Customer Reviews for

Lord of Snow and Shadows (Tears of Artamon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Yet another example how to spoil a perfect idea

    It could have been the best trilogy ever, since it is so fashionable to write trilogies. Unfortunately, Sarah Ash either did not understand her idea or was afraid of making it too difficult to understand for the young readers. Well, there you go. Good books are not for everyone and this one is good for naive 15-year-olds. In order to fix this story I would recommend: * simple transformation of Eugene of Tielen into more Romanov-like-Tzar with a very important for the trilogy motive of blood and hemophilia. * change of geographical and meteorological positioning of the countries - Tielen for Russia, Poland, Ukraine Azhkendir for Finland, Iceland, Siberia Muscobar for Sweden, Norway and Denmark Smarna for the whole Balkan Peninsula (I think Smarna stands for Italy) or even Turkey. I wish descriptions od terrain and flora were just as beatiful and intrigiung as the book cover. * change of Eugene's name to either of Piotr (for Peter the Great) or Ivan (for Ivan IV the Terrible). * change of Gavril's name to Ivan (see above plus it is the most popular male name in Russian tales, a cute boy with blond hair and blue eyes, bullied by big brothers but when given a chance, he succeeds and wins the kingdom, wealth and a princess). It is obvious Ms Ash did not feed her imagination with classic literature. Some plots are not deep enough. Gavril's struggle to fight the daemon could have been like 'Notes from the Underground' By Dostoyevsky. Gavril's fellings toward Astassia are not as romantic as Romeo's toward Julliet. The best written character is Lilias. She is just as treacherous and dangerous as Miledy De Winter. Yet Count Velemir could have been more like Sigismund Dijkstra or Cardinal Richelieu. In other words, the characters are flat and simple, and they think only what Ash makes them think. They do not have their own lives, passions. If you really must read this book, get it from the library, firstly. Otherwise it is just waste of money. P.S. I am still learning English. I apologize for any mistakes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    5 Stars??

    To be fair there is some decent stuff in the book. But the reactions of the characters and how quickly they fall in love, get lost, get tossed out etc. makes for a strange read. Things just kind of pop out of nowhere...ex. When the mother of a character is describing her son's condition, all of the sudden we find out it is an 'age of reason' and she worries she probably be believed. There is some mention of rationality, but the world just doesn't show it. This kind of thing pop up happens about every five or six pages. You are told alot of stuff in the book, but emotions/issues are not really established. Virtually all the fantasy norms are in place with an occasional twist (a dabble of science). i.e. coming of age tale, unknown inheritance/birthright etc... Probably won't read the sequel. A two star from me should also be taken with a grain of salt. On these reviews (they are reviews not fan letters) I actually rate the book in comparison to other books. I can't understand how someone can always rate books with four and five stars. Surely there is a difference between books you just liked and those that are really good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Jul'zintä Dungeons

    Deep beneath the tower, an intricate series of tunnels lead to seperate cells, each one filled with tools to torture someone to submission or death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Rambles

    Srsly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Loved it

    At first I couldn't get into the story. After giving it a second shot, however, I couldn't put it down. Personally, I feel as though the character development and story arch were well developed. The point of view changes some times confused me, but after a few paragraphs, I was right there with the characters. I loved the entire trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First Book Not That Bad.

    The First book in the series actually was O.K. Its showed promise for the series. The next two books are awful though so I wouldn't bother reading this one. I wrote a much more longer and thorough review on the next two books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Wonderful

    I picked up this book because it looked good. It was wonderful. My favorite character was KiuKiu she is awesome. I can't wait till I get the second book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    BEST book I ever read!

    Oh...my...gosh! This book was amazing! When I first picked it up, it didn't look like much, but when I got into it, I couldn't put it down! I lost hours of sleep over this book. I reccomend this book highly to every reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    An extremely entertaining read!

