Customer Reviews for

Lord of Shadows

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Fabulous romance

    I loved this book. I really enjoyed the Earl of Darkness and knew I'd love Lord of Shadows. Daigh is such a wounded man that my heart engaged with him immediately. He makes a wonderful hero and villain - caught between the two was VERY well handled.

    I must admit the book was a tad slow to begin with but once through the first couple of chapters I couldn't put the book down. I do love a series and this book is not a disappointment.

    Sabrina Douglas was a wonderful character, full of vulnerabilities, but also strong and engaging. Alix Rickloff can really write, and I look forward to reading more of her books and especially book three in this wonderful series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Ð&epsilon|&nu&iota&eta<_>g Ð&epsilon&epsilon&rho&epsilon<_>r & Ð&alpha<_>r&kappa&epsilon<_>r...

    The Elements of the Shadow Lands~
    <br>
    Fyre
    <br>
    Darke
    <be>
    Poison
    <br>
    Deathe
    <br>
    Shadow
    <p>
    The Ores of the Shadow Lands~
    <br>
    Darke iron: Cold to the touch; a soul-taker; dark as midnight
    <br>
    Shadow steele: deathly silver; sharper than a diamond; eats light
    <br>
    Bloode bronze: Bloodred; burning to the touch
    <p>
    The Creatures of the Shadow Lands~
    <br>
    Cockatrices
    <br>
    Bloodwyrms
    <br>
    Nazguls
    <br>
    Deathe moths
    <p>
    ~~~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    RATING:4.5!A MUST READ! LIGHT AND DARKNESS! LORD OF SHADOWS BY ALIX RICKLOFF...

    LORD OF SHADOWS by Alix Rickloff is an exciting historical romance with paranormal elements set in 1815 Ireland. It is Book 2 in "Heirs of Kilronan",but can be read as a stand alone. See Book 1 "Earl of Darkness". This is the story of the Douglas family,which where a mysterious Irish clan who can trace their roots back to King Arthur. "Lord of Shadows", is the story of Lady Sabrina Douglas and Daigh MacLir. Lady Sabrina has retreated to a sancturary to become a Sister of High Danu,women devoted to the contemplative life of the underworld.She is also a healer,an Other,Which is a mixture of Fey and mortal. She is surrounded by questions of her murdered father and one brother who is a fugitive throught to be dead.Her eldest brother is the sexy Earl of Darkness.Sabrina encounters a mysterious man with a body full of scars,no memory of his past on the beach,Daigh MacLir. They are drawn to inexplicably drawn to each other. Daigh is filled with rage and inhuman abilities and senses Sabrina will be the one to save him. Sabrina is overwhelmed with images of a past life with Daigh.Together Daigh and Sabrina face danger,evil,and Sabrina learns that Daigh has tried to kill her family,and was summoned to find the ancient king.While darkness pulls Daigh,Sabrina draws him into the light.Sabrina's is not only Daigh's last hope,she is his heart and soul. While darkness draws them into danger,the power of love may be able to save them both. This is a powerful story of the power of love and the forces of good vs evil. A must read and a keeper. Lord of Shadows is sure to draw any paranormal, historical, mysteries of life and romance readers. With a touch of suspense, mystery,romance,sweet sensuality,darkness,tortured soul,and the power of love who can resist this powerful story of the struggle between love and hate,light and darkness.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher.Details can be found at Pocket Books,an imprint of Simon&Schuster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars

    I really wanted to love Lord of Shadows but the story just didn't capture my attention. I pretty much have the same opinion of it as I did the first novel, Earl of Darkness. You can check out my review of that *here*. As in the first novel, the author uses numerous new terms without providing a glossary or even explaining the meanings when used in the story. This makes it very hard to get into a story when you don't understand half of what is going on or who/what characters are referring to.The story arc itself is good and had potential, the characters could have really been great but the author's writing style just did not work for me. Besides the above issues, the writing was overly descriptive and dragged the plot down. There were also numerous sentence fragments keeping the story from flowing smoothly.

    I did like each of the main characters though; I was intrigued by Lazuarus/Daigh in the first novel and found his background and current situation fascinating. He was well developed with many dimensions, and I became invested in his plot to figure out his past and future. He is dark, sexy, protective, mysterious and scarred inside and out. Him and Sabrina were a good fit and they balanced each other very well. Their relationship developed at a good pace and it was rife with twists and turns, trust, betrayal and passion.
    Sabrina herself was well written, as Aidan, the Lord of Kilronan's younger sister though I never quite understood the animosity she had towards her eldest brother and her assumptions where him and his wife Cat were concerned. However, I did like her commitment to Daigh from the start, she didn't fully trust Daigh but she stuck by him through thick and thin.
    There were a few specific scenes where we saw glimpses of Daigh's past that confused me and I wasn't happy with the explanation given for these occurrences. It just seemed thrown together and I was still left confused.
    Though Maelodor, the villain, finally confronts the characters and we see just how evil and twisted he is. He is a truly creepy character that made my skin crawl; or maybe it was the snake!

    Lord of Shadows can be read as a standalone but when Sabrina's brothers' show up a few scenes might confuse because they refer to incidents that happened in Earl of Darkness, I do recommend reading both novels in order if you would like the full story. Despite the number of faults I would still consider this a good book, if you have the patience for it. As in the first novel, this is a difficult read but the idea of the plot itself and the characters are creative and totally unique. And I do so love the cover, Paul Marron *dreamy sigh* That and the character of Daigh added the extra 1/2 for me making my rating a 3.5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging tale with a mystery involving the haunting of Daigh

    In 1815 in Ireland, Lady Sabrina Douglas leaves her feuding clan following the murder of her father to live at a cloister where the otherworldly Danu sisterhood has hidden the hybrid fae-human for seven years. Sabrina has become Sister of High Danu, studying the underworld, protecting and hiding the Others and also working as a healer.

    A severely scarred male washes ashore in a near death state. She heals the body of man who suffers from amnesia, but feels a need to help him recover his memory and heal his soul. The Abbess names him Daigh MacLir who begins to recover his memories; as he does he feels an incredible out of control rage and has superhuman skills. Sabrina and her patient share past life memories as they fall in love, but fear they have done so futilely before. Yet Daigh risks all even his relationship with his beloved to defeat the evil that owns his soul because his Sabrina deserves no less from him

    The second Heirs of Kilronan paranormal Regency romance (see Earl of Darkness) is an engaging tale with a mystery involving the haunting of Daigh. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the healer and the scarred male meet and never slows down as evil must be confronted. Although the use throughout the novel of a series of fragmented phrases enhance the foreboding dark atmosphere, this technique also makes the sentence structure feel off kilter; for instance the description of the rectory as seen by the lead male. Still fans will enjoy Alix Rickloff's latest entertaining Douglas clan saga.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1