Customer Reviews for

Lord of Swords

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I have always love medieval historical  romance novels  for a lo

    I have always love medieval historical  romance novels  for a long time and this book is so awesome. Ann Lawrence is a really good author that made the characters jump out at you when you read this novel. 
    The plot is this book grabs you attention and keeps in through the end of the book.  This story takes you back in time and you get to read about different time periods.  I look forward to reading more form Ann Lawrence. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    A romance between a lady and a knight who feels dishonored

    It's a story of a knight who feels less worthy of the Lady and their road to their romance. The story grabs your attention immediately and holds your attentions throughout. You learn to hate the villian and want to smack her father. I thought the ending was a bit stretched out but most definately worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Excellent Wonderful

    I am really please that I was able to read another great work from one Hell of a writer. THIS IS A MUST READ AND I PROMISE YOU WILL BE HAPPY YOU DID. Ms. D from Bronx NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    I love historical romances and I bought this book when I saw the

    I love historical romances and I bought this book when I saw the cover! It’s so medieval! What a nice surprise! LORD OF SWORDS is the first book that I read written by Ann Lawrence. The plot was well develop and filled with intrigues and secrets. As soon as I started to read it, I got pulled into the story of Guy de Maci and Lady Joia, two beautiful characters. Guy’s son disappeared during the civil war and will do everything in his power to get him back. What this strong warrior did not expect, was to meet the rebellious and feisty Joia. Together, they will concoct a plan to help each other with their problems. I love that this story was set in the medieval Europe, the love scenes are very well written, with a touch of humour and lots of action! Follow Guy and Joia’s journey, let yourself be carried away by LORD OF SWORDS by Ann Lawrence. I highly recommend this captivating adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Hooray, Ann Lawrence is BACK! It has been far too long, and afte

    Hooray, Ann Lawrence is BACK! It has been far too long, and after the long wait, she doesn't disappoint, with characters I love, an intriguing plot in a setting that I found different and interesting. Her prose, as always, is evocative and wonderfully sensual. Other reviews cover the plot just fine, so I will leave mine to simply say: WOW. This was so worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I love love loved Lord of Swords! If you like historical romanc

    I love love loved Lord of Swords! If you like historical romances with mystery, action, magnificent heroes and feisty heroines...then you'll go ga-ga over this story. It blew me away! Started reading it one evening, read it the next day and stayed up until midnight that night to finish it as I was enthralled with Guy and Joia's story. Ms. Lawrence really knows how to string a reader along with her knowledge of history and intricate dialogue, her vivid description, her bone-melting love scenes, her breath-hitching action segments, and her puzzle-weaving mysteries. This story is most definitely on my keeper shelf and will be reread when I need a an emotional, satisfying pick-me-up. I'm also gonna check out this author's past releases and keep track of new ones to come. I recommend Ann Lawrence's books most highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    I was not a reader of Ann Lawrence before. Glad I found her on h

    I was not a reader of Ann Lawrence before. Glad I found her on her comeback writing!
    Joia a widow of a forced Marriage is once again being put into the same situation.Willing to join a "convent" rather than be forced into another loveless marriage. She meets Guy who gets her heart pounding like never before. But Guy is only here to search for a son that was taken as a prisoner by the same man Joia is being forced to marry.Her brother is also being held by him for his evil plans. Edge of the seat story. My first book by Ann Lawrence but not my last! drose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Let me just start this review by admitting I'm a huge Ann Lawren

    Let me just start this review by admitting I'm a huge Ann Lawrence fan. Now that I've made that admission,
    I have to say, Yea! Lawrence is back. In a big way.In the first new Ann Lawrence story in forever, Joia,
    a young woman on the run from her engagement to an onerous man, is transfixed by the sight of a half-naked
    swordsman practicing his art by moonlight in an ancient Celtic stone circle.

    What could be more romantic? Not much, in my view. Especially when the story is in the hands of a talented
    author. 

    As always, Lawrence's writing is evocative and sensual. Her characters are complex and compelling.
    Her story twists and turns as the hero, Guy, journeys to find his son during a time of English civil war.
    Can Guy, while being true to King Steven, rescue his son? And can Guy resist the charms of the stubborn but
    beautiful Joia while rescuing her from a horrible marriage?

    Lord of Swords is historical romance at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    I must admit I havent read a historical romance novel in many ye

    I must admit I havent read a historical romance novel in many years. Ann Lawrence reminded me why I love them! I thought the plot interesting, the characters... I either loathed or completely loved them lol.

    Guys son goes missing during civil war, he travels to where he thinks he is located. Guy must hide who he really is and takes a position guarding a lords son, who seems to have issues staying safe. Enter the beautiful, spunky widow forced to marry a totally despicable man. Love must come next!

    I loved the story, the secondary story and every thing about this book. I did have a few grammar issues, but nothing major and not enough to really distract from the storyline at all.

    I look forward to reading alot more from Ann Lawrence and if it includes others from the world of Lord of Swords like Edmund or Alan than even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1