    Sarah Ash's 'Lord of Snow and Shadows' kept me glued from beginning to end. Ash goes beyond the standards of fantasy literature and creates a world that can't be matched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    A Good Start

    This was a book I picked up on a whim. It must have been the great cover art. I have never read any previous titles by Sarah Ash and I had no idea of what to expect. The book contains a great mix of magic and political intrigue based somewhat on Russian fantasy. The plot is not overly complicated, but has plenty of good material to keep you reading. However, aside from Gavril and to some extent KiuKiu and Eugene, the characters emotions seem fickle and can get lost among the much more entrancing plot. A good start to a new fantasy series. I'm looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Looking forward to the next one

    I really enjoyed the story line, the character development, and the visualizations that occured as I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    great writting and a wonderful read

    i picked this book up by chance. thought what the heck i am out of books to read anyway, but i was absorbed right away! this is truely a great book i recommend this to anyone and everyone. i can't wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    My favorite book!!!!

    I dont know how anybody could write a better book then this-it had it all--wonderful characters-action-suspense-mystery and a complex storyline that has a brooding war with lots of political intrique with double agents and spies and etc...simplely put it is the best!!I cannot wait for the sequel---OUTSTANDING BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    Great book

    Well I hadnt read a good book in awhile so I picked this one up and i was set ablaze by the wonderful style of this author. The characters are great the basic structure is easy to follow and you will constantly be reading to see what happens next. From loyal Kostya to the treacherous Lilias this book has it all. Once you start you cant stop. I CANT WAIT TIL BOOK 2 COMES OUT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Lord of Snow and Shadows: Book One of The Tears of Artamon

    Portrait painter Gavril Andar has always lived with his mother in Smorna, the summer resort town of the Muscobarian aristocracy. It is when his father, the ruler of the cold kingdom Azhkendir in the frozen northern wastelands, is assassinated he learns the truth about his heritage. As the heir to his father¿s kingdom Gavin learns that his blood is that of the dragon and when danger threatens his people he turns into a Drakhaoul, able to fly and breath down poison fumes on the enemy.<P> Gavin wants no part of his father¿s legacy, but Azhkendiran warriors kidnap him and bring him back to kill his sire¿s assassin. While Gavril learns the customs of his people, Prince Eugene of Tielen tries to reunite the old empire with him as emperor. He wants to add Muscobar to his kingdom but he needs to take Azhkendir in order to do it. He sets in motion a variety of schemes to bring down the Drakhaoul but in the end, it is Gavin that Eugene must face to determine whom rules in Azhkendir.<P> Though somewhat typical of the sub-genre, book one in The Tears Of Artamon series is an excellent sword and sorcery tale filled with plenty of action and fully developed characters. The protagonist matures as he faces trials and tribulations from forces aligned against him who want to crush him and his country. By the end of LORD OF SNOW AND SHADOWS, Gavin has become a brave warrior; he is ready to defend the nation he inherited. Sarah Ash¿s is a bright new star in the fantasy gallery.<P> Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    Lord of Snow and Shadows: Book One of The Tears of Artamon

    War is coming to the medieval world of Eldh, a place where people fight using swords and magic. Mohg, Lord of Nightfall, plans to remake his home planet in his image. His minion, the Pale King toils at opening the Rune Gate so that his hordes can sweep through and prepare it for Mohg¿s return. Mohg and the Pale King also work with Duratek on Earth to open a portal to Eldh so that Mohg can return and the corporation can exploit the wealth of Eldh.<P> Runebreaker Travis Wilder travels to Earth to destroy Duratek and the gate. According to the prophecy, Travis will save and destroy Eldh at the last battle. His friend, Grace Beckett, witch queen of an ancient lineage marches to the Gravenfist Keep with five hundred warriors and a coven of witches. They must hold back the hordes of the Pale King if he opens the Rune Gate until the Warriors of Vathris arrive for the last battle. If Travis, Grace, the warriors and witches work together they might defeat the dark forces that threaten Eldh.<P> Book five in ¿The Last Rune¿ series is an exciting swords and sorcery tale in the tradition of the Lord of the Rings and The Sword of Shannara trilogies. The villains in THE GATES OF WINTER are really caricatures of evil, but the heroes are fully developed people that will endear themselves to the reader. Fans of the series or epic fantasy will enjoy this tale and look forward to book six, THE FIRST STONE in which readers will finally learn what is the secret connection that ties Earth with Eldh.<P> Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2