hero on his toes and doesn't fall all over him (like others). What's not to love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    I loved this

    This was amazing to me, in that she actually said the emotionally mature healthy things that needed to be said--and they moved forward, without the typical falling out--with more and more depth in each character. It was fast moving, interesting, with great characters, and a refreshing lack of unnecessary conflict, with meaningful deepening conflict. Go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Excellent

    Loved it! Great romanace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great read

    Entire story was entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Loved it

    This was a wonderful beauty and the beast type story. It was very romantic and sexy and lord dain was no beast. Not for under 18. A really good period romance. Phyl p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Emotionally satisfying!

    I picked this book because it was voted the #1 romance novel on a website. I couldn't put it down. The dialogue between the characters is brilliant. I was sad when it ended and will be rereading/savoring it again in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Great story, terrific use of humor, not overly sappy.

    Great story, terrific use of humor, not overly sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    These are very passionate people. I recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Wonderful romance

    Anyone who doesn't love this novel, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast with a strong heroine whose weakness is a sexy man, should not read this genre. This is a classic. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 514 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26